We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Riverhead

$$ - $$$
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cnr Queen & York | Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
+64 9-412 8902
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Wed 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thu - Fri 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 467: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

My Wife & I went to this Establishment Saturday 11 March 2017 with another Couple. We travelled up the river from Auckland via Redboat Ferry arriving at around 6.00 p.m. There were approximately 50 people on the Ferry, all I presumed were dining at The Riverhead. Our neighbour had booked a table for 4 direct with The Riverhead. Upon arrival... More 

Helpful?
Thank LintonLewis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having been many times, we told our UK visitors how good this experience would be. Well renowned for the ribs, they were sold out after one hour. Waited over a hour for starters, then half the party had almost finished their mains before the rest had not been served. Having complained to the lady who said she was manager we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana S
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
710 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Famous Riv’s Ribs. a smokey BBQ pork ribs with chunky chips & green salad was really delicious, and come in a big generous portion, good dinner for us. Outdoor seating is really nice, with Riverhead Wharf at the meandering creek below, nice views. A bit windy and chill in the evening, but the restaurant provides blanket if you need.

Helpful?
Thank santo t
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

There were five of us. We were seated despite turning up without a reservation. The service and food were excellent. Would definitely recommend Riverhead for a great afternoon or evening out.

Helpful?
Thank stephenf545
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, we certainly try to seat people who have ventured out without a booking as it is a wee way from Auckland without a lot of other options nearby. So glad we managed it for you and that you had a wonderful time. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, kind regards Paula More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Setting is brilliant, we arrived as a group, on the Riverhead Ferry, which was a cute way to arrive and the Captain was very informative about that area of Auckland. The service and food at the restaurant was sadly lacking, they should stick to fish & chips and Burgers, because everything else was shocking. The vegetarian meal offered for $25... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

It sounds like you are another member of the Probus Group that came to The Riverhead organised by David Armishaw. I would respectfully suggest that you speak to David about what he organised, remembering that he was trying to do his best to get the best price possible for your group, regards Paula PS: Refer to my response to your... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very disappointed in the set menu. I chose the vegetarian plate because I did not want to eat fish and chips, burger or chicken skewers. The vegetarian plate was delicious but not enough food and overpriced. The plates of slices as dessert were a joke. If you can't cope with a proper menu for groups tell them. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SuziMOwen
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi Suzi, We always enjoy hosting Probus and special interest groups. The issue we have is that the organiser of the groups have the unenviable task of negotiating a reasonable price for the meal and an offer that will suit all the members of the group. Our offer is $25 for a main, a dessert and a coffee. Pretty good... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had pre-booked for a group and when we arrived the table was just perfect and in a lovely position outside as I had requested. Prior to making the booking I had called ahead to ask for menus and to discuss the best options and the service was brilliant. We had a lovely day and the food was great, came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, We are so glad that you enjoyed everything about your visit here with your group. You're obviously not a '5 star' reviewer, even though you say everything was perfect and the service brilliant, but still only 4 stars....? Only kidding, we loved having you here and would love to see you again soon, kindest regards Paula More 

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

While wandering the country roads of north NZ, we passed through a town and saw a sign that pointed to "the oldest tavern in NZ" (or something quite close). As it was late afternoon, we decided to take a look and maybe get a drink. Upon arrival, we saw a large, well maintained, and inviting pub, restaurant, and event facility.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dlfitz
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

This is exactly what we are working so hard to achieve..the team will be so thrilled! Thanks so much for your review, kind regards Paula More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loads of potential here. Clearly popular and has had a recent makeover. Or so the locals tell me. Good menu and good range of drinks on offer. Came in mid-late afternoon on a Saturday. Tables not cleared promptly and some left unwiped. General lack of care by staff. Still, placed a drinks order and beer battered fries. Delivered promptly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank drtgfnz
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi, We'd love to see you back for our fantastic brunch...it's so lovely sitting out on the decks over looking the water on a weekend before the place starts to get too busy. Saturdays afternoons can be extremely busy in the Portage Bar and the team try hard to keep up with the fast moving crowds of bus loads of... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great venue, but under-staffed. We waited 25 minutes for entree then an hour for main course and were never offered dessert! Meals were very inconsistent- 3 people had steaks, but sizes varied as did veges that accompanied it. I had chicken which was nicely cooked but ended up with mashed potatoes which were not on the menu. Not sure about... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHusband
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your comments. I'll look into this and bring up these issue with our Head Chef, kind regards Paula More 

Travelers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

Kumeu, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$7 - $27
Cuisine
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Queen & York | Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-412 8902
Description
Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Riverhead and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Riverhead staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?