We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

sally's restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
25 The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
(09) 403 7652
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 486: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

This place has the most amazing tasting cakes.... Really loved the chocolate one or rather the kids did as they ate it up faster!!!! Nice view of the ocean and menu up on the blackboard.. Massive portions so be careful... No wifi which is good so that you can absorb the amazing view....

Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Great review. No Wi Fi I love it too. Thanks again. Sally More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Not much fish in the very heavy cream based fish chowder and my husbands nachos mince was cold and had to go back to be reheated. Worst meal of our trip

Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

I have always judged all cafe's by their coffee and this is a cafe not a restaurant in my opinion. Service was very average and them we were served a boiling hot , watery , tasteless coffee. We left the coffee and went elsewhere. Interesting at we were warned not to go there but given we were not eating thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank janwholeboxndice
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this review

We cannot understand this as the two coffees you had were made with milk. No water at all. Was this a jack up. We spoke to you on the waterfront and offered to make you another coffee. Ally More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Had some coffee, meringue and apple crumble while visiting the Island. The cafe is setup on the waterfront with a beautiful view. Desserts were average and had more sugar than necessary. Staff are courteous.

Helpful?
Thank rayhaanus
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Sorry to say this is the worst meal we have had since visiting NZ. Food served was cold, couldn't be due to restaurant being busy as it was empty, Sack the Chef.

Helpful?
Thank martinfitzpatrick3
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this review

Morning Martin. I have not had any of my staff saying there has been a complaint. Would you like to come in and Meet me so I can deal with the situation? Were you there in the day time or at night? What meal did you have?I am so sorry this has happened. To contact me phone 094037652work Home 094037135... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Tasty food, good sizes, a bit uninspiring but filled hungry tummies. Service was great, lovely outdoor seating area.

Helpful?
Thank Fantastic4NZ
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Dropped in late afternoon for a cup of tea and stayed for the Tempura and Garlic bread with condiments. Sally was there to greet us with a smile and a hug when we arrived. This is the first time I have seen a German Rye bread used as a garlic bread base and it works wonderfully. Finished off with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArvindCh
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

One only eats elsewhere in Russell, if you're worried about offending the competition - tho there really isn't any competition when it come to friendliness, price-point, or more importantly - excellent food!! Sallys has never failed to deliver, whether it's breakfast, lunch, dinner - or a quick coffee & cake. The lemon meringue pie is totally to die for, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhitbyWimmin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

We've visited each day while in Russell for our daily fix of All Press. Friendly staff who appear to be friends as well as colleagues. Yesterday a group were playing mahjong- lovely in a wet afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

I just dropped in for coffee and cake, and had a lovely experience. Such a nice friendly environment and family atmosphere. The selection of cakes was fantastic, all home made. The lemon meringue was hot out the oven and was mouth watering. Coffee was great too. Lovely place.

Helpful?
Thank Nadine740

Travelers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20
Cuisine
Soups, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Seafood, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Russell
  • Phone Number: (09) 403 7652

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of sally's restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from sally's restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?