We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant

$$ - $$$European, ,
12 Nick Johnstone Drive, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 5889
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“pizza” (44 reviews)
“mezze platter” (16 reviews)
“hummus” (17 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
European, Wine Bar, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Nick Johnstone Drive, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We found this to be a really good value option to see some vineyards and learn about how wine was made (seeing the fermentation barrels etc) without paying the extortionate prices other companies were offering. Tour was 40 minutes, which was perfect. No one needs...More

Thank Jonathan T
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing wine, and the most stunning view from the Waiheke Island. I just did the Wine tasting Tour, but the venue is amazing for lunch, drinks, weddings, anything you want.

Thank TathyBold
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After hearing so much about this venue I took an overseas visitor for lunch. Beautiful venue, great food but unfortunately terrible service.More

Thank Diana W
CableBay1840, Public Relations Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Diana, I'm so sorry that you were disappointed by the service. I wondered whether you could please email info@cablebay.co.nz to give us a few more details about your booking e.g. time, date and rough idea of where you sat and what it was about...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food with very, very bad staff. Desert served after coffee!... Never seen before in any place in the world. Professional service is needed to this beautiful place with amazing view.... Shame on you 😠

Thank captemp2018
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went eating dinner. Location and viewing from there were so good. Food’s running was very quick. Tastes was unique, not bad. But I think the foods must go with wine. Lamb was soft and juicy. It was very nice.

Thank 34sanaey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After wanting to eat at Cable Bay for a long time we treated ourselves today to lunch in the veranda restaurant. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the level of service and it really spoiled an otherwise delicious meal. Our waiter was inattentive and unenthusiastic,...More

Thank ClareandMattH
CableBay1840, Public Relations Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Clare and Matt, I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you received on your recent trip to Cable Bay. We want all of our guests to feel welcomed and looked after. We pride ourselves on our high level of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What - what a fabulous wine tasting our group had! There were 13 of us and we were in the “cellar” with the beautiful chandler, glass cellar and wine barrels. Outstanding scenery from the restaurant, just beautiful- a must go to if in waiheke!

Thank parisnellie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a great experience look no further. The food is out of this world, the wine is delicious and the views!!! it is also a short walk/hike from the ferry dock!

Thank Fdp4fun
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to cable bay for my partners birthday. While waiting for food we sore a rat run past us on the bench seating we were seated at!! The manager only offered to move us to another table saying “they like to hide underneath the bench...More

Thank Karishma M
CableBay1840, Public Relations Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Karishma, as discussed through a number of emails we’ve had over the last week with you, we are extremely sorry that there was a mouse (not rat) sited during your dining experience. As we explained, we have a rigorous pest management control system in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best location for a bottle with friends. Inside is hustle and bustle so we came to enjoy views and wine and it was perfect for that. There are beanbags and seats outside and the setting was perfect. Great place to go before dinner.

Thank TilaHof
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Waiheke Island
Santa Fe
8 reviews
.64 miles away
The Boatshed
271 reviews
.98 miles away
Waiheke Island Resort
110 reviews
2.59 miles away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
43 reviews
2.71 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mudbrick Vineyard & Restaurant
1,607 reviews
.31 miles away
The Oyster Inn
843 reviews
.63 miles away
Vino Vino
340 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
SegWai
131 reviews
.55 miles away
The Waiheke BBQ Tour
8 reviews
.67 miles away
Mudbrick Vineyard
211 reviews
.31 miles away
Headland Sculpture on the Gulf
67 reviews
.61 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Steph B
August 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Keila B | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, but it's unlikely. Getting a wine and some snacks, though, is worth paying.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Demelsa W
March 15, 2017|
Answer
Response from CableBay1840 | Property representative |
Hi there. Dogs are allowed on leash on the lawn, as long as they are kept under control, with you at all times, and do not negatively impact other guests on site.There isn't a lot of shade, so we do suggest you bring a water... More
-1
Votes
Pauline S
January 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Joost K | Reviewed this property |
No private boat landing available
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $60
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Nick Johnstone Drive, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Waiheke Island  >  Oneroa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-372 5889
  • E-mail
Description
The complete vineyard experience. Exquisite food in the elegant Dining Room, sharing plates in the casual and contemporary Verandah and award winning wines at the Cellar Door. Cable Bay is nestled amongst vineyards and olive trees, with a vast outdoor lawn framing stunning sea views. Our on-site organic kitchen gardens supply our chefs with top quality herbs fruit, vegetables, micro greens and edible flowers which they hand-pick to create their culinary masterpieces. Cable Bay offers a truly idyllic location for dining, wine tasting, private events, corporate functions, weddings or simply stretching out on the lawn with a beautiful glass of wine and awe-inspiring views. The Dining Room is open for lunch from 12pm Thurs-Sun and for dinner from 6pm Fri-Sat. The Verandah is open daily from 11am for lunch and dinner and the Cellar Door is open for tastings from 11am-5pm daily. Cable Bay is a must-see on your visit to Waiheke Island!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing