We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Pernel Kitchen

$
Cafe, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
+64 6-878 3383
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We came in for lunch for mothers day, about 14 of us, we waited a long time for drinks and a long time for food orders to be taken...but being busy we were happy to wait, just would have been nice for some one to say "sorry guys, wont be long." Food did not come out at the same time,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaydee273
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016

Found the atmosphere very cold in winter months especially if taking an elderly person for lunch. Food good, service slow, good tourist shop, and fruit to buy

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Its really disappointing that you have posted a review relating to an experience in October 15. So much has changed since then..... We have an outstanding Chef who cooks all his food to order. We now have table service, tailored to the customer so that if you are in a hurry you will have your meal within 15 minutes, if... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

How difficult is it to make breakfast ? The answer it would seem is very. I had the All day breakfast , the sausages were poor quality and deep fried , my eggs were over cooked on the bottom and a transparent filmy layer on top. Tomato was bland and the rest average. My wife had the eggs Benedict, eggs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bbqboy007
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. With a very committed Head Chef and very experienced Front of House Manager complaints are very rare these days. We are disappointed that you didn't give us a chance to fix anything you were unhappy with on the day. We hope you will come back soon to see we really can give you a fantastic... More 

San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
485 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

This little cafe, adjacent to their fruit + various and sundries shop is a good little spot to enjoy a light brekkie and a morning coffee while perusing the nation's NZ Herald, DomPost or Hawke's Bay Today.

Helpful?
Thank HaljoHal
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to post a review. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

We always like to go there brunch was lovely and coffee was great and hot and they had runny cream for me because I can't have lactose big thumbs up for that I don't get that everywhere. Service was lovely and prompt. Courtyard looked great to sit outside. Plenty of shade. For the first time I used the ladies and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JRMD15
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for enjoying our place regularly. We do try to accomodate our customers needs wherever possible so glad we can do this with your coffees. It is unfortunate that the bathrooms weren't up to scratch. We will look into our procedures for this. We look forward to serving you brunch again... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

This place has had a big make over since i was last there, which is really good. It now caters for more people indoors when needed. They offered a varied range of cabinet and menu food items. The cabinet food looked great and the meals that were served was more than ample and well received. The group that were lunching... More 

Helpful?
Thank rossndi2015
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review us and thank you for your comments. We have been working hard at improving all aspects of our customers' experience and are very pleased that you have noticed some of these changes. We are pleased that you love what our Head Chef Steve Caccioppoli (who is well known in Hawkes Bay) is... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
250 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

Great place for a quick bite to eat. Friendly staff. Off road parking. Lovely food and good coffee. Try the seafood pie. Nice little souvenir shop as well. Also has good fruit and vegetable shop.

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us on your trip to the Bay. We appreciate your review. Glad you enjoyed our seafood pie. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Great place to have lunch. Vibrant modern menu. Never fails to please. Shopping in the gift shop makes sending overseas gifts way too easy. Tidy, clean toilets. Big carpark

Helpful?
Thank Lynda K
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your dining and shopping experiences with us. We are now one of the very few places you can buy souviners all year round. We look forward too seeing you again soon. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I go there usually after walking the dogs, great to have breakfast/ lunch, good food, lovely service. décor a bit out dated

Helpful?
Thank JRMD15
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your comments. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Pernel Kitchen has gone down hill ever since all the hardworking staff have left. Mother's Day food was appalling, a lot of my friends were very disappointed with everything. Toast was stale, breakfast was cold, coffee's are disgusting... I suggest the current staff members and management have a serious talk/meeting about what needs improving.

Helpful?
Thank 694dallasa
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Mothers Day was a buffet breakfast and lunch with filter coffee or tea included in the price. Normally we have an all day breakfast and lunch menu, Chef Specials for the day and some delicious cabinet food also. We encourage you to come back soon as we have a lovely new Head... More 

Travelers who viewed Pernel Kitchen also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Pernel Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$6 - $13
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +64 6-878 3383
Description
Pernel Kitchen is set amidst a working orchard where high quality produce is lovingly grown. The Chef seeks inspiration from his surroundings and produces affordable, unfussy, beautifully presented cafe style food truly bursting with flavour. Our own produce as well as those of other local growers is showcased in his dishes. Pernel Kitchen has indoor and outdoor seating (with shade in summer) as well as a small children's playground including beanbags and teepees. Menus change regularly to reflect seasonal produce.

Private functions and out-catering are also welcome. Our experienced staff are able to work closely with you to exceed your expectations.

Tours of our orchard are available (bookings required) which give a fun and informative trip aboard our apple wagon towed by a vintage Fergie tractor. The curiosity of all ages will be ignited when you follow the journey from seed to store. Fruit ice creams, fresh fruit and vegetables, local artisan products are all available at our Fresh Produce Shop on site. Souviners and Gifts are available in our Gift Shop.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pernel Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?