We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Nobanno

Certificate of Excellence
Bangladeshi, Gluten Free, Asian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1060 Ferry Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
039435970
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu - Sat 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went as a group of 7, it was a quiet night there only a couple of other tables. The waitrest explained that this nepalese cuisine was not hot like Indian as they did not use chilli but was stI'll full of flavor and that's certainly the case...we ordered some wonderful dishes that were delicious. The main problem was the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui T
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly owners and service staff and we were even accompanied by the owner to our car sans large umbrella to shelter us from the rain.

Helpful?
Thank Di B
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful meal at Nobanno last night. We went to Nobanno for our Anniversary Dinner and greatly enjoyed it. If you are going to drink alcohol and are around 25 years old, the restaurant is very strict on ID. I had my ID, but unfortunately my wife had forgotten hers. Although we were disappointed that we couldn't get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
Owner-of-Nobanno, Manager at Nobanno, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. It truly meant a lot to us. It (your good and honest review) also helps and encourages us to do the good things we try to do at Nobanno. It has been an honor to have great guest like your wife and you at Nobanno. I wish you all the best. Thanks again. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,202 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 969 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we tried this place on recommendation however it didn't live up to the expectation, mushroom delight were good, rest din't attract us!

Helpful?
Thank Nins_12
Owner-of-Nobanno, Manager at Nobanno, responded to this review

Interesting comment but I hope you would have mentioned while you dined-in at Nobanno if you really did. Unfortunately you did not even though we ask each guest multiple times for their satisfaction. However, I trust that your comment will be justified to prove genuineness by the thousands of guests who dined-in at Nobanno. Thanks and good luck. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a table booked for 12 but called 2 hours earlier to let them know it would only be 8...could only reach the answerphone. Anyways, when arriving the waiter seemed a bit pissed off when I told him about the number change but I did let him know that I left a message on the phone earlier. (1st contra) When... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steeephie
Owner-of-Nobanno, Manager at Nobanno, responded to this review

I am sorry that you prefer Indian food rather than Bangladeshi food at Nobanno. I show my sincere respect to your preference and wish you all the best with it. We tried to do everything we can to satisfy our guests but it is understandable that there are people like you who has a different taste and preference and we... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After driving past this place for over a year we decided to take the plunge and try. And aren't we glad we did! Excellent food. The staff are at pains to stress that they are a Bangladeshi restaurant and NOT Indian; they do not use chillies and all food is cooked to order. Despite that, the dishes and flavours would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seismicscot
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought we would give this place a go. Attentive staff who did explain the menu and the concept, however most disappointed. Found it difficult to order as nothing jumped out and no favourites to be seen anywhere.Ordered a "special" of the day which was bland and tasteless. No atmosphere, overpriced and not great. Be aware that if you complete the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank stuart12262
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very similar but slightly different from the Indian dining experience. A quiet place a little out of the way.rich red decor and dark wood. Serving staff very attentive and friendly if a little difficult to understand the accent. Highly flavoursome food with generous servings prepared promptly no chillis. They were keen on feedback both during the meal and got us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarawakid
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for a quick meal before going on to a movie. The service was very friendly and the menu very clear. Greeted warmly and able to choose own table as we were the first diners for the evening. Introduction to Bengali food was of interest and the specials were outlined for us. We were served reasonably quickly and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is not an Indian restaurant - it is Bengali. The food has lots of flavour but is not hot and spicy. Everything is freshly made and all our dishes tasted different. Good service - they are keen for you to enjoy their food.

Helpful?
Thank Sue P

Travelers who viewed Nobanno also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nobanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bangladeshi, Gluten Free, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1060 Ferry Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: 039435970

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Nobanno and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nobanno staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?