We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#333 of 2,387 European in Prague
#461 of 4,633 Restaurants in Prague
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

Stare Mesto (Old Town)
0.1 miles from Staromestske namesti
Improve this listing
About
Mlejnice restaurant in Kožná street was opened in the immediate vicinity of the Old Town Square in 1999 and since then thanks to its stylish and cozy interior, lovely atmosphere, and renowned cuisine together with a wide offer of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks it belongs among the most sought-after restaurants in this area. We draft Pilsen, unpasteurized Gambrinus, and dark Kozel. In a wine list, you can find mostly wines from the region of Moravia.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (4,122)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveler rating
824
399
107
40
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
824
399
107
40
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork knee goulash potatoes bread gnocchi beef soup old town square czech food tourist trap beer tourists horseradish
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 7, 2020 via mobile

I can't say is bad. But the bread was very very cooked, the portion small and with a lack of salse. Although the meat and taste was very good, the price was high 230czk, above any goulash i had before in the last 2 years...living hereMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 15, 2020

The staff was very friendly and the service was quick. The food that we ordered were so delicious especially their pork knee. Their home ice tea was so refreshing as well. My husband said that their Czech beer had a truly unique taste. I f...you want to taste Czech food, come and visit the restaurant and the food was at reasonable price.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
MilaDvorak, Agency / Consultant at Restaurace Mlejnice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Thank you very much!

Reviewed August 6, 2020 via mobile

If you would like to try some traditional meals, you should come here.Not just because of tasty food(I had beef goulash in a bread bowl and my husband beef in plump sauce) ,but because of great prices.It is a bit cheaper in restaurants not so...close to the river.Service was good and prompt.No need for reservations.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
MilaDvorak, Agency / Consultant at Restaurace Mlejnice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Thank you very much!

Reviewed July 26, 2020 via mobile

Found it via TripAdvisor. Great staff, nice cosy restaurant. Had the goulash and the gnocci with leek, cream blue cheese and garlic. Both was fantastic. Absolute recommendation.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
MilaDvorak, Agency / Consultant at Restaurace Mlejnice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Thank you very much!

Reviewed March 23, 2020 via mobile

A hidden Gem! Had this bread fill with rich gravy onion and meat which is filling before we going back to UK

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
MilaDvorak, Agency / Consultant at Restaurace Mlejnice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Thank you!

Reviewed March 11, 2020

Very mean staff. No friendly with tourists at all. We wanted to get some beers but the staff said: "we are a restaurant not a bar". Very disrespectful and they even made fun of us.. We felt discriminated. Worst experience

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
MilaDvorak, Agency / Consultant at Restaurace Mlejnice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

We are very sorry about such an experience, it is very unusual for us. Please contact the manager straight away should something like that happen. Thank you very much.

Reviewed March 11, 2020 via mobile

Rude and disrespectful staff, and really bad smell, they didn’t let us have only drinks and the restaurant wasn’t full

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
MilaDvorak, Agency / Consultant at Restaurace Mlejnice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

We are very sorry about such an experience, we´ll do our best to make it better for you next time!

Reviewed March 1, 2020 via mobile

The food was okay.. not particularly good though. The waiter was just trying to sell out at the time of our order so he insisted on taking more and more. We ended up having five plates for two persons (because the portions were “okay for...two persons”). Some of the waiters were very rude, turning their faces when the tip was not enough according to their standards. Followed by a strange face, almost mocking, when leaving the restaurant. Definetely not recommended.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
MilaDvorak, Agency / Consultant at Restaurace Mlejnice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

We are very sorry about such an experience, please contact the manager should something like that happen straight away.

Reviewed February 19, 2020 via mobile

The food was good but the waiting time was too long and the most important thing they didn’t want to give us a table , they were rude and racist .

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed February 17, 2020

This restaurant just never fails to impress. I've eaten a few different meals here - goulash, pork knuckle, gnocci, creamed spinach, cholent - all superb.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
One of the oldest neighborhoods in town represents the
medieval heart of Prague. It’s no surprise it is
bustling with tourists every time of day. Križovnický
square, overlooking Charles Bridge with Prague Castle
in the background, is probably the most beautiful
square in the city. Its unique historical atmosphere
of gothic houses and churches, cobblestone streets and
squares, and stone towers blend together with the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Dar
242 reviews
.01 miles away
Hotel Leon D'Oro
1,364 reviews
.05 miles away
Old Town Square
524 reviews
.07 miles away
U Zlat ho Jelena Golden Stag
13 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Restaurace U dvou velbloudu
500 reviews
.03 miles away
Trattoria by Giovanni
633 reviews
.02 miles away
Giovanni Pizzeria Ristorante
2,451 reviews
.01 miles away
Cafe La Torta
254 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Staromestske namesti
55,532 reviews
.06 miles away
Old Town Hall with Astronomical Clock
26,938 reviews
.05 miles away
Illusion Art Museum Prague - IAM Prague
259 reviews
.03 miles away
Central Gallery Prague
226 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
glacepoppi
August 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sydneyowens96 | Reviewed this property |
I really don't think you will need a reservation. There are 2 locations of this restaurant and they are close together so you won't have a problem with availability!
2
Votes
glacepoppi
July 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 851cindyt |
They don’t accept AMEX. I went today and I’m confirmed that they can’t use AMEX.
2
Votes
Google Translation
מיכל י
October 29, 2017|
Answer
Response from Drazen P | Reviewed this property |
Here is menu of this restaurant. This restaurant offer a lot of vegetables meal with potatoes. restaurace-mlejnice.cz/en/Mlejnice/kozna/food-menu.html
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing