We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Eungella Chalet

$$ - $$$
Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Eungella, Mackay, Queensland 4757, Australia
+61 7 4958 4509
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The chalet is perched on the hill at Eungella and was hit fairly badly due to cyclone damage. Pictures displayed in a photo album show this damage. The food we ate was very tasty and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. There is even a small shop inside and shows many old forgotten items from the past.

Helpful?
Thank 255068Karen
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016

Come for the view, eat the scones. Nice clean and peaceful location. Good service, plenty of parking.

Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2016

We dropped in to the Chalet for dinner and we weren't disappointed. The view is just stunning and the food was lovely. It was reasonably priced and the lady who served us was wonderful and very helpful. It's a beautiful spot, we especially loved the wooden carvings on the lawn!

Helpful?
Thank sbjkh
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you, for your positive feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your meal, the magnificent view & our wood carvings. We are very pleased to hear our staff are doing a brilliant work.. Enjoy your day Cheers Management More 

Mackay Region, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Waited an hour to be served the most disgusting and inedible food. The management is taking advantage of the location to ripoff the customers.

Helpful?
Thank Nair40
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We had an extremely busy day on the day in question... sorry you didn't like our food as we do have lots of happy customers. Thank again, enjoy your day. Management. More 

Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2016

Had a lovely meal here while looking at the most beautiful views of the surrounding mountain ranges and the Pioneer Valley.

Helpful?
Thank MargJ230
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feed back so good to hear you enjoyed your meal and the wonderful view of the Pioneer Valley. Enjoy your day, Cheers Management More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

The view is fantastic, however the food we were served was expensive, lowest quality and basically inedible. I won't be back. There are many better options between Mackay and Eungella.

Helpful?
Thank PhysioAus
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2016

Had a couple of nice relaxing drinks after a day of bushwalking. An old hotel which could probably tell a few stories. The view is spectacular

Helpful?
Thank Sue N
Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2016

Lovely spot with a wonderful view. Lunch meals were nice and good value for money. A local musician entertained guests while they dined for Sunday lunch. This is a very popular place to take visitors.

Helpful?
Thank walkgps3
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. So good to hear you enjoyed your day out at The Chalet. Have a great day, Cheers Managment More 

Moore Park Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2016

Without a doubt they have one of the best views to go with a meal or drink. We dined there a few times and the meals where pretty basic for the price. Fish/Chips/Salad for $20 was high for the quality and size. The salad was very ordinary and not worth putting on the plate. The chicken parma for $25 was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray K
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2016

I only visited the Chalet for a short lunch after Eungella hike. Can't really comment on the accommodation itself. The view from the chalet is amazing. You can look out into the valley with no obstructions. Very nice atmosphere with a live piano performance at the restaurant. The food at the restaurant was however, a little disappointing. Even after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank John K
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, great to hear you loved our view... sorry you didn't like our food we do try to please all our customers however sometime you can't please them all, all of the time.. We do have very large variety on our Menu ranging from home baked Gluten Free meals & desserts to full sized Crumbed Steaks,... More 

Travelers who viewed Eungella Chalet also viewed

 
Eungella, Queensland
 

Been to Eungella Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Australian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Eungella, Mackay, Queensland 4757, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Mackay
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4958 4509

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eungella Chalet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?