We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish Inn Rockpool

54 Howitt St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
+61 7 4771 3474
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible17%
Travelers talk about
“salad” (41 reviews)
“fish tacos” (7 reviews)
Open Now
7:30 AM - 8:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
54 Howitt St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 502 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Just terrible the fish was over cooked the chips bland and the rest of the meal you couldn't eat. Sad but true- the main Resturant was booked for a function so we eat sitting over the rock pool. A friend of mine from the USA...More

1  Thank dinneroflife
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your dinner. If you had raised the fish concerns and other issues not explained my manager would have gladly fixed these issues up for you on Saturday night. Apart from you salting your chips to your liking I...More

Reviewed July 23, 2017

The bistro over looks the Rockpool swimming pool which is an enclosed swimming area with filtered sea water pumped into the pool.The bistro has takeaway fish menus as well as a sit down dinning area.Had a lovely fish meal with wine

Thank colpett
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is very busy and has the best spot there for the rockpool facilities. The staff were nice but obviously very busy to give a lot of attention to details. The food was nice although salad doesn't get dressing which makes it a little...More

Thank Nathaly C
Reviewed July 21, 2017

A Caesar salad and fish and chips took 45 minutes to arrive from ordering. The Caesar salad contained croutons and bacon pieces which were rock hard and tasted stale. A huge mound of lettuce but little else. The menus stated " add salmon" but arrived...More

1  Thank JuliaCarlson
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Julia Thanks for your feedback which my staff discussed with you yesterday when you misread our menu and were expecting a piece of Atlantic salmon instead of our approx 120g of smoked salmon. Our Caesar salad is sold for only $15 and it includes the...More

Reviewed July 19, 2017

After an interesting walk around Kissing Point and Jezzine Barracks we walked down to The Rockpool and had lunch at Fish Inn. Service was quick and polite - food was yummy and the view out to the rockpool was lovely.

Thank 7,534
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

Great location Fish was amazing not greasy nice and light with breadcrumbs. Kids meals were large too Will be back

Thank nick473041
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

We were greeted by a pleasant young lady but she lacked personal hiegene... we only stayed for a drink ... water quality also needs to be improved .. foul tastingMore

1  Thank Helen B
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Helen Thank you for your review....it is disappointing to have to publicly respond to your review when I would have much preferred a quiet comment on the side and the opportunity to quietly advise.....the staff member in question has started treatment to control her seizures...More

Reviewed July 10, 2017

The coffee was awesome. The muffin was fresh and delicious. The service was prompt and pleasant. Fresh cold water delivered almost as soon as I sat down. Menu explained quickly and was not complicated as can be the case.

Thank Wayne S
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We stopped here for lunch. The staff and service were efficient, and nice location overlooking the Rockpool ( closed for maintenance when we were there), but everything was very average. The coffees were very weak, the Caesar salad with calamari we shared had too much...More

Thank Gregory D
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

The service here was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, we didn't have to wait long to be served or have our food served, and the food was delicious. My family and I left with full tummies and smiles all around. I Highly recommend this...More

Thank Kristy R
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tobin Fish Tales
42 reviews
.47 miles away
Tony's Pizza & Gelati
37 reviews
.76 miles away
Shorehouse
53 reviews
.07 miles away
Juliette's Gelateria
338 reviews
.32 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Army Museum North Queensland
81 reviews
.26 miles away
The Strand
1,935 reviews
.93 miles away
Queens Gardens Townsville
109 reviews
.94 miles away
Jezzine Barracks
369 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wozafishinn
August 29, 2017|
Answer
Response from bobsworks | Reviewed this property |
And the question is?
0
Votes
Alex-Joyce S
May 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from wozafishinn | Property representative |
Sorry not yet
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $33
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54 Howitt St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Townsville
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4771 3474
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing