We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $25
CUISINES
European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
26
16
0
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
26
16
0
6
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 22, 2020

I eat here from time to time when meeting with friends. The place is well located on the map of Katowice. Just 6 minutes from the train station (450m, S direction). It has quite a lot of space on several levels but I suggest you...call and reserve a table, especially if you want to sit in a small garden. In this only Hungarian restaurant in Katowice, Hungarian dishes are of course the best. Personally, I like the Lángos prepared here the best. Served with cheese and garlic sauce. Not cheap however I would highly recommend. Hungarian-style goulash with galushki, served in a flambéed pot is also great. PS: Parking is on the streetMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 18, 2020

We had a booking for 2pm, we were at 1:30 and we were told, our table (for 4) was ot free yet, ok, it may happen, no problem. We went out for half an hour, came back and were seated downstairs in a cellar (very...nice). But what we noticed all (about 8-10) tables were empty and reserved … so why we had to wait .. anyway, maybe the guests will come … Me and a friend of my is vegetarian, in the menu are only TOW vegetarian dishes, so I asked if I can get “Hungarian Style Potato Pancake” but with Goulash (which is meat) but with Vegetables. In all restaurants I know it wouldn’t be a problem, but the young lady told me it is not possible, I tried again saying in a kind of exclusive restaurant it shouldn’t be a problem as some vegetables oar no problems for a cook …I was answered, first the make Letcho with Sausages so the y cannot make it vegetarian (oh so it means for me it is MNOT MADE FRESH! As it wouldn’t be a problem just to leave the sausages out if made fresh) and they have a lot to do! (Remember 8 tables were still empty … So I said, ok I see and we ordered the vegetarian (not vegan) dishes, which were ok. My wife asked for a dessert (of course for all of us), but only she got a menu card etc etc etc .. So good looking restaurant, but it still needs better management, flexibility and professional staff. We will definitely not come again. Only two others of 8 tables were busy in the cellar as we left after 3 hours, so we had top wait???More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
czardaszcom, Właściciel at Zaklety Czardasz Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2020

We are not used to commenting on the opinions of guests, but in the Your case we will make an exception. There was a mistake because we are not a luxury restaurant as you called it. Luxury restaurants on Tripadvisor are determined by the price...More

Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Visited there with family to celebrate my sons birthday, food was great, delicious and good variety of choice but true to Hungarian spirit. Staff was also very good and professional

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

Didn't feel really welcome as young travelers wanting a nice meal. Got laughed at ordering some water after a warm day outside. Looks really beautiful and the food is nice, but the service wasn't.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

We had to wait quite long and the food was not very good. We had three tender loins and one salmon. It was over cooked and the compositions were strange and didnt work.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 30, 2018

I like this restaurant for magical atmosphere, large selection of wines and spirits, unusual mouth-watering food

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 16, 2018

As I spent in Katowice a couple of weeks, I decided to have a break from (delicious) Silesian dishes and I looked for something different. I was surprised that Katowice offers so many different ethnic food restaurants and finally I have decided to visit Hungarian...one. I can honestly write that it was good choice. The dishes are really Hungrian (as well as wines), the service is quick and professional and the prices are reasonable. Perhaps the list of offered meals is a bit too short and the interior should be more Hungarian in style - that's why I am not able to reward the place with the highest rating - however I recommend the place.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We were there with a big group, i didn’t made reservation but that was not a problem, the waiter was very kind and polite, we decided to go there because of the good reviews and was not a disappointing, all the food was very tasty,...we had different dishes and they were all amazing. I am definitely coming back again.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a quick lunch and ran into this fine restaurant with great food, good service and very reasonable prices.

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

So this is our second time in this beautiful restaurant.. and Im sorry to say it did not live up to our last visits back in Sep 17 and Feb this year. We ordered two bottles of mixed grape variety Hungarian wine to the table......and they were excellent. This time... the wine was better than the food. We ordered the pancake goulash and the rolled stuffed veal... but unfortunately.. the restaurant had made it's first error.. the veal was completely dry and overcooked. However.. the pancakes were lovely all be it a little rich. Overall it was a good effort but this time the waiter wasn't as attentive.. the restaurant was completely empty.. and he didn't check on us.. we had to keep buzzing this thing on the table when we wanted him for more drinks. The price however was quite reasonable. Still love this place but customer service needs improving.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Q Hotel Plus Katowice
462 reviews
.31 miles away
Hotel Diament Plaza Katowice
200 reviews
.34 miles away
Hotel Monopol
299 reviews
.38 miles away
B&B Hotel Katowice Centrum
87 reviews
.43 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pierogi Swiata
303 reviews
.18 miles away
Zurownia
220 reviews
.16 miles away
Synergia.dobremiejsce
152 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Guitar History Museum
91 reviews
.06 miles away
Cathedral of Christ the King
56 reviews
.26 miles away
"Asylum" House of Fear
17 reviews
.35 miles away
Rialto Cinema
12 reviews
.34 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zaklety Czardasz Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zaklety Czardasz Restaurant

Yes, Zaklety Czardasz Restaurant offers takeout services.

Zaklety Czardasz Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5