We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hole in One Cafe

Millbrook Resort, Arrowtown, New Zealand
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good45%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“lunch” (34 reviews)
“pizza” (33 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, European, Pizza, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Millbrook Resort, Arrowtown, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2018

Having stayed at Millbrook for many years this is the first time we have been disappointed with this restaurant. The food is still excellent and the serves are generous (Though they find it impossible to make a really hot coffee for some reason.) However the...More

1  Thank Gail O
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gail O, We are very sorry that you did not have the dining experience that you and your group deserved. i understand that there were some issues the evening that you dined and i can only apologies that your table was effected. We hope...More

Reviewed February 14, 2018

We've been here for lunch twice already on this trip. As before, we were delighted with the gracious reception and the friendly staff who were consistently capable and attentive. The menu is sufficiently varied to cater to all tastes and the meals are consistently well...More

1  Thank OldGoatsKnowBest
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear OldGoatsKnowBest, We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and hope that you will return to Millbrook soon. Kind regards, Matt McDonald

Reviewed February 12, 2018

This golf resort restaurant is in a beautiful location, no traffic noise and a pleasant ambience. It tries to be upmarket with properly dressed staff, napkins, and excellent food, reasonably priced considering the surroundings. Little things let it down, I ordered a smoothie and was...More

Thank D_L740
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear D_L740 We Agree, Great location! Thank you for your feedback, we are constantly training so any areas of improvement pointed out are much appreciated. The eggs on the Benedict actually come from Millbrook's very own Chickens so were pleased to hear they were so...More

Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed some breakfast before the long day of golf ahead. The staff were friendly and the food was great. Inside there are memorabilia on the walls as well as photos of prominent golfers as well as heads of state.

Thank Tan T
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tan T, Your feedback is much appreciated. We agree the food and staff are great! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Matt McDonald

Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Excellent location and laid back service. Great views over the green during the day, roaring log fires at night. Good selection of drinks and reasonably priced food.

Thank Neil H
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Neil H. Thank you for your review. The Hole In One is a great venue both day and night! We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Matt McDonald

Reviewed January 22, 2018

We ate here twice--once for lunch and once for dinner. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner or just drinks. It is right next to the putting green. It has a limited menu by design as my guess is it is to appeal to...More

Thank slwsweet
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Slwsweet, We are pleased you managed to dine in more than one of our restaurants and are very pleased you enjoyed your Hole In One experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Matt McDonald

Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

When you arrive you instantly think wow, its like you found an tiny piece of Europe for and afternoon spritz - such a wow factor. Ambiance: A cute little bar / restaurant on the putting green surrounded beautiful landscaping - truely pretty The Food: Basic...More

Thank Dataifans
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dataifans, Your feedback is much appreciated. Your points have all been addressed with the team and our ongoing training is already seeing improvements. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to take care of you as we should have. Please get...More

Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Great place to eat as there is a view from every table of the beautiful serene gardens of Millbrook.Food is always of a high standard however the service was really bad they were incredibly slow at getting anything to us and were not attentive.We didn’t...More

Thank alexcarr30
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alexcarr30, Thank you for your response and we are sorry the service was not up to our normal high levels. Hopefully we will see you again soon and take care of you at our normal high standard Kind regards, Matt McDonald

Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile

We keep coming back to the Hole in 1 cafe - great gluten free pizzas, fish dish and salads. Booking is essential as it is popular.

Thank Duncan P
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Duncan, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your meals. Hopefully we will welcome you back to the Hole In One soon. Kind regards, Matt McDonald

Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

I was recommended to visit this dinner venue by my air bnb host and it was a fantastic idea! The food was good, presentation great..and most importantly rather value for money too. I ordered four mains and all was great. The pork belly, the wagyu,...More

Thank Nicole L
MillbrookResort, Manager at The Hole in One Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi NicoleL, Thank you for your feedback. The team work very hard to make sure the experience is just right. We hope to welcome you back. Kind regards, Matt McDonald

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Arrowtown
Lake Hayes Motel
2 reviews
.43 miles away
Millbrook Resort
1,116 reviews
.45 miles away
The Orchard Cottage
25 reviews
.92 miles away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
12 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Millhouse
291 reviews
.03 miles away
The Chop Shop Food Merchants
627 reviews
1.16 miles away
Mantra Arrowtown
276 reviews
1.17 miles away
Saffron Restaurant
571 reviews
1.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Millbrook Resort Golf Course
50 reviews
.08 miles away
The Spa at Millbrook
20 reviews
.49 miles away
Arrow Bikes
8 reviews
.84 miles away
DF Souvenirs
18 reviews
.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hole in One Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Millbrook Resort, Arrowtown, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Arrowtown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing