We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

$$ - $$$
New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 3:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great friendly staff. The person who served me was a local so we got chatting about some good places to go visit and things to do in the region. Me and a friend got Large Ribs and it was brought out on a massive plank of wood. Great food. Would dine again!

Helpful?
Thank Jack R
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

Decided to visit here for dinner, menu was good and very good options, they did cater well for our friend who was gluten free. I ordered half rack ribs and got another one free, pulled the bones right out the stack! there was a bit of a brawl going on outside which gave us a bit of a worry but... More 

Helpful?
Thank QuinKiwi
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2016

Took the kids into town to have a look at the cars, bikes etc... very good night road closed off so was super safe for children - had dinner was amazing as always

Helpful?
Thank subwaystratford
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2016

We had the Rumpsteak and Chicken Burger. Both pretty average with the steak not done to order. Service good. Pretty full when we got there on rugby night. Average pub experience.

Helpful?
Thank chicki0626
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016

Early afternoon, not overly hungry but need a drink and a light bite while I catch up on a bit of reading. A nice cold Heiny followed by some beer battered scallops, with a couple of glasses of Chardonnay. Great staff, reasonable prices and good atmosphere... I shall return!

Helpful?
Thank Chaz258
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2016

We were a group of 3 families, the service we received from the female staff from the moment we requested 3 tabs for our table was the worst we have ever had, you would think we had asked for the impossible. The female waitresses made no effort to hide their snide remarks, when we went to pay our accounts they... More 

Helpful?
Thank inky-deb
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Cafe & sports bar, catering to the young, drunk & wanting a fight even the bouncers. Nice food during the day tho.

Helpful?
Thank awesomepaulsome
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Hey AwesomePaul, We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit at Crowded House in the evening. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016

Popped in for a drink last night. There was a fight playing so the bar was very full and we were amazed at how thick the smoke was in the bar. I understand they can't control customers leaving the doors open but we watched multiple members of staff open the door to the smoking area and leave it open for... More 

Helpful?
Thank NakiDebs
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Hearty meals and exceptional service for a pub. Great naki burger and best whitebait fritters this side of mokau. Very busy for Wednesday night quiz but that didn't impact on our dinner experience. In fact it looked like a good quiz.

Helpful?
Thank Markyparknz
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

Went here with a large group of family, easily accommodated (this is a large restaurant). A good range of food on the menu, and nice looking cakes in the cabinet! Staff were friendly and food was delivered in a timely matter.

Helpful?
Thank Kristina H

Travelers who viewed Crowded House Bar & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Crowded House Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?