We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
6467594921
Website
Today
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 3:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Went here with a large group of family, easily accommodated (this is a large restaurant). A good range of food on the menu, and nice looking cakes in the cabinet! Staff were friendly and food was delivered in a timely matter.

Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited early in a Friday evening for dinner and drinks. Service was good and we enjoyed the casual atmosphere. The burger and fettuccine were on point and the portions very generous. We returned Saturday evening for drinks but as the night wore on things got too busy for us over 30s!!

Helpful?
Thank Phillipa B
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

Halfway between bar and restaurant this place is ok but lacks character. You'll only ever find rugby on the big screen unless there is none in which case they will substitute any other sport until more rugby comes on. At special events (FIFA World Cup, European Championship) they often open for live international games. The menu is ok if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tease-Reddy
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

We stopped by with kids and enjoyed a nice lunch with burgers, chips and sandwhiches. Its a nice lively place

Helpful?
Thank Jeeei
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

This is a great bar to go to for watching sports events, with a big screen and several TVs plus tables or booths to sit at. The food is at the high end of quality for pub food and the service is onto it (although can - understandably- be slow when the place is packed for a big sports match).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwi A
Newark, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Another return visit and the customer service was outstanding. Service was prompt and the servers were efficient and had a sense of humor. Our meals were delightful and piping hot.

Helpful?
Thank kiwiman13
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Best place to watch live sport in New Plymouth. Nice big bar. However the service I got from staff was poor and the steak meal I received was not the pricetag. Hopefully a one off as it is a good bar.

Helpful?
Thank Kane R
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Kane, Thanks for you review, it's great that you like the bar and enjoyed watching sport here. I apologize for the the service not being satisfactory and wonder if you can let me know which meal you didn't think matched its price? I'm sure next time you visit you will have a better experience. Regards Emma More 

New Plymouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Dinner for 4. We called in to see if there was a table (it was Mother's day night, and town was busy). There were no tables but we were offered a bar table, which was comfortable enough. The meals as pictures attached were: open beef sandwich, Thai salad, great steak, smoked chicken & bacon fettuccine. A special treat were Sunday... More 

Helpful?
Thank flaashkiwi
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Great restaurant to go for a nice dinner or a drink with mates. Our family comes here quite often for a nice meal or a drink. I would recommend Crowdy to anyone wanting a nice meal in an awesome atmosphere. Staff are very very helpful and are always friendly and kind. Only thing stopping me from rating five stars is... More 

Helpful?
Thank eth_griff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Popped in the a couple of nights before we were leaving to watch the rugby. We had a few drinks and the atmosphere was great. We saw the food coming out as we were sitting there and thought gosh we better come here for our last meal. Which we did, the meal was great and the servings were huge. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hayleigh E

Travelers who viewed Crowded House Bar & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Crowded House Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
New Zealand, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 3:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: 6467594921

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?