We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bailiez Cafe

) #10 of 22 Restaurants in Te Anau $$ - $$$ , , Gluten Free Options
Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
+64 3-249 7526
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good32%
  • Average22%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (23 reviews)
“salad” (14 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 am - 10:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently had a family gathering there with surprise additional family arriving. Nothing was a problem for the staff who were very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious.More

Thank snibbsy
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Bindy B, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am delighted to hear that we were able to accomodate you family, and that you all enjoyed your meals with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the...More

Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

Nice friendly staff, $10 bacon and eggs were yum. Toilets spotless. Great coffee. Warm place to sit and relax

Thank toshnz
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi toshnz, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service provided by our wonderful team. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

Bacon and eggs for Myrtle and I had long gone in every sense. Bacon was past crispy to burnt. Eggs over cooked and coffee average. Very dated atmosphere although service was friendly.

Thank Viv W
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Viv W, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely appreciate all customer feedback, I am disappointed to hear that your breakfast was not up to our usual high standard. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed May 2, 2017

We had lunch there and the waitress was so helpful she told us about every dish we asked about with a great knowledge on each dish. Everything she said about the meals we had was the truth.

Thank aytosdairy
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi aytosdairy, Thank you for your glowing review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meals and that our wait staff were able to help you with your choice of meals. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed April 26, 2017

We found this restuarant quoite by accident and had a quick meal here as we were very travel tired. Good menu and service at a reasonable price.

Thank RogerandGrace
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi RogerandGrace, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meals and the service provided by our wonderful team. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

Found this place open on Easter Sunday. Staff not that friendly. Food was good value for money. Table not cleared.

Thank TinVet
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi TinVet, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely appreciate all feedback from our customers. However I am disappointed to hear that our service was not up to our usual high standard. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed April 15, 2017

An extensive menue to suit all tastes. Typical pub food but lots of choice in all price brackets. Heeps of specials very affordable

Thank Barry A
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Barry A, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed April 10, 2017

I came in for a drink at Bailiez and I found a classic old pub with some good pub grub on the menu.Great value for money with my drink much healthier shot size compared to The moose which drink was weak and watery

Thank MontyNZ
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MontyNZ, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

Food was fine but the service was difficult. Even the drinks were off - I didn't know that it was possible to mix up a vodka soda, but they are clearly masters at mixing it up -

Thank Mark K
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mark K, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely appreciate all feedback, however I am disappointed to hear that the service you received was not up to our usual high standard. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Reviewed March 30, 2017

If you just need a quick, unfettered place for a casual meal in Te Anau, this is an 'okay' café. Our burgers were tasty and served with a heaping pile of French fries. The prices were reasonable. Nothing special.

Thank Greg B
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Greg B, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely appreciate all feedback. Kind regards Dee Riddoch Restaurant Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kepler Restaurant
629 reviews
.01 miles away
Redcliff Restaurant & Bar
1,187 reviews
.05 miles away
Sandfly Cafe
700 reviews
.19 miles away
Miles Better Pies
778 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Punanga Manu o Te Anau
92 reviews
.59 miles away
Fiordland i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
59 reviews
.03 miles away
Ivan Wilson Park
16 reviews
.33 miles away
Fiordland Cinema
398 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bailiez Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Southland Region  >  Fiordland National Park  >  Te Anau
  • Phone Number: +64 3-249 7526
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing