We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#344 of 713 Bar in Prague
#1,055 of 4,619 Restaurants in Prague
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $20
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, Central European, International, Czech
Meals
Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Nove Mesto (New Town)
0.4 miles from Vaclavske namEsti
Improve this listing
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
55
46
18
6
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
55
46
18
6
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 3, 2020

We visited here one evening as it was just around the corner from our hotel. We don't drink alcohol, but if you drink beer, three beer taps at your table may come in handy! We ordered chicken schnitzel, as we wanted something quite plain and...we were amazed at the size of the 2 chicken schnitzels on each plate! The larger of the 2 was the size of a side plate! We also ordered onion rings as an accompaniment...whew! Suffice to say that we're stuffed and couldn't finish everything!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 10, 2020

Me & my boyfriend popped in for a quick drink after checking into our hotel, after already spending 2 nights in Prague we decided to stay for one more night .. got in asked for a table for two and we were seated, handed menus...that were in Czech so asked if we could have English menus and we were told this was not possible as it was menus for residents only and they wouldn’t be serving us alcohol until after 2pm, very rude so we decided to leave & wont be back! We previously visited “The Pub” further along beside the Charles bridge and were told we couldn’t enter the back of the bar/restaurant to the pour your own beer taps as they were reserved. On visiting the toilet we noticed there were plenty of empty tables, we were sat right by the front door while the staff continued to stare at us while eating our food & drinking our drinks. Very weird atmosphere wouldn’t recommend unless you can speak/are Czech.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

For roughly £100 we had 16 litres of self poured beer and a beautiful meal of selections of cooked meats. We were allowed to play card games and the beers were lovely. Nice and simple. Seriously do book in advance we saw at least 3...large groups get turned away!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
tomasvacin, marketing at The PUB Praha 2, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2019

Thanks a lot :)

Reviewed May 8, 2019

the place is nice enough for a quick drink and a bite. We didn't book beforehand so we sat at a foldable table and chairs to fit 4 of us. There were proper tables which looked free but we were told they are booked. After...dinner we had few more friends joining us there for drinks but we were told by the barman that if more people join us we will have to leave. (weird!). The proper table with taps must be a good fun but we didn't have a chance to try it. They remained empty for the time we were there - barman later explained that people who supposedly booked it called him to say they are running late.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

Been to several PUB throughout Prague, always good fun ,pouring your own beer on your table is cool and beats waiting for service . The PUB is superb ,nice decor and furnishings including a cool looking serving bar and plenty of seating options spread throughout...this pub, it's a really nice pub. We were here on a Tuesday night,pub was fairly quiet ,went up the bar and decided to ask for a table,although mostly empty the staff said they were reserved,fair enough,we then asked was it ok to sit at the empty bar ,staff looked at each other ,had a bit of a tete a tete then after what seemed like an eternity poured us a pilsner urquell beer each ,beers were served with a big foamy head ,iced cold and sparkling, we just chilled out and took in the great pub we were in. I enjoyed the beer but the staff seem a bit weird, I think there's maybe an anti British theme in this pub,I could understand the staffs reticence to serve us if we were a big ,loud group of stags clearly drunk but I was with my twin brother and we were only here for the one beer. We moved on after our beer ,a nice visit even with the very strange attitude of the staff towards the British. The PUB is easy to locate on Halkova. Well worth checking out if the right staff our on duty.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 3, 2019

First of all, about the food: not expansive, but really poor. You can get something better around. About the beer, it´s the standard Pilsen and it´s more expansive than other places in the area. So, why choose The Pub? Looks fun to have a "competition"...and to have the beer tap on the table. BUT NO! The service it´s the most terrible I´ve got in Prague (and believe me, as a foreigner here, I got many before). The waiters are incredible rude! We were in a group of friends celebrating and we were always poorly attended to, with the waiter making terrible faces at every request of ours. In the next table, a group of friends also celebrated, sang and celebrated when the "score" was displayed. The waiter walked over to them and said "Stop yelling, this is a restaurant, not a zoo". An absurdity! The people at a nearby table complained of the waiter's attitude and left. The people at the table of the group that was "attacked" also decided to leave the place. And we too. If they wanted a quiet, immaculate place like a church, they did. Everyone's gone. I've never had such rude waiters in my life.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 19, 2019

It is great to be able to pour you own great beer you do from your own seat. You can even order food straight from electronic menus at your table. Affordable prices cool place

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
tomasvacin, Marketing at The PUB Praha 2, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Thank you for your words :)

Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Visited The Pub on a stag do, barman rude & not the nicest fella you’ll meet. Up for a fight, wouldn’t recommend.

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Stay away if your English that do not want you there. The barman was rude and obnoxious. DONT GO HERE!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Popped in for some lunch as 3 couples, only to be told the menu is only in Czech (despite an 'English menu' sign outside the front). I explained that was fine and I was willing to translate, but was then told to leave as they...had a 'no English people' policy. The barman continued to aggressively tell us to leave as 'only residents' allowed and that the police would tell us so too. I have never had such an awful experience- AVOID like the plague!!!More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Nearly 700 hundred meters long, Wenceslas Square
represents the most frequent and buzzing crossroads of
the city. The National Museum in the upper part of the
square watches over your spending spree in countless
shops and retail stores lining the entire square,
which ends at Na Příkopě, the most famous shopping
street. When tired or broke, you can explore the
city's underpasses, which can take you to the Old Town
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
1.Republic
749 reviews
.05 miles away
Ankora
343 reviews
.06 miles away
Hostel Bell
34 reviews
.06 miles away
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
2,298 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blah Blah Bar
280 reviews
.08 miles away
Yes Burger
271 reviews
.07 miles away
V-Cafe Bar & Restaurant
70 reviews
.08 miles away
Restaurace U Havrana
124 reviews
.00 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Galerie Smecky
7 reviews
.12 miles away
Rotunda Svateho Longina
10 reviews
.12 miles away
Jampa Dampa
16 reviews
.05 miles away
Masaze Matya
5 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pedross73
February 3, 2019|
Answer
Response from Peter D | Reviewed this property |
We didn't book. We just turned up and were lucky enough to find a free table. You can book on-line for parties of 5+. Most bars and restaurants in Prague don't charge for booking tables in my experience. Check out Prague... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing