We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

O'Connell St Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 O'Connell Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-377 1884
Today
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 305: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Anniversary dinner. Booked ahead and got a booth away from the main tables. Service was impeccable, and food was good. An Auckland favourite and worth a visit. Give it a try, will not be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank tailspintaz
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello tailspintaz Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're please that you enjoyed your Anniversary dinner with us last year & look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Recently reopened after a fire we managed to get a reservation. Anticipation was high given past dining experiences and the updated restaurant did not disappoint, with food, service and ambiance all delivering on or above expectation. Highly recommend - and try the green apple sorbet if it's still on the menu - superb!

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Christine P Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Bistro last year & that we met your expectations based on your previous visits. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
221 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2016

When informed that every table was booked I was concerned that the intimate ambiance of this compact restaurant would be compromised, but I was delighted with the outcome allowing each table to conduct conversations without distraction. Service was very professional and engaging, and timing of courses was ideal. All food choices were beautifully prepared and presented. We all chose, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Peter A Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us last year & look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for recommending the Bistro to your fellow TripAdvisor readers. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016

Food was OK, but nowhere near the quality we found at many places later in our trip. The price for the "special relation" Te Mata Coleraine wine was especially egregious: they wanted 55NZ for a glass while the bottle goes for 90NZ.

Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Jesse M Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. I'm sorry that you felt our prices were excessive, but I'm not sure where you would have found that the 2008 Te Mata Coleraine, one of the best vintages ever made of one of New Zealand's most iconic red wines was available for $90 per bottle ? If... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

If you miss this venue you are robbing yourself of a wonderful experience. Spoil the one you love. Great food , wine and outstanding service. Call Jack for a reservation.

Helpful?
Thank David G
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello David G Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Bistro & look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro when you are next in Auckland. Kind Regards Amanda More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

Where can you get a great meal at 9:45 pm? When we phoned we were told the kitchen was taking new orders until 10pm. We couldn't get there fast enough and we were not disappointed. Squid and scallop entrees were excellent as was the suggested wine match. Pork 3 ways and Sirloin main were immaculate. We had eaten our fill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncan N
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Duncan N Thanks you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Bistro & look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

We had heard about this place and when passing by, saw that there was a pre-theatre set dinner menu, where you had to leave by 7:15pm. As it was 6:30pm, we thought, let's give it a go. Best decision we made! It was a 3 course meal, we each ordered different items, received good advice on the accompanying wines and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CAK129
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello CAK129 Thank you for your recent review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're pleased that you enjoyed our popular Pre Theatre menu recently & look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Auckland. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016

It was a fantastic event because of the attention to detail, the service and advice and service from the wine waiter

Helpful?
Thank GOM1956
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello GOM1956 Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that your evening was a success & thank you for choosing the Bistro for your dinner. We look forward to being of assistance again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

OSB is open again after a kitchen fire forced them to refurbish. I don't know what they were doing during the closure but I think the food was better and more interesting than before. Great service, extensive wine list, delicious food but the dining room is small so it pays to book

Helpful?
Thank g n
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello g n Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed our new dishes on our menu as well as our service, wine list & ambience, which are reflective of the months of planning during our refurbishment. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2016

We came to celebrate our 21st Wedding Anniversary for lunch and loved it! Although we had a booking for 1.30pm you didn't feel there was a rush to finish your meals, and that they were happy for dinners to have a relaxed long lunch. But perhaps the time between entree and mains could have been a bit shorter. Loved the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Santi59
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Santi59 Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're pleased that you enjoyed your celebratory lunch recently at the Bistro & look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More 

Travelers who viewed O'Connell St Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to O'Connell St Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$16 - $32
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 O'Connell Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-377 1884
Description
Located in Auckland's historic central business district, multi award winning O'Connell Street Bistro is an intimate modern European back street Bistro.

Awarded Best Wine Experience in the Cuisine Good Food Awards 2014 & holder of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2000.

Reservations are recommended

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of O'Connell St Bistro and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Launceston, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from O'Connell St Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?