We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

North Street, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne Ta187RJ, England
+44 1460 78873
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good17%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
“hake” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
North Street, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne Ta187RJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

Lovely food and delightful service. We arrived just after midday and the pub was empty, but we were met by the landlady in such a welcoming manner that we felt straight at home. The pub menu offers several options from snacks, set menu and al...More

Thank Kevin L
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here with the family. Very welcoming service, while we were delighted to be sat next to the cozy fire. Food was outstanding and they were ver accommodating to any requests. Everybody left very happy, and full! Will most definitely be back!

Thank GGbarno
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We decided to try this place after a recommendation, it is very much a place to eat rather than just a drink, The meal we had was very nice but not outstanding, We were made to fell very welcome and were placed very cozily near...More

Thank Ruth H
Reviewed December 31, 2016

We went to the White Horse with a family group. The meal was superb as was the service. Attention was paid to the presentation of the meals and there were no complaints.

Thank Rosemary M
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

I have eaten here twice in the past 6 months (dinner both times) and it has been a wonderful experience. Great food and great service.

Thank Richard R
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

I live in the next door village to the White Horse and my friends and I go here whenever we need to celebrate a special occasion. Every year with have our Christmas meal here, the food is AMAZING! It's served as a sharing board on...More

Thank HarrietEH
Reviewed December 26, 2016

Such special food should be savoured and not rushed. We all thought it was amazing. Thank you so much.

Thank SusieG681
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

Me and my 5 friends came for a Christmas dinner. The portions (buffet style between the 6 of us) were absolutely huge! The food was absolutely delicious - without a doubt the best roast potatoes I've ever had! Service was also excellent - a very...More

Thank Phedra G
Reviewed December 20, 2016

A party of 7 gathered for a birthday celebration left disappointed. Main courses of sparse proportions served on a variety of boards plates and bowls. Partridge that was hard to separate from the carcass and sausages of an indeterminate provenance, the burger was the only...More

2  Thank davex407
Rebecca Katheri... r, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The White Horse. I am naturally disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the dishes served. Had you raised this with our staff we would...More

Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

We made last minute booking here after deciding to dine out on a Saturday night and found this lovely place on trip advisor. They squeezed us in and were very helpful on the telephone so had set a real good standard from the start. Quite...More

Thank Ben B
Rebecca Katheri... r, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2016

Thank you for your review, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food. I am sorry your service on arrival was slow, queue jumpers are one of my pets hates so I completely understand where you are coming from! Thank you for...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Manor Arms
38 reviews
1.06 miles away
The Kings Head
47 reviews
2.00 miles away
Cat Head Inn
114 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Church of St George
10 reviews
3.36 miles away
Ham Hill Country Park
89 reviews
3.81 miles away
Montacute House
832 reviews
4.14 miles away
South West Deer Rescue
51 reviews
4.51 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Foodiefemale2
November 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ClareWaller | Reviewed this property |
VERY sorry we are not sure.
0
Votes
mikewrankmore
May 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from IKD001 | Reviewed this property |
It is a dog friendly pub.
0
Votes
holtby2015
August 3, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jonny L | Reviewed this property |
Hi there. The White horse is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays I'm afraid but it is open from Wednesday to Sunday and does serve lunch on those days.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North Street, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne Ta187RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Crewkerne  >  Haselbury Plucknett
  • Phone Number: +44 1460 78873
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing