We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
38 Morrow St | NSW, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
+61 2 6921 4241
Website
Today
8:45 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Thu - Sat 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Sat - Sun 8:45 am - 3:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The ambience and grandeur of this lovely building is reason enough to visit for food or drinks. We only stopped for coffees but loved the vibe of the place. One coffee was less than par but when it was pointed out to our waiter and a top up requested it was cheerfully replaced by a fresh cup of a larger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bartonbears
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was visiting Wagga Wagga This building is nice and has character The menu was very limited and the wine by the glass had no choice only 1 for white or red The food was ok, but not special Hard to choose from limited selection Service was good But wouldn't rush ba k The others in our party were disappointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bmwmusic
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Mates Gully with family to finish our trip in Wagga. Our coffees took 25mins to be made - and we received the wrong order. Nobody notified us of the specials - nor did they know when we asked. After placing our order we waited half an hour for our meals to come out - strange considering there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
Lockhart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile

We called in hoping to have breakfast before work and even though my partner and myself were one of two groups of customers, we waited over 30 mins for anyone to take our order. Not even a coffee! We had to leave as ran out of time before work. Don't go if you value good service or are time poor.

Helpful?
Thank Some18liss
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2017

Three breakfasts all different, all super scrummy. The lamb sausages, complete with roasted kipfler potatoes was a man sized meal and accordingly was very much appreciated by the man in our group. The eggs "benny" were cooked to perfection and the ham super flavoursome. My omelette was resplendent with vine tomatoes so luscious and red, and the spinach still with... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsDelia
Marcia M, Owner at Mates Gully, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. More 

Buddina, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2017

Located in a magnificently renovated older building the decor and decoration in this place is worth the visit alone. But the food and service were also very impressive. The food grown locally was extremely fresh. This place is special and well and truely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank NauticalDreamer3010
Marcia M, Owner at Mates Gully, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, what great feedback. More 

Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2017

Having spent a week In Wagga Wagga and trying to find a Restaurant worth a visit, we tried Mates Gully and was one of the best places to eat at. We requested that our fish be grilled and with no sauce and we were told we can do anything. This immediately set our minds at ease that the chef was... More 

Helpful?
Thank nancyPerth
Marcia M, Owner at Mates Gully, responded to this review

Thank you for your really great review, we are so delighted that you came to our place. More 

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

Visited for breakfast with my two brothers. I had an omelette which was nice, one had a lamb sausage- again it was nice. Other brother had two poached eggs on "toast" and I nearly laughed out loud - he was served up the measly crust end from a loaf of bread.. the plate was near empty. Our bread was nowhere... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
Marcia M, Owner at Mates Gully, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you were disappointed, almost everything in our restaurant is made in our kitchen, the eggs come from our farm as do the vegetables, the relishes are made by us, our sausages are made from our sheep by our butcher. The omelette that you ate was a dish that was totally from us even the bread, which is... More 

Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2017

I had a fabulous experience with Mates Gully organizing a family function. The room was great, staff were very friendly and provided great service. Most importantly , the food was delicious and plentiful. A very enjoyable food experience. Highly recommend Mates Gully for functions.

Helpful?
Thank wendy562017
Marcia M, Owner at Mates Gully, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Wendy, we really appreciate your wonderful response to our restaurant. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Exceptionally fresh produce and a beautiful old restaurant with eclectic artwork opposite a pretty park. Lightest, fluffiest omelette, fresh lamb 's fry, succulent, crispy salmon and pumpkin and sun-dried tomato tart with the freshest of salads. When I return to Wagga Wagga I would probably book accommodation there as well.

Helpful?
Thank peakes22
Marcia M, Owner at Mates Gully, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it is a symphony to our ears, thank you again. More 

Travelers who viewed Mates Gully also viewed

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 

Been to Mates Gully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $25
Cuisine
Australian, Cafe, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
8:45 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
8:45 am - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 38 Morrow St | NSW, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Wagga Wagga
  • Phone Number: +61 2 6921 4241
Description
Mates Gully Restaurant, Store, Boutique Accommodation and Farm are the combination of our agricultural background, with our food and service experience

We are literally bringing the food ‘from the paddock to you’

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mates Gully staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?