We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#317 of 4,737 Restaurants in Prague
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$0 - $2
CUISINES
European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European, Contemporary
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveler rating
226
108
35
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
226
108
35
19
21
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 29, 2020

My husband and I had a candlelight dinner in the restaurant Peklo . In a unique and romantic setting , in an ancient wine cellar. Underground. The dining room is narrow with rows of tables illuminated with candles. We did not have reservations, tried our...luck, and were seated without wait. We had a very nice table and enjoyed our dinner. The service was attentive and friendly, we were very well taken care of. Till next time, Dekuji a NashledanouMore

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?55  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

This is by Prague Castle so we took a cab from our hotel, it was definitely worth it. Note they drop you off at the gate and you walk up the hill, after dark you definitely have to watch your step. We loved this place...and I don't even drink beer. My bf is a beer judge and he said this was the best beer he had in Prague Note they don't brew beer on the premises but monks do brew it off site. Staff was very friendly, bf had beer and while I had wine, we split the charcuterie tray. The cavern setting was romantic, with tables and cubbyholes were illuminated with candles. After we ate the server called us a cab, again you walk down the hill through the gate to wait.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Not sure about meal and drink but the atmosphere here is amazing - it worth to visit it at least once. Have you ever tried dinner in a cave with candles and wine?)

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

The atmosphere is very nice and it could be a pleasant place to eat. But I am really disappointed: When I visited with my family (reservation made several weeks before), my top 3 choices of main courses where not available. Also my first choice of...beer and my 2nd choice were both not available (blueberry and new years beer). Since the menu has only a fiew dished to offer and 2 of them were not possible to order we ended up with some pork fat with bread called "spare ribs" which were uneatable. We have not been asked if everything is ok at all. Prices are very high too. Payed 130 Euro for 5 main dishes and 4 starters + 9 0,4l beer. Cannot recommend this place after my 2nd visit.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mirek K, Manažer at Restaurant Peklo, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear Daniel Burgdorf, we cook from fresh ingredients. We have 15 main meals. Beer and food can run out if many people come.Most people will understand. 130 EUR for 5 main courses and 4 appetizers + 9 0.4 liters of beer. 26 eur/per person: starter,...More

Reviewed December 6, 2019

We went here for thanksgiving this year and I got the Pumpkin soup and the duck both were out of this world. Also the cave has a really creepy feel to it and so I pulled out my phone and started recording and caught a...number of evp's.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 2, 2019

Me and my friend were looking forward to visit this place. Once we were there , we ordered two local beers and noticed that the wifi was down and we didnt even have telephone signal. So my friend asked the server about this and he...rubbed us off and said that his mobile was connected. We ordered two more beer and when we came to pay , the wifi argument popped up again. Server said that only our mobile was having trouble and we asked the other patrons if they had wifi and even they complained but the server didnt even apologize once and jokied about that there is not an internet cafe. We know it's not and its very nice but since we didnt even have telephone signal, at least wifi should be present. We were thinking of having dinner there but his attitude turned us away.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mirek K, Vlastník at Restaurant Peklo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2019

Hello, waiter is bad because you don't have wifi? Your generation is strange when it is 30 minutes without phone and wifi!!! we can't order a cave to keep wifi out. :-). Thanks for leaving early and looking at your phone elsewhere.

Reviewed November 28, 2019

Beautiful candle-lit restaurant with delicious food. This place is a must as it is very reasonably priced and anything similar in the UK would be ridiculously expensive!

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 6, 2019

We loved the atmosphere of Peklo. Felt like you stepped back in time with cave like walls and candle lit rooms. So special. Worth the walk up the hill to get there or take the tram. Food was very good--gluten free was easily found for...one diner with allergy.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

We stopped in for a beer and a light lunch. The beer was good not great, but the charcuterie platter we had was good and also great value. The setting is rather cool in that it is in the old cellars with stone/brick arches. One...thing I would suggest - on a nice sunny day give it a miss and walk down the hill a few minutes to a terrace with a view to die for!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

If you are looking to find a unique restaurant with delicious cuisine in Prague look no further than Peklo. It is located inside of an underground wine cellar owned by an Order of Monks with an atmosphere favored by Charles IV. My husband and I...along with six friends enjoyed a splendid dinner at Peklo last evening and words are just inadequate to express the fantastic experience we enjoyed! If you choose to venture out for a delicious dinner in an exquisite environment I hope you enjoy Peklo as much as we did!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

You pass Peklo shortly before getting to the Monastery so it's really close to that. I would estimate 5 minutes, if that, from the library part of the Monastery to the entrance of Peklo. Peklo was built inside a rock and was once a Monastery...so that's why we thought it would be a little fun and different. We made a reservation over 2 months in advance for 2:30pm on a Wednesday. Make note of what day/time you requested because they'll email you back, after submitting your request on their website, just simply saying that your reservation was accepted. There were not that many beer options so we each got a different beer - they were nothing great. We were never checked on again or asked if we wanted more so perhaps we looked like we were not interested. The space was interesting, though we did end up going to 3+ underground bars during our trip and it was the least interesting one.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

Good food but really bad and rude service. They didn't pay attention and was rude about tip. Do not recommened

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 11, 2019 via mobile

Good: Great location, lovely cave restaurant and an extensive ( if expensive) menu. Bad: The Goulash was mostly potato and liquid with very little meat. The service was surly and to the point of being rude. The waitress got the hump when she asked for...a tip (service charge to be added to my card bill) and I refused knowing I was leaving some coins. Her attitude was unforgivable and she was lucky I was in a good mood!! You have been warned :(More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

This restaurant is part of the Monastery but slightly set off up the hill, with both a cellar dining area in the old beer cellars and an outside garden area. Prices are as would be expected for somewhere so firmly on the tourist route from...Prague Castle, via the Monastery to Petrin Hill. Food is good, authentic Czech, and there is a good selection of the beers brewed at the location (a light beer, a dark, an IPA and a Raspberry beer.)More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

I had a pleasant lunch here after a long walk. I found this place on way to Petrin tower, the mini Eiffel in Prague. Claims to be 800 years old, and it seems to be correct when you go inside. I sat in the yard...and has grill salmon which tasted very good. The beer was also good, and I had a pleasant lunch there. Just I waited a little lung for the food, or maybe I was so hungry that it seemed long time.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Hradcany & Letna
Your experience in Prague will never be complete if
you do not see it from the top. Hillsides, stretched
from the west to the north, provide spectacular views
of greenish copper cupolas, narrow cobblestone
streets, bridges connecting both river banks and green
gardens from red-roof tops of centuries-old houses.
Prague pulls you into its 1300 year old history.
Walking up the hill or stairs to Prague Castle, the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lindner Hotel Prague Castle
1,246 reviews
.05 miles away
Hotel Monastery
533 reviews
.11 miles away
Questenberg Hotel
1,296 reviews
.15 miles away
Hotel Loreta
95 reviews
.25 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Klasterni Pivovar Strahov
2,266 reviews
.08 miles away
Maly Buddha
391 reviews
.17 miles away
Q15
115 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Strahov Monastic Brewery
1,096 reviews
.08 miles away
Museum of Miniatures
237 reviews
.08 miles away
Strahov Monastery
1,804 reviews
.06 miles away
Cernin Palace
25 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carmen G
September 8, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mirek K | Property representative |
Hello, I send menu Best regards Peklo team STARTERS Sous vide Moroccan octopus chorizo 280,-Czk Moroccan Grilled octopus in a vacuum with red... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RESTAURANT PEKLO, Prague - Hradcany & Letna - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurant Peklo

Restaurant Peklo is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5