We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shed 3 | Queens Wharf, Jervois Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
04 499 9900
Website
Today
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sat - Sun 11:00 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 361: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Dined here last night for a work function. Great food and fun atmosphere. Excellent bar service and the bathrooms are clean and tidy.

Helpful?
Thank Courtney H
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Met the family here for a Sunday lunch and catch up Easy to get a table as we hadnt booked. Meals were quite slow to arrive as others who arrived after us got there's before us. They were quite good nothing to rave about tho , 2 of us had fish burgers one had a vegetarian dish and 2 had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by Dockside. The food was amazing and the drinks variety was very wide. The staff were excellent and it was decently priced, especially compared to the other restaurants along the waterfront. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I think it could be price a little lower. Other than that it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caleb W
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had our work dinner, there was 18 of us, the food was amazing and the service was fabulous, highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hired the upstairs area for my daughters 21st at Dockside. From the get go arranging the night with Hillary was especially easy and very professional. On the night everything went to plan and G, Erica and Luke looked after Molly and her friends amazingly well. Thoroughly recommend Dockside, Hillary and her team if you are looking to plan a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lance908
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant should have a much higher rating, at least from our experience. The food was ridiculously good, on all counts. Highly recommend the shrimp and goat cheese filled ravioli and the seafood chowder. The salmon main was absolutely delicious. Our waiter was an English traveler saving money on their way through, and was excellent, attentive and polite.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty J
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking for a nice spot for a cup of tea and a coffee, two friends and I stopped at Dockside, attracted by the nice sunny sheltered space. Too late for brunch so can't review the food. Great space, tea and coffee acceptable. Staff a bit cool in attitude, so we were not sure if we were welcome or not. So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy O
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a work function upstairs for about 60 people. Outstanding service and organisation. Nice little space. Staff were very helpful. Value good. We only had nibbles and they were fine.

Helpful?
1 Thank MJB2065
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Dockside for a friends birthday dinner and was shocked by the quality of the meal. It should have been great, the ingredients were of good quality, but execution was poor! I had Salmon for the main which was over cooked, and credit where credit is due the calamari was excellent! Next course was Coconut Pannacotta and meringues -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ngaire B
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your recent visit. The freshness of our wines available by the glass is monitored daily, but if the freshness is ever questioned it should be replaced by one from a fresh bottle immediately. The issues with your food should have been dealt with during check backs. I'm sorry we failed to deal with these... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully warm restaurant flooded in winter's sun. That is where the positives stop. Service was poor and food was no better. My market fish had actually been frozen. Very very overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Tabatha1998
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We pride ourselves on the standard of our service and quality of our food. I can assure you our market fish is never frozen. We only use fish suppliers who promote sustainable fishing and deliver daily. I would love to reply personally. You can contact me on manager@docksidenz.com? Adam Tolly,... More 

Travelers who viewed Dockside also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Gluten Free, Seafood
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shed 3 | Queens Wharf, Jervois Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: 04 499 9900

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dockside staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?