We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Open now
All hours
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 3:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 124: English reviews
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Halfway between bar and restaurant this place is ok but lacks character. You'll only ever find rugby on the big screen unless there is none in which case they will substitute any other sport until more rugby comes on. At special events (FIFA World Cup, European Championship) they often open for live international games. The menu is ok if you... More 

Thank Tease-Reddy
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stopped by with kids and enjoyed a nice lunch with burgers, chips and sandwhiches. Its a nice lively place

Thank Jeeei
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

This is a great bar to go to for watching sports events, with a big screen and several TVs plus tables or booths to sit at. The food is at the high end of quality for pub food and the service is onto it (although can - understandably- be slow when the place is packed for a big sports match).... More 

Thank Kiwi A
Newark, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Another return visit and the customer service was outstanding. Service was prompt and the servers were efficient and had a sense of humor. Our meals were delightful and piping hot.

Thank kiwiman13
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Best place to watch live sport in New Plymouth. Nice big bar. However the service I got from staff was poor and the steak meal I received was not the pricetag. Hopefully a one off as it is a good bar.

Thank Kane R
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Kane, Thanks for you review, it's great that you like the bar and enjoyed watching sport here. I apologize for the the service not being satisfactory and wonder if you can let me know which meal you didn't think matched its price? I'm sure next time you visit you will have a better experience. Regards Emma More 

New Plymouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Dinner for 4. We called in to see if there was a table (it was Mother's day night, and town was busy). There were no tables but we were offered a bar table, which was comfortable enough. The meals as pictures attached were: open beef sandwich, Thai salad, great steak, smoked chicken & bacon fettuccine. A special treat were Sunday... More 

Thank flaashkiwi
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Great restaurant to go for a nice dinner or a drink with mates. Our family comes here quite often for a nice meal or a drink. I would recommend Crowdy to anyone wanting a nice meal in an awesome atmosphere. Staff are very very helpful and are always friendly and kind. Only thing stopping me from rating five stars is... More 

Thank eth_griff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Popped in the a couple of nights before we were leaving to watch the rugby. We had a few drinks and the atmosphere was great. We saw the food coming out as we were sitting there and thought gosh we better come here for our last meal. Which we did, the meal was great and the servings were huge. The... More 

Thank Hayleigh E
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

We celebrated our oldest son's birthday. The restaurant was not busy and all staff standing near the entrance were pleasant and friendly.The table we had asked for, when we booked, was still busy, so our party was re-directed to another table which as not so comfortable. Our meal order was taken, and then a second waitress took our drinks order.The... More 

Thank JohnMarion H
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks for your feedback. We apologise for the not having the table ready for you when you came in especially as you had booked it. In regards to the food not being up to our usual standard as you stated in your review, our team in the kitchen would like to offer you their apologies. I'm sure you... More 

Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a quick visit with the parents while in New Plymouth. The food was good, the service was great! The lad who served us, the name escapes me, was a cheerful guy. The potato sharing thing was nice. Maybe less Salsa on it. Seemed like a massive pile of salsa. My gripes were the music was too loud... More 

Thank SilicoJack
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Hiya, Thanks for your review, love hearing it and sharing with the team. I checked the bathroom and found that the fly spray dispenser was empty, we are sorry for not noticing sooner. All fixed now. We will also discuss ambience with our staff so in the future the music level as at the correct level. Regards Emma More 

Travelers who viewed Crowded House Bar & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region

Been to Crowded House Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    3.5 of 5 stars
New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: 6467594921

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?