We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Monaco Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-547 0792
Website
Today
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
559 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dined with a group of six. The restaurant is not very large and the service could be improved. The wrong orders were placed in front of the wrong person but luckily we figured it out and swapped them. The food was good. I ordered a steak dish that was really tasty and while it didnt look a lot, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ah62
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Ah62 Thanks for your review which I've shared with our Food and Beverage Team and the restaurant supervisor, I'm pleased you found the food very good, tasty and filling. It was a bit disappointing to read that the service did live up to our expectations, but glad you enjoyed the location and the view out the windows and... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Incredibly slow service and we were billed incorrectly - complete incompetence. The food was flavorful but all the patrons around us had the same slow service experience with at least one not even receiving the meal they had ordered after waiting for over an hour. It was almost comical about how horrible the service was. It was at least a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn S Oh dear, thanks for your review, it was disappointing to read that your dining service experience didn't live up to your expectations (nor ours) - but at least you found the food tasty. I've shared your review with our Food and Beverage Manager who will discuss it with the team. I do hope you will try us... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights in this very charming and particular hotel. The meals were generous and very tasty. The staff is friendly,available and professional. Views are great specially on a sunset. Special thanks to Michael & Ane Sarah ..

Helpful?
Thank Olichur
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Olichur It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your two night stay with us, equally lovely to read that you enjoyed your meals at The Monaco Kitchen and that you found the portions generous and tasty. I'll pass your comments on the "friendly, available and professional" staff on to our Food and Beverage Manager for him to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I went here on a Sunday evening for my Birthday. We had booked, and even though the room was almost empty, they stuck us at the rear of the restaurant and not at any of the tables with a view. The waitress was quite overbearing when we arrived and showed a lack of experience from then on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Anthony B Thanks for your review of The Monaco Kitchen - it was disappointing to read that your dining experience didn't meet your expectations (nor ours from reading through your comments). I've passed your review on to our Food and Beverage Manager (will@monacoresort.co.nz); if you wish, you may contact Will van Heeswyck about your experience. Once again, thanks... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just got back from staying at Grand monaco for our 50th wedding anniversary. The meals were great here and the setting is so lovely and relaxing , watching ducks going by.

Helpful?
1 Thank ggsboss
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there ggsboss Firstly, congratulations on reaching your 50th wedding anniversary - I hope your dining experience with us was something special to mark a very special occasion. Thanks so much for your review of The Monaco Kitchen. Great to read that you enjoyed your meals, and enjoyed the setting and view (especially of the ducks on our pond right... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The starters we had were absolutely top class, the mains were good (big portions) but unfortunately it seems we got forgotten about after that. When we were finally asked how things were going, we were told it was quite busy and there would be a wait for desserts. A bit disappointing considering the table next to us seemed to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank toni668
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Toni668 It was great to read that your dining experience started well, and that you enjoyed your starters and mains (you're right, they can be big portions); however, it was disappointing to read that it went a bit downhill after that. I've passed your comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager and the restaurant supervisor. Thanks again... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

it's great to find a local restaurant with attentive staff and an original menue, so often you dine out but leave feeling it was just another nice meal, after leaving Monaco kitchen you will ware a smile feeling like you have been looked after and entertained, not to mention the peaceful sea views to keep you relaxed

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Steven W Thanks for your review, "attentive staff and original menu" as music to our ears! We're delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at The Monaco Kitchen, wonderful that you left with a smile on your face, feeling that you been looked after and entertained ... this is precisely what we hope for when guests dine with us,... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening here, the food was great, the service was just right and the location was beautiful. The team even had insect repellent handy for those pesky sandals. It was great. We say outside until dessert and then headed inside (it started raining). My favorite - the aubergine dish. The meals can be shared or not, it's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SuaveWellington
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there SuaveWellington Thanks for your review, I was delighted to read you had a wonderful evening at The Monaco Kitchen. Yes, being just across the road from the Waimea Inlet, on occasions those pesky sandflys can be a problem, so we keep insect repellent on standby! Great to read that you enjoyed the aubergine dish - I'm keen to... More 

Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2017

This place has so much unrealized potential, but I recommend steering clear. The waitress we had was downright impolite in response to a complaint about one of the dishes (the Eggplant Dengaku)--which was sickenly sweet on top and bland and greasy at the bottom. She said, "Ah, well I guess you know not to order it next time." When I... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamiSay
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there SamiSay Thanks for your review, lovely to know that you enjoyed you room overlooking our central Village Green, and the facilities provided. Our internet has been problematic (in terms of signal strength), and this is in large part due to the construction of our property with unusually thick walls reminiscent of an olde English village; we are working... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2017

We stayed at the Grand Mecure and booked a table at Monoco Kitchen via Reception. We had a wonderful meal of both choosing a variety of large and smaller share plates. Despite the restaurant being quite busy, the food and service was fabulous.

Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Carol W Thanks so much for your review, we couldn't ask for a better compliment than "great food & wonderful service"! It was great to read you had a great time with us at The Monaco Kitchen; our menu is designed to be shared and enjoyed - so mission accomplished! We look forward to seeing you back at TMK... More 

Travelers who viewed The Monaco Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Monaco Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$28
Cuisine
New Zealand, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-547 0792
Description
The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Monaco Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?