We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nagisa

N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 4122
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good35%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“sashimi” (34 reviews)
“bento box” (19 reviews)
“scallops” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While it can be a bit on the expensive side, it's always a very enjoyable experience dining at Nagisa. Most recently we went for Sunday lunch and the food and service were, once again, excellent. We sat outside which is always the best option if...More

Thank Steven C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There with 7 friends and we shared two plates each course. All meals were great and the service was exemplary. The wine list is very good and the owner is very knowledgeable about the wines. The smoked salmon is very theatrical but also beautifully tasteful....More

Thank Bryan S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

4 adults, two teenagers, three generations visited for Saturday lunch. Family are frequent skiers in Japan and love Japanese food. We were not disappointed. Service was attentive, food was fresh and delicious, and value for money. We definately will be back.

Thank GeoSaleAustralia
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

They didn't like us having a pleasant time. Food was B grade. Price was premium. Scallops a little off. No view due too opaque screens.More

Thank Angus T
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Angus. We regret we didn't meet your expectations. Please let us know of any issues with your meal at the time of dining so they can be addressed promptly. Regarding our screens, they do assist in keeping everyone crispy warm...More

Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Attended with the family on Friday night. Expensive meal but worth it. Had the wagu beef which was exceptional. Will go again

Thank Southsfan1
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you very muchfor taking the time to leave feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your Nagisa experience. :-)

Reviewed July 25, 2018

We had visited this restaurant some 2 years ago & decided that a return visit was essential after all of this time. The lunch crowd was was staring to build up putting some pressure on the kitchen & the staff, but this was not to...More

Thank bob l
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for the amazing review, Bob. We're over the moon to hear such praise. We are looking forward to serving you again. :-)

Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited Nagisa for dinner on a Saturday night. The food was exemplary, and the staff very attentive. The cost, for what we ate and drank was very reasonable. Would easily recommend this restaurant to any lover of Japanese cuisine!

Thank jondoughty
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for your very kind words. We are extremely pleased your Nagisa experience was a great one! :-)

Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch with my friend. Has a good time here~ staff was timely and friendly but the price of food is not worth it.More

Thank Xiaomin L
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the service and hope you enjoyed the food. We believe our prices are standard for our location and are on par with other establishments in the locale. We hope we'll have the opportunity to...More

Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

This is a little gem, surrounded by overpriced hotels/restaurants. The service was a little slow at times, but they were helpful when needed. Started with sushi, very well prepped, very fresh produce. We had the lamb and fish, absolutely amazing. Followed by some Japanese whiskey,...More

Thank Peter P
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, Peter. We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again.

Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

I guess I could tell that wasn't going to be a great experience when I could see our wine sit at the bar till the waitress decided to stop chatting up the barman. First dishe came out, then decided to order the rest of our...More

Thank Tim B
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Hi Tim. Our staff will never tolerate verbal abuse. We're sorry for your experience but that kind of behaviour is unacceptable.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
519 reviews
.10 miles away
Rydges Newcastle
1,158 reviews
.10 miles away
Clarendon Hotel
470 reviews
.16 miles away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
342 reviews
.35 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Meet
372 reviews
.05 miles away
The Dockyard
253 reviews
.01 miles away
MoneyPenny
157 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Newcastle Museum
338 reviews
.07 miles away
Maritime Centre
57 reviews
.05 miles away
Newcastle Civic Theatre
20 reviews
.15 miles away
Miss Porter's House
15 reviews
.42 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dan F
April 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from gkp2202 | Property representative |
Hello. I'm very sorry for the late reply. I presume you are referring to okonomiyaki? In which case, we do not have these on our menu, though I believe we have offered them on special at some point. I'll discuss the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $85
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4929 4122
  • E-mail
Description
Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing