We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Connell St Bistro

3 O'Connell Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-377 1884
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good17%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“rabbit” (10 reviews)
“steak tartare” (10 reviews)
“creme brulee” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 O'Connell Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 365 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

My husband decided this is where he wanted to take me for a dinner date. He went with our daughter previously and they had a super meal. Well I was not disappointed. The food was beautifully presented accompanied by wine. The staff were attentive and...More

Thank Paik S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great fine dining experience. Small, intimate restaurant with a great menu, executed well and luxurious service to boot fro m the staff. Keep up the good work!

Thank SOVCAT
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been coming here for many years. The secret is Chis Upton the owner- a real restauranteur like in the old times. Haven of privileged lawyers but hey I’m one too!! And I love the place. Signature dish is probably the rabbit pappardelle but...More

Thank philbonz
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello philbonz Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro & for sharing your experiences with your fellow TripAdvisor readers. The Bistro celebrates 21 years in business this year & we have our regular clientele, such as yourself, to thank for supporting us over...More

Reviewed May 4, 2018

At the last night of our 7 weeks trip around NZ we had dinner here with our sister (in law). She picked this restaurant and it turned out to be a very good choice. We had very good dishes here, good advice on the wine...More

Thank Jeroen B
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Jeroen B Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you chose the Bistro for your last evening in New Zealand & look forward to seeing you again when you next visit New Zealand. Kind Regards Amanda

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Lovely intimate feel to the restaurant with very pleasant waitress to provide impeccable service. Great food with a fine wine selection. Excellent.

Thank Neil C
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Neil C Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're pleased that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Bistro & look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda

Reviewed April 27, 2018

We had a fabulous dining experience at the Bistro last night; flawless service, great wine selection, amazing mains perfectly prepared and served and quiet atmosphere to top it all off. The definition of a perfect evening and memories we'll have for many years. A nice...More

Thank brady1968
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello brady1968 Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro & for sharing your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor readers. We're delighted that you enjoyed your special celebration with us recently & look forward to welcoming you back to O'Connell Street Bistro again soon....More

Reviewed April 20, 2018

In today’s buzzy world it’s becoming more difficult to find restaurants where you can actually have a conversation with friends and hear everything which is said. The trend of concrete floors, loud hoards and misplaced sounds in the guise of music seems to be thought...More

Thank PetrosC56
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Hello PetrosC56 Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us recently & recommend the Bistro to your fellow TripAdvisor readers. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda

Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous night out! Booked here as a group of 8. We had the tasting menu, a couple of our guests had allergies/intolerances & they were so accommodating of this without issue. Everything about our evening was fantastic, delicious food, amazing service! Would definitely...More

Thank miafatdog
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Hello Miafatdog Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that your group enjoyed their evening with us & that you recommend the Bistro to your fellow Trip Advisor readers. We look forward to welcoming you back to O'Connell Street Bistro in...More

Reviewed April 13, 2018

We'd been here before several years ago and enjoyed but this was far better than our previous memory. The service was superb, as was the food. They easily catered for gluten free (Coeliac) which was simply not a problem at all and the sommelier suggested...More

Thank Alex G
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Hello AlexG Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We pleased that you enjoyed your recent evening with us & that you recommend the Bistro to your fellow Trip Advisor readers. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Amanda

Reviewed March 28, 2018

This is very convenient to the DeBrett and just what we wanted after our long flight to NZ. This ended up being the best restaurant we went to during our trip. Great food and service.

Thank bb-starr
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hello bb-starr Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Bistro & have recommended our restaurant to your fellow TripAdvisor readers. Kind Regards Amanda

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Auckland Central
Hotel DeBrett
1,337 reviews
.01 miles away
Hotel Grand Windsor
133 reviews
.09 miles away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
2 reviews
.10 miles away
Oaks Auckland Harbour
723 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
DeBretts Kitchen
278 reviews
.02 miles away
Le Chef Vulcan
97 reviews
.04 miles away
MELBA Vulcan
292 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Vulcan Lane
84 reviews
.05 miles away
The Strand Arcade
9 reviews
.13 miles away
Power to the Pedal
165 reviews
.09 miles away
Stray
58 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rodney882
November 9, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CUpton1 | Property representative |
Hello Yes we can cater for both vegetarians & coeliacs. The Bistro is open for lunches Monday to Friday from 11.30am. Kind Regards Amanda
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $31
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 O'Connell Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Auckland Central
  • Phone Number: +64 9-377 1884
  • E-mail
Description
Located in Auckland's historic central business district, multi award winning O'Connell Street Bistro is an intimate modern European back street Bistro. Awarded 1 Hat in the Cuisine Good Food Awards 2017 & holder of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2000. Reservations are recommended.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;