We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Friar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lower Street, Twywell NN14 3AH, England
+44 1832 732625
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called in on Tuesday for lunch, based on what I'd read. Although the fixed priced menus weren't available to view on-line, decided to risk it and I'm well pleased I did. The car park was nearly full, a good sign. The very pleasant waitress showed us to our table, gave us menus and took our drinks order. The menu was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveFa2013
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Saturday evening after an international rugby match which had created a good atmosphere prior to our meal. The menu offered a good variety of dishes - my own choice was rather disappointing as the lamb suet pudding contained far more suet than lamb. However the service and atmosphere were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank roytomlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I visited here for 'date night' as it is one of his favourite in the area. It was lovely and quiet as it was a weeknight, however, I assumed the staff may be more attentive due to it not being busy. It appeared to be the opposite. This did not affect the fact the food was absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodLover123
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Dear Localfoodlover Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meals with us. I apologise sincerely that service was not up to scratch. If you have time I would really appreciate an email/phone call just to say what date this was so things can be dealt with here on our end. We hope to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having heard good things about this establishment, My partner and i decided to book a table here. When we arrived we were greeted by a polite young lady, once we had sat down at our table our drinks took a while to arrive. We were ready to order food and had to again wait to be seen to..We were called... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millie B
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Dear Millie B Thank you for your review. We were two members of front of house staff down yesterday (30%) due to illness. This has clearly had an affect. The team were working flat out all day to keep things running efficiently and on time. I sincerely apologise that we were not our friendly, welcoming selves at the point of... More 

kettering
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

Came here on a Wednesday lunch time, eight of us celebrating my sons birthday. Pub was surprisingly busy and the atmosphere was good. Great menu at very reasonable prices, £11.50 for 3 courses! I had prawn salad, roast turkey and carrot cake cheesecake. All were very nice but especially the cheesecake, delicious! Everyone enjoyed their meals and we'd definitely return.... More 

Helpful?
Thank emscot
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Dear Emscot Thank you for your review. It was fabulous to read such comments. We work hard to provide good food, service and atmosphere and to read that we have achieved this is such an encouragement to both myself and the staff. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Katie & Peter More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

We arrived on time & were taken straight to our table. It took a little while to be asked what drinks we required. They arrived after 10mins, then there was a wait to order our food. Only 2 of our party required starters, which again took a while to arrive. The rest of our party waited until these were finished... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil T
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Hi Phil T Thank you for your feedback. I apologise again for the slower than normal service. The beef is a surprise to me, as it is ordinarily so tender. We are always happy to cut a slice and have the chef cook it some more in kitchen for a more well done slice. I do hope you return soon... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile

Having pre-booked our table, on arrival we were taken straight through. After a short while, during which our drinks were brought to us, we were called through to the carvery. We were the only one's being served and noted that each table was called individually - much better than the scrum at some carverys. The food was plentiful, of excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana W
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Hi Diana W Thank you for posting your review of the Old Friar. It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your meals and experience with us. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Katie & Peter More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2017

An excellent and most popular carvery. Good selection and excellent value. The downside is being so popular we were hurried to finish our meal although we were only as quick as the service !

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Hi Jonathan W Thank you so much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your carvery's. We operate a two hour sitting system on Sundays (more time given for larger tables) so I apologise that there is not time for sitting after your meals. We don't hurry people whilst eating though so I am surprised by... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2016

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! I dropped in with a couple of friends, on the off chance, this lunchtime for some food. Before we ordered anything I enquired after food suitable for vegans. Without hesitation the member of staff spoke to the chef, who clearly listed the items that were vegan, those that could be altered and made to be vegan, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank LearningEvolving
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Dear LearningEvolving It was an absolute pleasure to read your review. It really sums up what we are aiming to achieve. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your meals & service. Hope to see you and your friends again soon. Kind Regards Katie & Peter More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2016

We've been eating at this pub for c3 years now and have never had a carvery there - 3 wasted years! We had our first one a couple of weeks ago - choice of turkey and/or ham (well it is Christmas) - the meat was juicy, the green veg perfectly cooked and still had a slight crunch to it, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 50ShadesofRose
oldfriar, Manager at The Old Friar, responded to this review

Hi 50shadesofRose Thank you for yet another review. So glad that you finally got around to trying the carvery and that you enjoyed it so much. Good to hear that we scored so well on the chipadvisor too! See you soon. Kind Regards Katie & Peter More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Friar also viewed

 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Old Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$2 - $24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower Street, Twywell NN14 3AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Twywell
  • Phone Number: +44 1832 732625
Description
The Old Friar is situated in the quaint village of Twywell in Northamptonshire. Our beautiful old Inn and massive Beer Garden with Children's play equipment is a great retreat for couples, family's & gatherings. We are well known in the area for our home made fresh food that is served daily lunchtimes & evenings. With our ever changing seasonal menu's, children's menu, bar menu, lunch menu & dinner menu. We are well renowned for our delicious Carvery which is served every evening and from 12-8 on a Sunday. We serve breakfast on a Saturday morning & cater for vegetarians & are 'gluten free' friendly.Large car park.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Friar and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Friar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?