We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

$$ - $$$
New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Open now
All hours
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 3:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 132: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had the Rumpsteak and Chicken Burger. Both pretty average with the steak not done to order. Service good. Pretty full when we got there on rugby night. Average pub experience.

Thank chicki0626
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Early afternoon, not overly hungry but need a drink and a light bite while I catch up on a bit of reading. A nice cold Heiny followed by some beer battered scallops, with a couple of glasses of Chardonnay. Great staff, reasonable prices and good atmosphere... I shall return!

Thank Chaz258
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of 3 families, the service we received from the female staff from the moment we requested 3 tabs for our table was the worst we have ever had, you would think we had asked for the impossible. The female waitresses made no effort to hide their snide remarks, when we went to pay our accounts they... More 

Thank inky-deb
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cafe & sports bar, catering to the young, drunk & wanting a fight even the bouncers. Nice food during the day tho.

Thank awesomepaulsome
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Hey AwesomePaul, We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit at Crowded House in the evening. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a drink last night. There was a fight playing so the bar was very full and we were amazed at how thick the smoke was in the bar. I understand they can't control customers leaving the doors open but we watched multiple members of staff open the door to the smoking area and leave it open for... More 

Thank NakiDebs
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hearty meals and exceptional service for a pub. Great naki burger and best whitebait fritters this side of mokau. Very busy for Wednesday night quiz but that didn't impact on our dinner experience. In fact it looked like a good quiz.

Thank Markyparknz
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with a large group of family, easily accommodated (this is a large restaurant). A good range of food on the menu, and nice looking cakes in the cabinet! Staff were friendly and food was delivered in a timely matter.

Thank Kristina H
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

We visited early in a Friday evening for dinner and drinks. Service was good and we enjoyed the casual atmosphere. The burger and fettuccine were on point and the portions very generous. We returned Saturday evening for drinks but as the night wore on things got too busy for us over 30s!!

Thank Phillipa B
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2016

Halfway between bar and restaurant this place is ok but lacks character. You'll only ever find rugby on the big screen unless there is none in which case they will substitute any other sport until more rugby comes on. At special events (FIFA World Cup, European Championship) they often open for live international games. The menu is ok if you... More 

Thank Tease-Reddy
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2016

We stopped by with kids and enjoyed a nice lunch with burgers, chips and sandwhiches. Its a nice lively place

Thank Jeeei

Travelers who viewed Crowded House Bar & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region

Been to Crowded House Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: 6467594921

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?