We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mondo on the Waterfront

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, Asian, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Marlin Pde 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4052 6780
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 11:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat - Sun 7:00 am - 11:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 516: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family attended Mondos 21 birthday celebration. Which is how long we've been going there. It was an extremely well organised event. Kudos to the staff and particularly FB manager Marcus, who always goes that extra mile for his guests. Thank you. ☺

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Richard Thank you very much for attending, it's thanks to locals like you and your family that made Mondo so successful for the past 21 years. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I see you and your family next time at Mondo on the Waterfront. Kind Regards Marcus Kerschbaumer F&B Manager Marcus.kerschbaumer@Hilton.com More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I decided to make a stop here for lunch while we were in town. The thought of a nice cold beer on the waters edge sounded great and that's exactly what it was, great location and view of the inlet. Basically by passed the rest of the restaurant to the front row seats. The food was pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank maymay98
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dera maymay98 Thank you very much for your feedback, Kubeii will be very happy when I share your feedback with her, she is such a hard worker and has a very bubbly personality. I am however very disappointed to read that you dint enjoy the meals, please rest assure that I will pass on your comments about the Burger to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you like the smell of oil - eat here. The food was tasteless, the chairs uncomfortable, the service average. If you arrive one minute past closing time forget it they won't serve you. We tried this place on our first visit and didn't like it & it has not improved. Will not go there again.

Helpful?
Thank vivienneknot
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear vivienneknot Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor, I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy any aspect of your recent visit, your feedback will be shared with the management team for review. Kind Regards Marcus Kerschbaumer F&B Manager Marcus.kerschbaumer@hilton.com More 

Queensland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently revisited Mondo on the Waterfront after a long absence to catch up with friends. The location on the waterfront is superb, especially on a balmy afternoon and is a great location for a drink. However, do not spoil your evening by staying on and eating here - go somewhere else. Sadly, nothing more positive can be said about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeadventurers
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Lifeadventurers Thank you very much for bringing this shortfall of food quality and service to my attentions, I will pass it on the management team for review. Kind Regards Marcus Kerschbaumer More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Once a favourite place to eat. The food this evening was dreadful...overpriced, cold calamari , so-called tiger prawns not grilled as stated....also cold. Even the salad was bad. Wait staff were friendly, venue still a lovely setting, but I won't be eating there again. My friend felt the same. There is a lot of competition close by now....they need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaye F
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Kaye F Thank you very much for reviewing Mondo on the Waterfront via Tripadvisor, I am very disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy the meals at all, I will pass on your comments to our executive chef for review. Thank you for mentioning the friendly wait staff, I will make sure I will let them know. Kind Regards... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Used to love visiting Cairns for the chance to go back to Mondos each time, but sadly it is not as good as it used to be. Food was not up to previous experience and drinks are quite pricey. It's still popular for it's location on the waterfront but no longer on my list of places to visit in Cairns.

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Michael M Thank you very much for your feedback via Tripadvisor, I am disappointed to read your comments and will make sure they are passed on to our head chef for review. Please contact me via email below so I can find out what dishes you have mentioned in your review. Kind Regards Marcus Kerschbaumer F&B Manager Marcus.kerschbaumer@Hilton.com More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in at Mondos for a quick brunch and decided to have a burger which was a little slow to be delivered but was quite tasty . We have been there before and felt their standards had slipped a little but it was still a pleasant experience .

Helpful?
Thank laso629
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Laso629 Thank you for your feedback and thank you for mentioning the tasty burger and I am glad you enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere as well. Could you please email me with some more feedback regarding the standards that have slipped, I would love to get more info so we can rectify the problem. I hope we can welcome you... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Come here sometimes but this time was with some friends for lunch before going to the basketball. I got the angus bacon burger and chips and the patty was cooked perfectly and the chips were great as well. Always a great atmosphere on the waterfront, was hot but a nice breeze under the tree, staff are friendly and accommodating. Definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Chris R Thank you for taking the time to review Mondo on the Waterfront via Tripadvisor, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for mentioning the yummy burger, we use premium Wagyu beef in our beef patties and that shows in the taste and flavour. I hope we can welcome you back... More 

Tasmania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in for lunch twice and once for dinner. The service staff were all very young but very polite and professional. The food was fresh and well prepared and tasty. The location was just lovely. We will return if we are back in Cairns.

Helpful?
1 Thank LindaC11
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear LindaC11 Thank you very much for taking the time to review us via tripadvisor, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the polite and professional service, fresh and tasty food as well as the lovely location. We are all looking forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairns. Marcus Kerschbaumer F&B Manager Marcus.kerschbaumer@hilton.com More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A large group had a Christmas gathering here recently. We ordered separately but all the meals were delivered quickly and together. The meals were very generous and extremely tasty. It was lovely sitting outside and we would go here again.

Helpful?
Thank Kingsofoz
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo on the Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Kingsofoz I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your company Christmas party at Mondo on the Waterfront. We are very popular for events and company gatherings because of the fact that guest can order and pay individually for their meals and drinks and there is no need to order a set menu. I hope we can welcome... More 

Travelers who viewed Mondo on the Waterfront also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Mondo on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$7 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, Asian, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 11:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 11:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marlin Pde 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Cairns Region  >  Cairns
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4052 6780
Description
The award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill at the Hilton Cairns hotel offers a unique alfresco dining experience on the waterfront of Trinity Inlet. With stunning views by day or night, relax beneath the shade of the giant Poinciana tree and indulge in Mondo's extensive menu offering flavors from around the world and signature dishes such as the hanging Mondo barbecue and sizzling fajitas. Enjoy weekly specials and events from Family Night every Tuesday to Live & Local every Friday, showcasing the best of Cairns' local musical talent.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mondo on the Waterfront and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mondo on the Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?