We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cock at Budworth

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
This outstanding village pub can be found adjacent to the main A559 in the scenic area of Great Budworth. The Cock O' Budworth is a former 17th century coaching inn, which now oozes class and style. It is beautifully decorated throughout, and is everything that you might expect from a traditional country pub; open fires, a rabbit warren of rooms and low beams. However there is much more to The Cock O’Budworth, since it’s recent refurbishment it boasts a beautiful interior that it the perfect place eat or drink and to enjoy a special night out with friends and family. This is definitely a hidden gem that once you have visited you will return to time and time again.Pete and Karen took over here
PRICE RANGE
$8 - $22
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
344
140
66
34
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
344
140
66
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie pastry beef sunday roast pudding ice cream potatoes salad the pub home cooked beer garden lovely meal extensive menu main meal birthday meal on arrival holts
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gloomy dingy pub, dirty carpet & windows,dusty food no flavour,standard frozen fare,staff very nice and attentive.Will not be going again overpriced for what you get.Such a shame considering the location it isn't maximised to it's full potential.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Zoe B
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Zoe Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us, whilst I appreciate your comments, I feel I must disagree with your view of us being a gloomy dingy pub. We are a Grade 2 listed building and as such...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in here and ended up having a meal! Service was good and a good atmosphere although not too busy! Food was good and served quickly. Will definitely go again!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Edith090
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thanks for taking the time to give us a review and really pleased you enjoyed your visit, I will share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon Thanks again Regards Julie

Reviewed July 14, 2019

We were at a club meeting, and this is the second time we have eaten here, and it hasn’t improved any. My meal was awful, with the steak being tough and over cooked. My partners chicken was not good either, and she was sick later,...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank andym498
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good Evening Thank you for your comments. The Triumph Club have been meeting here with us for almost 12 months and we have only ever received positive feedback from them, if however on this occasion you were unhappy with your meal, we would have been...More

Reviewed July 7, 2019

We left a gift for a party celebrating a 60th Wedding Anniversary and asked for it to be placed on their reserved table as a surprise. Unfortunately staff did not see fit to do this. We had to return to the restaraunt the following day...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank travellerDec2011
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Good Morning I am disappointed to read your review and to find you were not happy with the service you received on your visit. Service is usually something we pride ourselves on here and it is concerning to hear you how disappointed you were. If...More

Reviewed July 7, 2019

I have not visited this pub for over 20 years but decided to book to meet my son and his wife half way between our Holmes as his wife was 3 days overdue given birth. We walked in and to be fair it felt like...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Susymcl
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Good Morning I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and that you were disappointed in the service you received, I have taken your comments on board and will discuss them with the team, as service is normally...More

Reviewed July 7, 2019

Not been for ages so after a day out at White Scar Caves in Yorkshire got a shower and changed clothes to go out to eat. Pub has changed a bit so straight away shown to table and drinks ordered. Food came piping hot we...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Dezdee
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Good Morning Thank you for your 5 star review! It's great to hear such positive feedback and that we are doing everything right. I will pass your comments on to the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Julie

Reviewed June 4, 2019

Took an elderly relative for birthday lunch. From a good menu we all chose 3 little pigs, we got great portions, when we had finished the main meal, none of us had room for puddings, so you could say it was "3 little pigs for...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank IAN W
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Good Afternoon Thanks for your star review after your recent visit So pleased you enjoyed your meal with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon Regards Julie

Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Went out tonight with my partner & daughter (5yrs) Disappointed as this place used to be lovely and fabulous food. However tonight was a different story. It was very busy but still no excuse for burnt food and wrong drinks orders. My daughter went home...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank hwalker262
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Good Morning Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. I am sorry that your latest experience was not as good as previous ones. We have taken all your comments on board and we will endeavour to ensure this does not happen again. Our...More

Reviewed May 12, 2019

We ordered a couple of roast dinners at the bar from a rather surly lady who was serving behind the bar. I’d also asked for a pear cider but ended up with a lime and soda after my request was declined. Not much effort to...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank il0vemarrakech
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Good Morning Thank you for your review following your visit yesterday, as it was such a lovely sunny day all our guests had chosen to dine in the extensive garden at the back of the pub. On a normal Sunday it's difficult to find a...More

Reviewed May 11, 2019

On a family day out we stopped here for lunch. Have passed before but never stopped. We won't pass by again. Lovely surroundings and on a gorgeous day we could sit in or out. The menu was very tempting-in fact we struggled to choose.Finally all...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Pippalil05
MichelleD5891, Manager at The Cock at Budworth, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Good Morning Thank you for your great review following your visit yesterday. It's a shame you have passed us by so many times and not stopped, however it's great that you have now found us and we will all be happy to look after you...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens Northwich
217 reviews
2.44 miles away
Travelodge Northwich Lostock Gralam
328 reviews
3.06 miles away
The Park Royal
1,801 reviews
3.73 miles away
Premier Inn Warrington South Hotel
323 reviews
3.82 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
The George and Dragon
475 reviews
.51 miles away
Spinner and Bergamot Inn
400 reviews
.66 miles away
The Tudor Barn
6 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Great Budworth Real Dairy Ice Cream Farm
29 reviews
.56 miles away
Cheshire Alpacas
37 reviews
1.43 miles away
Anderton Boat Lift
1,166 reviews
1.52 miles away
Owley Wood
5 reviews
3.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pjs4159
July 22, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lakeland130 | Reviewed this property |
Doubt it - it's mainly a restaurant
0
Votes
Invigilator1
October 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MichelleD5891 | Property representative |
Good Morning, I am sorry that you feel there are insufficient vegetarian choices on our menu. Alongside the risotto and salad we do have a delicious home made sweet potato and red pepper burger, lots of our vegetarian... More
0
Votes
lynno305
January 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Lally-Anna22 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I should think there must be due to regulations. Probably best to ring and find out to be on the safe side.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing