We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Fish Inn Rockpool

$$
Australian, Seafood
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rockpool the Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
+61 7 4771 3474
Website
Today
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 320: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Where do i start, we wanted nice seafood and thought we headed here, we got seated to our table right away they took our drinks order then we waiting around 15min for someone to come and take our order and I had to ask someone to come over. There are all young kids working in there and may I mention... More 

Helpful?
Thank Minaferlz
warren u, Manager at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

G'Day Minaferlz and thanks for your feedback which has been passed to both our kitchen and Service teams. Please accept my apologies if you had a long wait. I did realise we had a very busy night last night and was not a quiet night. Our prawns are kept refrigerated and served on a bed of ice so am not... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we always take visitors here to eat, food is always scrumptious. weekends we take the grandkids to Jezzine walkways and either breakfast or lunch there depending on the time . To sit back and look at the oean view, watch people enjoying the beautiful rockpool makes for a great atmosphere and most enjoyable time.

Helpful?
Thank dontri2016
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here on the weekend for a late breakfast...2nd time in four months. Great food, great prices, amazing service. Everyone was lovely but Jess waited on our table and she was amazing. A genuine smile, happy, nothing was too much trouble and if I were hiring, I'd take her on in a heartbeat. Thanks to all, but Jess, you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Des B
buderim
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We ordered the fish for four people. What great value. It is served with loads of chips and calamari and a piece of fish for four people. We also ordered a side salad each even though it does come with a small salad. The setting is amazing and the staff were welcoming and efficient. One of the best views on... More 

Helpful?
Thank kerrie g
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to have a coffee or a meal while enjoying the water views. Friendly prompt service. Outdoor & indoor seating options available

Helpful?
Thank Ru E
warren u, Manager at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

Thanks for your encouragement and patronage. We do pride ourselves on the ambiance and guest experience and enjoyment is paramount to us. We look forward to your future visits as well. Regards Gary Rekhy Venue Manager More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the service girls were friendly and helpful it didn't make up for the below par food in taste and looks. Chips were oily and soggy and the fish was just about the same. Partner had grilled which saved from the oil but was tasteless. For a town that is coastal you'd hope for better seafood.

Helpful?
1 Thank ladyandthetramp72
warren u, Manager at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and the team at Fish Inn want to apologise if we could not deliver food to your taste. We do have a loyal customer base in Townsville for our fish and chips. We do encourage all our guests to advise us of any issues so that we get an opportunity to fix them on the spot.... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have eaten here twice recently showing Townsville to friends. Location is stunning and beautiful set up to restaurant. Lunch one day was Barramundi Tacos, delicious and light. Breakfast another day was Buckwheat crepes - amazing. Most staff were friendly and helpful but some need a little people skills practice. Enjoyed the experience overall and would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank ced64tvl
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the end of Strand is restaurant called Fish Inn. It's located very nicely next to salt water pools so the views are very nice. Menu contains mostly seafood which is a good thing. Portions were quite nice, tasted fresh and were well made. Pricing was bit high! Service was adequate! Although the food came quickly, other portions were totally... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeeAa R
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous. Great food great service. The veiw was spectacular. Salt and Pepper calamari was delicious and the seafood tower for two was impressive.

Helpful?
Thank Ali R
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff hanging about doing nothing, but service was terrible. Waited 1/2 hour for a simple lunch, but the restaurant was not busy. Glass of wine ... $11. Seriously disgraceful. Go to a cafe or pub. While there, another nearby table had a major confrontation with staff over the quality of the food on a platter for 2. But the view... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
warren u, Manager at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

G'Day Peter and Thanks for your feedback. As far as I am aware we had a very busy lunch and hence there was a bit of a wait as we have regular bookings for large tables and encourage bookings all the time. As for the $11 glass of wine we pride ourselves on our wine selection and we also have... More 

Travelers who viewed Fish Inn Rockpool also viewed

 
North Ward, Townsville
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Fish Inn Rockpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$6 - $32
Cuisine
Australian, Seafood
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Digital Payments
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rockpool the Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Townsville
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4771 3474

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fish Inn Rockpool staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?