We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms

$
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
37 Thornton_s Gap Road | Hervey Range, Townsville, Queensland 4817, Australia
07 4778 0199
Website
Today
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've been reading the complaints from people who are complaining about getting their tea or coffee before their meal, and then when their meal arrives they have drank it. When we order anywhere we always make a point of asking for our tea or coffee after our meal. Looking at the menu I've noticed that it has improved quite a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean1945
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location with so much to do. Plenty of room for a family day out with games and fairly garden to entertain the littlest. Food is very good. Would recommend you book if a large group as it is very popular.

Helpful?
Thank alyyseg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so excited and really looked forward to having a nice meal at the Harvey range tea rooms, then going for a wander to look at the old railway. To my utter disappointment, I had been to quite a few tea houses in my life and this was the worst. For a busy place, they should invest in giving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Desley R, Manager at Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we're always looking to improve, and appreciate any customer suggestions. As the Tea Rooms is a heritage listed building (the oldest slab-style building in North Queensland, built in 1865) the "old house" must keep its original facade. This mean we are unable to alter (paint) the building in any way. We recognise that some days... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely relaxing location with photos and craft shop. Plenty of parking. Friendly service but very, very slow. We waited at least an hour for our lunch. Meals were basic cafe meals, the ham salad was disappointing but the chicken focaccia was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
Desley R, Owner at Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks Lynn, I wonder if you visited on Tuesday just gone? It was an extraordinarily busy day for which we had no answer but to push through the orders as best we could. We have extra staff rostered on this week, but I can honestly say that day was beyond any expectations, which as much as it is good financially... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here for Sunday breakfast a few times. Last Saturday came up for morning tea with friends. Ordered coffee and cake ( good to see they had gluten free). Coffee came but no cakes. Friend went in to order another coffee and asked about our cakes which had still not arrived. Was told that there had been a glitch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jazza05
Desley R, Owner at Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we are aware that our kitchen and drinks operations sometimes get further apart with their deliveries than we would like. This is a good opportunity to reiterate the importance. Regarding the GF options, we make our own banana bread, but do purchase in the friands to have a greater range on hand. We will... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only visit if you want to sit for an hour waiting for tea. Then 30 min for the scones , clearly poorly run. We left very disappointed at the service , the wait , the poorly cleaned tables the lack of any apologies for delay the terse waitress clearly stressed by the constant complaints .....but the scones were very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank GATrain
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walk through the old house and observe the broad timbers from which the walls are made. These timbers show the sweat and muscle that went into building the European structures constructed in the early days of settlement. Wonder what became of the indigenous inhabitants of this place? it must have been verdant watering place for animals and a good distance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
Desley R, Owner at Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks Pamela I am so pleased that you could see and feel what might have been at the tea rooms. We are fortunate that it has a lot of recorded history from it's time as the Eureka Hotel in the 1860's through it's many lives to the tea rooms today. It was built on the busy Georgetown Track, about 2... More 

Townsville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely setting but the service is terrible waited and waited for our order, coffee arrived but no scones another 20 minutes before they arrived after complaining not enough condiments and if there are 4 people 4 plates are required not 2.

Helpful?
Thank littlelouie462
Desley R, Owner at Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your visit, cannot deny that some days our wait time is longer than we would like. Just in case you choose to visit us again: please be aware that you can always ask for more jam and cream, we waste so much that recently we decided to serve smaller portions; coffee and kitchen sometimes operate... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Visiting friends in Townsville who today have brought us to the tea rooms for brunch. We all had the big breakfast which was cooked perfectly! The spicy chai was great too! Other meals including the scones appeared nice also. Looking at the historic pictures reveals just how hard the ancestral workers of old had it making the area accessible to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Desley R, Owner at Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you Greg, we really appreciate your positive feed back. To think that it would have been a 3 day horseback journey if you had of visited us 150 odd years ago! We agree that we have a special place and we are working hard to make it enjoyable for all of our customers. More 

sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Visited with Barbie cousins for lunch Booked the high tea with bubbles and what a treat we had! Wow! never had a three course HT before but when I come back I will again Cheryl baked the sweet treats just for us, we had a private room and felt like we belonged Beautiful setting for a beautiful venue Thank you... More 

Helpful?
Thank SydneyKristina

Travelers who viewed Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$2 - $14
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37 Thornton_s Gap Road | Hervey Range, Townsville, Queensland 4817, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Townsville
  • Phone Number: 07 4778 0199

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hervey's Range Heritage Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?