We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gusto Restaurant

$$
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Pacific Rim
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
55 Ocean View Parade | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
+64 6-759 8133
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The waves will be lapping right next to you if you get a balcony seat, and the same is true for the window seats, although then you won't be caught in the spray:) This chef surprised me by his level of detail and attention to the small errors you usually get in an eggs benedict. I think he should come... More 

Helpful?
Thank CorrieEngelbrecht
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Senior special meal very good. Great atmosphere and service couldn't be better. We sat by a window facing out to the port and it was very relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank treetops2016
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Treetops The team at Gusto is so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your Gold Card Special lunch meals. That particular menu is proving very popular. We hope you will join us for another nice relaxing lunch in the not too distant future! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From start to finish Kim and the staff made this an easy and very enjoyable experience for our party of 22. Nothing was too much trouble, the setting was wonderful and the food was great. The service throughout was attentive and helpful but not intrusive. We consider we got great value and a great day - a 5-star experience. Thanks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilse W
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ilse What an absolute honour it was to host Evelyn here to celebrate her 90th birthday last Wednesday. Thank you ever so much for your high praise and recognition. It was our privelege to be able to cater for you all on this very special occasion! More 

Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely venue for a birthday lunch, sitting in the sun watching the waves - The staff and service was great, food delicious - G had the Lamb Tagine and I had the Scallop and Smoke Fish cakes - both meals were served hot, well seasoned and presented beautifully we both cleaned our plates - nice wine selection I tried... More 

Helpful?
Thank JB-Wine-Guy
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear JB Fantastic to hear you had such a fabulous lunch on a warm winters day watching the waves. Your wine and food matches seemed to go down a treat. It is always a pleasure having you dine with us! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted to lick the plates it was so good. Can you imagine preparing dips and sauces without any onions and garlic? Chef was creatively responsive and presented well seasoned, tasty options. They also experimented when asked for a cocktail not on their menu. Visit with the manager was personable.

Helpful?
Thank pattines04
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Pattie How thrilled we are to read that you had such a memorable evening with us and that Gusto left such a long lasting impression, We are always eager to help with special requests if we are able. We can't wait to see you again next time you are down our way! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a big breakfast at this fine eating establishment. I asked for certain ways for my meal to be cooked and it came out perfectly. I would defiantly return and eat here again

Helpful?
Thank Darren H
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Darren How delighted we all are to hear that your Big Breakfast was up to its usual high standard and that you enjoyed watching the waves as the rain fell. It is always lovely to see you here and we look forward to you joining us for another delicious breakfast very soon! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had afternoon tea and dinner at Gusto today. Received fantastic service from the staff and the food was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Lesli W
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lesli Thank you very much for choosing Gusto for both your afternoon refreshments and for dinner that same evening during your recent visit to New Plymouth. It was a pleasure having you all join us and we hope to see you again someday! More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Relaxed dining overlooking the harbour. Good menu and helpful staff who gave options for the gluten free vegetarian in our family.

Helpful?
Thank malcolmharfield
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm Gusto is the perfect place for special birthday dinners with spacious surroundings and gentle ambience. We are all well pleased that you appreciated our good menu and helpful staff! We are always eager to assist in selection for guests with specific dietary requirements More 

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shared lunch with family recently, service was friendly, the seafood laksa a very kiwi version of the dish, and the vegetables accompanying the grilled fish appeared to have been frozen, all a little disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Diane H
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Diane Thank you for joining us for Lunch In The Sun! Our 'Kiwi" Seafood Laksa has been a hit with other diners and we are happy to spice it up if requested. We always try to use fresh and local produce if available. We are sorry you were a bit underwhelmed on this occasion. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely brunch in the warm interior while watching the storm and breakers come over the breakwater and the waves breaking just under the deck; we could have been on a cruise ship! Service was attentive and spot on, my husbands chefs bacon & egg burger and my seaside poached eggs with a side of bacon & spinach was... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your very positive review! It was a spectacular week-end down here at Breakwater Bay. The vista here is ever-changing and truly unique. We are happy to hear you had attentive service and found your meals hot, well presented and delicious as they should be. We hope to see you both again very soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$11 - $31
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Pacific Rim
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 Ocean View Parade | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 8133
Description
Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gusto Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gusto Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?