We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Opera

) #79 of 4,736 Restaurants in Sydney $$ - $$$ Seafood, , Fusion
117 Macquarie St | Intercontinental Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9240 1396
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good40%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“oysters” (92 reviews)
“salads” (58 reviews)
“crab” (39 reviews)
Open Now
5:30 pm - 10:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
117 Macquarie St | Intercontinental Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We love everything about the buffet lunch at Cafe Opera. Food is fresh, plentiful and fantastic quality. This buffet is renowned for its cold seafood but there are plenty of other options for non-seafood eaters. Salads are lovely and desserts are so delicious. The bottomless...More

1  Thank thehungrymum
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went to have the buffet breakfast as it has been rated quite highly. The high light for me would have been the scrambled eggs. Not sure how they do them but they were the creamiest, lightest, most amazing scrambled eggs I think I have had....More

Thank Denny L
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family so loves this gorgeous cafe. Wonderful delicious food with such yummy choices! We so recommend this awesome venue.

1  Thank Kylie S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Double dining delight deal month of July. Came here for lunch today, 14.7.2017. Lacked a variety of seafood, but good oysters, and mussels. Prawns just not right, almost looked frozen and bland. The set up of the buffet area is very tight with limited free...More

Thank Catherine D
Reviewed 1 week ago

They currently have a deal going on so it was $120 for two people for a Seafood lunch including sparkling wine. The restaurant is very pretty and the service is great. Plates were taken away promptly and water was constantly refilled. The downside was that...More

Thank nomnom90
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You wouldn't come for the food, but seeing families part with hundreds of dollars for the privilege of standing on line for 20 minutes for their share of just-thawed seafood isn't bad for entertainment value. I would have rated a rare zero but the staff...More

1  Thank pmaraun
Reviewed June 16, 2017

I had the most appalling dining experience at Café Opera last night (Thu 15 June 2017) pre Vivid dinner with my family. I'm a Pescatarian (seafood eater) and have enjoyed Café Opera every time I had overseas visitors. Last night they only offered pan-fried (not...More

10  Thank Red S
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

Our family group of 13 (2 children under 5) celebrated my parents 50th wedding anniversary at Cafe Opera at the Intercontinental on a Saturday night. Due to our large group size I submitted an online booking and received a prompt reply and confirmed details within...More

2  Thank k l
Reviewed June 11, 2017

I went Cafe Opera with my fiance for her birthday yesterday (10/6 at around 5:30pm). I talked with manager named Vicky Ahn, Whether she can prepare a little birthday cake for my fiance, then manager was saying that you have to talk to with your...More

5  Thank mueh1379
Reviewed June 5, 2017

A Latte at the Intercontinental costs $7 So you would expect their buffet lunch to be a gastronomic indulgence, out stripping the best Michelin experiences possible. Unfortunately it was nothing more than average, nothing more than some decent seafood , dry roasts and a desert...More

1  Thank Parges
Nearby
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with
energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise
buildings and after-work drink places, high-end
shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners
frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a
dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit
the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle,
reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Spice Room
704 reviews
.09 miles away
Cafe Sydney
3,116 reviews
.09 miles away
The Meat & Wine Co Circular Quay
624 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sydney Ferries
9,455 reviews
.15 miles away
Manly Ferry
6,833 reviews
.16 miles away
Justice & Police Museum
192 reviews
.06 miles away
Customs House
149 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pixie001Cairns
June 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from SydneyHolidayMakers | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they do a wonderful job with the gluten free options!
0
Votes
Red S
Wow I had very similar experience with the lady-it must be the same lady with the same attitude. All the other wait staff were lovely. I don't know whether they will post my review about my experience at Café Opera last night Thu 15 June 2017 She is just plain rude, She should not be in the service industry. Below is my review I just wrote-------------------------------------------------- I had the most appalling dining experience at Café Opera last night (Thu 15 June 2017) pre Vivid dinner with my family. I'm a Pescatarian (seafood eater) and have enjoyed Café Opera every time I had overseas visitors. Last night they only offered pan-fried (not a grilled whole fish type) barramundi and some calamari that were not refilled. So I waited then finally asked the young chef behind the roast station to see if it will ever come. The spot that had Calamari was replaced with plain Rotis telling me they ran out of squid! it was 6 30 pm and the place was half empty. I said how could you run out? This is called Seafood Buffet but you have only one hot fish dish other than cold seafood-the oysters were piled on top of all the shells randomly not so appetizing.., Finally when my children were having dessert already, a lady in suit came and argued in front of my whole family, " what are you talking about" when I asked her that they should offer more hot seafood dishes when they had more than a few red meat varieties and that the only other seafood dish- calamari dish disappeared. She was so rude and I was about to be rude back to her when my husband gave me a signal to leave. I have never left reviews in my life and this was so infuriating how she treated me that I decided to leave this episode as many websites as possible so that less people like myself get disappointed and pay for non sense service. She did offer to bring me a plate of calamari (when they already told me they ran out) just before we were leaving. Amazing service. I should have read all the recent negative reviews about Café Opera. I wonder if there was any way for the senior management to know about this type of incident..
June 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Khparhami | Reviewed this property |
That's true.
0
Votes
theantonma
September 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Andras B | Property representative |
Dear theantonma, The dress code is smart casual. Best regards, Andras Borocz Outlets Manager
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$24 - $70
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 117 Macquarie St | Intercontinental Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney>  > Central Business District
  • Neighborhood: Central Business District
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9240 1396
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at InterContinental Sydney
Description
Our highly skilled Chefs source the finest ingredients coming from local Sydney and Australian suppliers, to create what is undoubtedly the definitive buffet within Sydney.

Allow yourself the opportunity to experience elements stemming from the land and the sea. From freshly delivered seafood from the fishmonger at the world-renowned Sydney Fish Market to incredible meat sourced daily from the Southern Highlands, the lunch and dinner buffet within Cafe Opera is proud to connect you with the treasures of Australia.

The team at Cafe Opera creates an inspired, interactive buffet including seasonal seafood, live cooking stations showcasing the roast of the day, a host of mains, garden-fresh salads as well as, and most importantly, a theatrical dessert display.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing