We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alliance Hotel

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

#5 of 340 Bar in Brisbane
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Updated 10/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
125
62
13
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
125
62
13
7
2
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Fantastic food and service, highly recommended. Beautiful old building, lots of charm and character. Thank you for a great dinner.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 1, 2021

Popped in for a bite while in Brisbane for a couple of nights on business, & dining at a table for one. Greeted & seated by a very professional and cheerful staff member who was helpful and attentive throughout my visit. The pub itself is...a cracker - if the walls could speak as they say. I was keen to try the oysters but none available (delivered on a Wed apparently). So straight to the main course. Flat iron steak, mash & brussel sprouts. Quantity = tick, cooked medium rare = tick, but the sprouts were from Chernobyl. Just a tad overcooked!!! Also, the red wine jus was heavy handed and I suspect had some other sauces aside from a red wine reduction to bulk it out. Tended to overpower the beef, which to be fair was good. So could do better in the kitchen and can't be more than 3 stars for this visit.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Alliance Hotel Team, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2022

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our small business, DickyKnees63! We appreciate constructive feedback, as it helps us know where we can improve, and appreciate that you spoke respectfully to our staff on the night about your brussel sprouts and red wine...More

Reviewed March 15, 2021

Dropped in off the street for dinner on a quiet weekday night. Staff were friendly and the beer was really cold so a great start. The menu selection was small but there were enough options for people of different tastes. Between us, we ordered a...chicken dish and a steak. Good choice on both counts. While my wife did enjoy her chicken i was really pleased with the steak - cooked as requested, just enough sides and a pepper sauce that one just as i like it - all in all - we did enjoy our meal. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone - my only criticism was i thought the cost to be a little high but, maybe, i i do not travel in these circles often enough now.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Alliance Hotel Team, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2021

Hi Peter! Thank you so much for your review of our business, we really appreciate it! In regards to the pricing, we proudly make almost all of menu items in house, from scratch, using high quality produce and goods from other small businesses and local...More

Reviewed December 1, 2020

I met with a colleague and we had a drink in the front bar. It was lovely to sit at the window and watch the world go by as we chatted. We then moved to the restaurant and were promptly seated. Our waitress checked the...table, noted it was wobbly, and fixed it without asking. We were offered still or sparkling water and provided with menus and a wine list. The by the bottle wine list is comprehensive and we chose a Tasmanian Pinot Noir which will lovely. We were also joined by a third colleauge. Two of us ordered the fish of the day, Barramundi, which was served with some delicious sides. The Barramundi was cooked absolutely perfectly - crispy skin and soft, delicious fish. Our colleague ordered a steak and said it was very good - and he polished off the lot so it must have been! We also ordered a side of greens which were cooked beautifully - still had texture, not over done. We finished off with a shared cheese board which was comprised of a nice collection of cheeses, crackers and some dried fruit. This is the second time I have dined here and been really impressed. I will definitely go back again. Highly recommend this venue for a delicious meal.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Alliance Hotel Team, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2022

Hi Loreleijw, Thank you so much for taking the time to do a comprehensive review on our small business. We aim to provide our guests with a "home away from home" with good, old fashioned country hospitality, fresh, high quality seasonal menus and a diversive...More

Reviewed July 10, 2020

Had the best rump steak here, and crisp lovely vegetables at a very reasonable price. The staff are very friendly, and it's a beautiful old well kept building. I rate it highly.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

Thank you so much O629XBleslief! We appreciate you taking the time to review our small business!

Reviewed February 28, 2020 via mobile

Probably Brisbane’s only genuine gastropub in the global sense of the term. A buzzy corner front bar and a welcoming dining room to the back with sensational food. There are always interesting specials, some classics, some modern twists. All this with warm and friendly service...and interesting wines (thanks for the tips and knowledge Jack). A pub of the finest style. No pokies, no TAB, just stellar service, drinks and food. We’ve been a few times and after last night, reaffirming this as a favourite, there will be many more. Love it!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

What a stellar review!! Thank you so much Johnny! We are really proud to be a small business that has the ability to change things up in our award winning restaurant to provide high quality Australian produce to our guests :)

Reviewed February 12, 2020 via mobile

Been here a dozen or so times...always terrific. Good craft beer and wine choices, steaks cooked perfectly, very attentive service. Good for one person dining too.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

Thank you so much Brent!! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed January 27, 2020 via mobile

Perfect for a quick pub lunch catch up with a mate. Really good staff and a tender chicken parmi from the $20 lunch menu. We’ll be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

Thank you so much Steven!!

Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Always wanted to sit in here. Went once ordered a beer. Went next time same guy(who works here from past 4 years he said). He remembered my last order(what i always order xxxx gold) Its amazing. I felt valued and will deifintely will go again....Bar itslef is amazing and beautiful. If never tried this bar never tried a real bar.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thank you for your review of our hotel, 658akashs! Being an independently owned, small business, we really appreciate when our customers take the time to do a review. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed December 18, 2019

Had lunch here today, 20 or so in the group and the place was already busy. We were seated and drinks orders organised and delivered really quickly. Then lunch orders arrived. If we’d have been in a huge hurry we could have been in and...out in not much more than an hour, the service was that good.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thank you for your kind review, of our small business, _dgpea01. We know lunch breaks can be tight, so it is important to us that we can deliver high quality meals, a variety of beverages with old school hospitality with enough time to get back...More

Reviewed November 29, 2019 via mobile

Service here is amazing the Waitress was friendly and attended to our every need promptly without our need to get her attention. Drinks were great and topped up again without us asking, this service was fantastic. I ordered the fish of the day, (being cod)...and the dish was great having its own story of flavours. The basil sauce that was on our entree was impressive. The Chef “David” evening letting us have some of his home made chilli sauce 🥰🥰🥰.. Overall this dinning experience was lovely and look forward to returning. Thank you 🙏More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thank you so much for your support, Jessie!

Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

Staying in Spring hill. This was walking distance from our accommodation. We found the food good .we had,market fish, which was Salmon and our 15yr son enjoyed, gnocchi which I had and was nice, and Duck which my husband enjoyed. Atmosphere was lacking,staff were friendly...ish,but efficient. One thing worth noting was that they had a range of mocktails so my teen Son was thrilled that he didn't have to get the usual fizzy or juice, so well done for that,much appreciated.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our business 154yvonneb! We are really happy to hear your family enjoyed their time with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed July 3, 2019

The trivia host Tom is terrific. The general bar staff are rude and incompetent. Staff put through wrong order to kitchen. Stagf demanded that we pay the difference for error. New staff in downstairs bar is rude and belligerent. It is as though we are...there for staff convenience and not the other way around. We have been persisting for months but now it’s past ridiculous. Sorry Tom.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Hi Rbene1, Thank you for taking time to write a review for our business. I am most disappointed that you have written that you have been unhappy for some time, but have not spoken to myself, or Tom from Tomtastic Trivia to rectify any issues...More

Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Attended the Alliance Hotel for a Business Dinner on a Wednesday Night. The hardest part of the night was choosing what to eat with some spectacular selections. After deciding that I wouldn’t order three plates I finally decided on the Cape Grim Sirloin, with Bubble...and Squeak and what I can only describe as the most amazing Habenero Jam. Let’s just say there was nothing left on my plate and all I can say to the head chef, David, I want the recipe or a large jar of your jam. Taking my wife back there next weekend, to maybe choose a different plate or maybe just have the same! Thanks Alliance Hotel!More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our business VV2E! The Cape Grim Sirloin is one of my favourite dishes as well - here at The Alliance, we are passionate about using fresh, high quality produce to create amazing dining experiences...More

Reviewed June 19, 2019

The Alliance hotel hosted (for the second time) our high school reunion. We took the upstairs room and had a ball. Getting together after xxx years (decades) was a hoot. It was a stand-up event for around 70 people. The staff did a wonderful job....They were friendly and attentive over the course of the afternoon, extending into the evening. Particularly, they matched the food to the format of the event and to our needs.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thealliancehotel, Owner at The Alliance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hi Ian, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our business! Hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tribeca Apartments
141 reviews
.03 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Brisbane Central, an IHG Hotel
427 reviews
.11 miles away
Sportsman Hotel
40 reviews
.12 miles away
The Metropolitan Spring Hill
342 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Cache a Vin
123 reviews
.04 miles away
Holy Moly Espresso
39 reviews
.02 miles away
Two Donkeys
23 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. John's Anglican Cathedral
234 reviews
.27 miles away
Anzac Square & Memorial Galleries
509 reviews
.35 miles away
Birrunga Gallery & Dining
71 reviews
.31 miles away
The Old Windmill
82 reviews
.31 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kenanddi1908
November 7, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 889nickg |
There is some parking next door 20 metres away near the pub, a flat walk and safe otherwise as before a small incline. Most days are quiet, Friday can get a little loud sometimes. Regards Nick
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ALLIANCE HOTEL, Brisbane - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Alliance Hotel

Yes, The Alliance Hotel is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Alliance Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5