We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
U 2 2 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
+61 7 5474 8989
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a table outside the day before and we were a little late but we got the best table reserved for us... We were served water and menus but then waited a good 40mins before anyone came back to serve us. There was s big table who were near us and even after yelling out excuse me when they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Libbystav
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After walking around Hastings Street standing in queue we decided to keep walking up the street for other options. Best thing we did was finding Kaali. The owner was very friendly and staff gave amazing service. The food was OMG especially the mango chicken which went really well with my mango daiquiri :) The portion was more than enough. Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable time to post a review. See you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

25 bucks for 5 bits of meat and sauce not to mention you have to pay for rice which is unheard of at most decent indian restaurants and it was a small handfull at best never again i dont care if your restaurant is on hastings st dosnt mean u can just jack the prices up you pay for quality... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cale k
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a totally rude and dishonest review on this public platform about our very popular and long established restaurant. The co owner of this business and my wife looked after your table of two kids and the two of you. She gave you a table of your choice and made sure that you were comfortable with our curtsey... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend the food was totally delicious. My wife isn't a spice fan, so had the mango chicken with no spice. I had the beef madras, as it came. Chunks of meat in both dishes with loads of flavor. The naan breads were also large and perfectly cooked. All round one of the nicest curries we've ever had. This review... More 

Helpful?
Thank markandsharlenehenry
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking out valuable time to post a review. Hope to see you soon. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located in Hastings Street, this restaurant is dine in or takeaway. The menu is varied with some of the “old favourites” such as butter chicken, but also some very tasty alternatives. Good selection of chicken, beef, lamb, seafood & breads. If you like Indian food, you shouldn’t be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Borneo50
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable time to post a review. Hope to see you back soon. More 

canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

We booked several days ahead. Before booking I asked whether they accepted BYO. The answer was yes. I asked for a table inside. When we arrived the waitress wanted to take us to an outside table. It was cold and raining. I reminded her that we had booked for inside. She did take us inside, but to the last table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canberra01
Murwillumbah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Brightly decorated cafe has many to compete with in this area, and does so well. Great naan bread and menu choices include some 'signature' dishes. One of these was chicken kofta, which lost something in the translation. We should have chosen more wisely! Other curries were better.

Helpful?
Thank calderadwellers
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking out valuable time to post a review. Sorry to hear you were not happy with the chicken koftas. I wish it was brought to our notice and we would have tried to rectify it for you. Hope to see you back sometime. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

This restaurant serves high quality food - which is not always the case with Indian. The curries are really tasty. If you love a curry you should try this place.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for spending your valuable time and posting a review. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

We don't usually do takeaway as it never tastes as good as when you eat on site. However, Kaali is the exception. What a wonderful meal we enjoyed last night. Beef Madras; prawns, onion bhaji; and the best garlic naan we have ever tasted. Friendly, professional service. The food is truly excellent. No wonder Kaali won a Trip Advisor award... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very glad to hear the feedback and wish to see you back soon. More 

manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

As Brits on holiday we really fancied a Saturday curry after 5 weeks away from home and were very pleasantly surprised with what the Kaali offered. The butter chicken was delicious, the onion bahjis were crispy and well seasoned and the naan was very good. If you fancy a good curry on Noosa give this place a try.

Helpful?
Thank paxasy
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. It means a lot for my team to get complimented by Brits as Indian food is at its best outside India in the UK. Keeps us all motivated to do our best and please each and every customer. Hope you have a great holiday down under and see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$19 - $34
Cuisine
Indian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: U 2 2 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Sunshine Coast  >  Noosa
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5474 8989
Description
We have been tantalising the taste buds of locals as well as Tourists since 2009. We do have a range of house specialities like Kashmiri lamb Shanks, Prawn & Fresh mango Balti, Lamb Rarha ,Beef Nilgiri and many more . We have a good selection of Beers and wines to compliment the food. Do visit us in your next visit to Sunshine Coast, Noosa, Queensland. We currently are in the process of building a website and do not take responsibility for photos or information uploaded by third party. For correct information please call ,happy to help and assisit in any query. Thanks.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?