We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant

) #13 of 696 Restaurants in Wellington $$$$ Seafood, , European
Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-499 9069
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“seafood” (69 reviews)
“tuna” (34 reviews)
“bluff oysters” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 200 of 790 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2016

We arrived in a cold wet Wellington night and the warm welcoming atmosphere of Shed 5 was lovely. The dress code is smart casual, but the food is definitely fine dining, the menu leans toward seafood however there is plenty for the land lubber including...More

Thank Simon G
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hi Simon Thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed our warm friendly hospitality and some delicious meals! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes from all at Shed 5.

Reviewed August 19, 2016

Oysters are a must. And whether you like fish or meat you won't be disappointed. Four of us all with varying tastes. The service was great, but it can get very busy at peak times, so make sure to book.More

Thank jessies48
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hi Jessie Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meals! We have a variety of dishes on the menu for fishy fiends and land lovers alike, and our oysters are the freshest in town. Bookings are always advised! We...More

Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Visited this evening with a large group of friends for a birthday and could not have wished for a better time! The atmosphere was wonderful, the food was to die for and the service was impeccable. The wait staff made sure we were all okay...More

Thank Grace F
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hi Grace Thank you for your lovely comments, I am glad you enjoyed your whole experience, we certainly wouldn't want you to miss out on an outstanding meal just because of an allergy! We look forward to seeing you again very soon and you can...More

Reviewed August 17, 2016

Two friends and I went for lunch last Sunday and all got the dine and dash - for the value, not because we were in a hurry. We started by ordering the bread which came with little bowls - one of olive oil, one of...More

Thank catsongea
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hello there Thank you for your comments - it sounds like you ordered the majority of our Dine n Dash menu which is a great value way to sample what we have to offer! This menu changes quite regularly so we look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

We were happy with the food and the atmosphere for lunch. Our waitress was helpful and friendly. A bit disappointed with the wait staff at the counter who served us the mains. We told her we were sharing the mains but she didn't give us...More

Thank Joyce W
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hi Joyce Thank you for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear you were happy with the food and atmosphere and enjoyed our friendly hospitality. I apologise that you received no sharing plates for your meals which you should have done, leaving your side plates free...More

Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Despite the good food the place looks like a big shelter... Too many people, not too much attention. Couple mistakes in order. 45 dollars extra in the bill from the wrong table. Slow service - starter main and dessert for 3 hours :-( But to...More

Thank RGNZ
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hello there Firstly, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meals and also our craft beer from one of the best local brewers in the region. I apologise for the unusually slow service you received during your meal - I hold high expectations from...More

Reviewed August 7, 2016

Another Wellington restaurant that has a great special lunch on offer. 2 courses for $30 per head or 3 for $40. All choices in our group of 8 got the big tick and we pretty much covered the menu. Good venue for quality food. Two...More

Thank MrsQ1960
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hello there Thank you for your comments, the 'Dine n Dash' offer is a very popular lunch option for our guests, whether for a quick business lunch between meetings or an inexpensive hearty 3-course meal with your friends and family. Watch this space for the...More

Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Had the Dine and Dash great prawn crepe and beef and oyster pie. Both very nice. Had 4 oysters in the pie tasty. The waiter Carlos looked after us well and very friendly. Would love to go back if we weren't so far from Wellington!More

Thank Grahame J
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hi Grahame Thank you for your comments, the Dine and Dash lunch menu is a great option for those looking for something different - it also changes regularly so there is always something new to try. I am glad you enjoyed our excellent hospitality! See...More

Reviewed August 1, 2016

Wandered down to Shed 5 to have a solo dinner. I walked through the Crab Shack to get here, which was buzzing. Shed 5 was quiet by comparison. I understand that restaurants don't want to keep a lot of stock, specifically seafood, but they were...More

Thank PeterGP71
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hi Peter Thanks for getting in touch, it is very disappointing that we were out of oysters the night you dined with us - unfortunately due to the fact that we are always sourcing the freshest products in the country we are occasionally unable to...More

Reviewed July 27, 2016

Appreciated the good seafood selections and wine choices.Obviously popular with local business people and visitorsMore

Thank Ken M
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Hi Ken Thank you for your comments, it's true that we serve the freshest fish and seafood dishes in the city in one of the finest looking buildings on the wharf! Our menu is matched with an extensive wine list suited to all tastes and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
731 reviews
.09 miles away
Chameleon Restaurant
320 reviews
.10 miles away
The Crab Shack
1,248 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington Museum
979 reviews
.09 miles away
City to Sea Bridge
186 reviews
.22 miles away
Wellington City Library
238 reviews
.30 miles away
Frank Kitts Park
164 reviews
.19 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Prof50
February 8, 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Fiona M | Reviewed this property |
Hi smart casual would be fine. I agree no jandals (thongs/flipflops) or tatty jeans.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$22 - $62
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-499 9069
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing