We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Brisbane
Post
Inbox
Search

The Alliance Hotel

Claimed
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 11/16
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

#8 of 341 Bar in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Improve this listing

Menu

Panko crumbed feta stuffed olives
12.0
Peking duck spring rolls
W/ Hoi sin & coriander pesto
15.89
Roast tomato & thyme arancini
Basil pesto
14.89
Salt & pepper calamari
W asian dipping sauce
16.5
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
117
62
12
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
117
62
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suckling pig smoked mash steak finger food gnocchi pork muesli salad potatoes spring hill gastro pub front bar impressive menu excellent pub bubble and squeak market fish wine list
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 200 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

Staying in Spring hill. This was walking distance from our accommodation. We found the food good .we had,market fish, which was Salmon and our 15yr son enjoyed, gnocchi which I had and was nice, and Duck which my husband enjoyed. Atmosphere was lacking,staff were friendly...More

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 154yvonneb
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our business 154yvonneb! We are really happy to hear your family enjoyed their time with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed July 3, 2019

The trivia host Tom is terrific. The general bar staff are rude and incompetent. Staff put through wrong order to kitchen. Stagf demanded that we pay the difference for error. New staff in downstairs bar is rude and belligerent. It is as though we are...More

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Rbene1
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Hi Rbene1, Thank you for taking time to write a review for our business. I am most disappointed that you have written that you have been unhappy for some time, but have not spoken to myself, or Tom from Tomtastic Trivia to rectify any issues...More

Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Attended the Alliance Hotel for a Business Dinner on a Wednesday Night. The hardest part of the night was choosing what to eat with some spectacular selections. After deciding that I wouldn’t order three plates I finally decided on the Cape Grim Sirloin, with Bubble...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank VV2E
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our business VV2E! The Cape Grim Sirloin is one of my favourite dishes as well - here at The Alliance, we are passionate about using fresh, high quality produce to create amazing dining experiences...More

Reviewed June 19, 2019

The Alliance hotel hosted (for the second time) our high school reunion. We took the upstairs room and had a ball. Getting together after xxx years (decades) was a hoot. It was a stand-up event for around 70 people. The staff did a wonderful job....More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Ian W
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hi Ian, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our business! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed June 15, 2019

Went to the Alliance last night for a large reunion. Called before to check on gluten free options as I am a coeliac. Plenty was the response. Arrived at 3 left at 11 not one thing to eat all night. Questions were received with a...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank BBColdboy
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hi BBColdboy, Thank you for reviewing our business, we have also passed on your review to the organisers of the function you attended. We offer a great variety of options for guests with dietary requirements, including gluten intolerances, here at The Alliance Hotel. Supporting dietary...More

Reviewed June 15, 2019

The restaurant is inside the hotel. It is very nice and on a weekend would probably require reservations. My husband ordered the wagyu beef burger. It was huge and delicious. We shared it. I ordered the rice balls appetizer and it was also delicious. The...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank jolenew636
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Thank you for taking time to review our business Jolenew636, it really helps us provide the best dining experience possible for our guests. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Thank you again!

Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

We decided to come here as not far from our accommodation. The waitresses were lovely and our meal enjoyable. The gnocchi I had? I felt was overpriced and could have had a little more flavour , lacking something, mind you I did remove the goat...More

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank 877traceya
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you 877traceya! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed May 7, 2019

Ate in the bar area last night. This is our second visit. We ordered the pulled pork sandwich with slaw and fries. Why would you fry pulled pork? It made it overly greasy and heavy. It tasted good, but again, overly fatty which I did...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Oz_Traveller50
Reviewed May 6, 2019

S27°27.675' E153°1.597' In the centre of Spring Hill, Brisbane QLD, we had dinner in The Alliance Hotel in September 2018, with the restaurant in the back. After schooners of Kosciuszko and reading the menu of this QHA best restaurant, we ordered pan fried duck breast...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank goyourownway
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thanks for your review Goyourownway! We are really passionate about seasonal produce, and working with other small business to provide a quality dining experience for our guests. I am sorry you feel it didn't meet the mark for you back in September last year -...More

Reviewed April 30, 2019

“Proper food”. Well cooked meats, with interesting add ons. Smoked mash, two types of roasted beetroot. Felt full but not heavy Plenty of beer choices and a fair selection of wines by the glass Great friendly service. Helpful, but not overpowering

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Sarahp12345
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you very much for your review Sarahp12345!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 174 nearby hotels
Tribeca Apartments
140 reviews
.03 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Brisbane Central
348 reviews
.11 miles away
Sportsman Hotel
38 reviews
.12 miles away
The Metropolitan Spring Hill
326 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5,773 nearby restaurants
La Cache a Vin
77 reviews
.04 miles away
Jak & Hill
486 reviews
.17 miles away
Indriya Restaurant
46 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 945 nearby attractions
St. John's Anglican Cathedral
223 reviews
.27 miles away
Anzac Square & Memorial Galleries
484 reviews
.35 miles away
Birrunga Gallery & Dining
68 reviews
.32 miles away
The Old Windmill
75 reviews
.31 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kenanddi1908
November 7, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 889nickg |
There is some parking next door 20 metres away near the pub, a flat walk and safe otherwise as before a small incline. Most days are quiet, Friday can get a little loud sometimes. Regards Nick
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing