We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Eungella Chalet

Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Eungella, Mackay, Queensland 4757, Australia
(07) 4958 4509
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Mackay Region, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Waited an hour to be served the most disgusting and inedible food. The management is taking advantage of the location to ripoff the customers.

Helpful?
Thank Nair40
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We had an extremely busy day on the day in question... sorry you didn't like our food as we do have lots of happy customers. Thank again, enjoy your day. Management. More 

Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Had a lovely meal here while looking at the most beautiful views of the surrounding mountain ranges and the Pioneer Valley.

Helpful?
Thank MargJ230
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feed back so good to hear you enjoyed your meal and the wonderful view of the Pioneer Valley. Enjoy your day, Cheers Management More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

The view is fantastic, however the food we were served was expensive, lowest quality and basically inedible. I won't be back. There are many better options between Mackay and Eungella.

Helpful?
Thank PhysioAus
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

Had a couple of nice relaxing drinks after a day of bushwalking. An old hotel which could probably tell a few stories. The view is spectacular

Helpful?
Thank Sue N
Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Lovely spot with a wonderful view. Lunch meals were nice and good value for money. A local musician entertained guests while they dined for Sunday lunch. This is a very popular place to take visitors.

Helpful?
Thank walkgps3
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. So good to hear you enjoyed your day out at The Chalet. Have a great day, Cheers Managment More 

Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Without a doubt they have one of the best views to go with a meal or drink. We dined there a few times and the meals where pretty basic for the price. Fish/Chips/Salad for $20 was high for the quality and size. The salad was very ordinary and not worth putting on the plate. The chicken parma for $25 was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray K
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016

I only visited the Chalet for a short lunch after Eungella hike. Can't really comment on the accommodation itself. The view from the chalet is amazing. You can look out into the valley with no obstructions. Very nice atmosphere with a live piano performance at the restaurant. The food at the restaurant was however, a little disappointing. Even after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank John K
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, great to hear you loved our view... sorry you didn't like our food we do try to please all our customers however sometime you can't please them all, all of the time.. We do have very large variety on our Menu ranging from home baked Gluten Free meals & desserts to full sized Crumbed Steaks,... More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016

Great lunch. Well priced, fast service and great food, all with a great view. It was a little busy when we were there but there was minimal wait and the burgers were yummy.

Helpful?
Thank Chels87
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feed back, hope to see you again soon. Enjoy your day Cheers Management More 

Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

Went up for lunch, the smell of overused oil in a deep fat frier overwhelmed the premises. Decided to have a coffee before ordering. The coffee was weak in the extreme, insipid, undrinkable and made with UHT milk. Staff had attitude and didn't seem like the sort of people who handled complaints well. If you need to eat nearby, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, sorry we couldn't please you. Most of our customers love our coffee and our staff ... maybe they were having a bad day as you do sometimes... We do encourage all feedback so we can please our customers while they are here. Enjoy your day Cheers Managment More 

Bowen, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Had an awesome 3 nights in one of the cabins. Clean, comfortable, cool and of course amazing views. Had dinner at the Chalet twice and althought they are simple meals, they are well cooked and very satisfying. Crumbed steak was huge and delicious. I shared it with my daughter and it was enough for us both. Will definately go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our food. Hope to see you again soon. Enjoy the day, Cheers Tess More 

Travelers who viewed Eungella Chalet also viewed

 

Been to Eungella Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Australian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Eungella, Mackay, Queensland 4757, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Mackay
  • Phone Number: (07) 4958 4509

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eungella Chalet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?