We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shingle inn

$$ - $$$Cafe,
Benjamin Way, Canberra 2617, Australia
+61 2 6251 3949
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent3%
  • Very good7%
  • Average10%
  • Poor28%
  • Terrible52%
Nov 13, 2016
“Expensive”
Nov 13, 2016
“Average - avoid”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Benjamin Way, Canberra 2617, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ordered eggs benny and the ham was that weird processed kind, eggs were poached one of those metal poachers so they come out as little discs.

Thank Leia H
Reviewed April 30, 2017

This is possibly the worst breakfast we've ever had. The staff struggled to speak or understand English or their own menu (not racism, just the truth). We were the 1st sit down customers of the day & our order still took over 1/2 hour. When...More

Thank martyk12017
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

This is by far the worst breakfast I have ever experienced. The customer was more than below average. After waiting over an hour some of meals including a smoothie and muesli that did not need to be cooked did not even come out.

1  Thank beerz88
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Just had a horrible lunch there before going to the movies The chicken burger was cold !!! The waiter came to me with a food temperature probe and told me I was wrong seriously if they had not given me my $ back it would...More

2  Thank Milliemoo19
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

45 mins from order to food arriving. Burgers were terrible, beef was microwaved, bread was stale. Smoothie tasted like what I assume is served on "I'm a celebrity, get me out of here". And I wish I read the other reviews before coming here.More

2  Thank Peter H
ShingleInn, Customer Service at Shingle inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Hi Peter, I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't have a good experience at our Belconnen cafe. if you could please get in touch with us via email (info@shingleinn.com) and include your phone number we'll organise for one of our team to get in touch...More

Reviewed December 29, 2016

We’ve dined here on numerous occasions. Today’s lunchtime experience was terrible, from the numerous tables with plates and cups left from previous diners to the oily salad and terrible service. During this busy Christmas holiday time, you would expect the café would have adequate staff....More

2  Thank AussieSK
ShingleInn, Customer Service at Shingle inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Hi Aussie SK, and thanks for getting in touch. Please accept our apologies about the delay getting back to you - unfortunately we're unable to closely monitor TripAdvisor for our 50+ stores across Australia so we're been a little delayed getting in touch with customers...More

Reviewed December 28, 2016

6 of us had lunch there today. The place was not busy but it was very dirty with dirty dishes everywhere. We had to ask to have a table cleared. We then ordered and the drinks and food were just dumped on the table after...More

Thank Moruya_13
ShingleInn, Customer Service at Shingle inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Hi Moruya, and thanks for getting in touch. Please accept our apologies about the delay getting back to you - unfortunately we're unable to closely monitor TripAdvisor for our 50+ stores across Australia so we've been a little delayed getting in touch with customers via...More

Reviewed December 10, 2016

This was terrible. We had too ask for the table to be wiped done - covered in scrambled egg and our order was forgotten. Drinks arrived very quickly but our food order was forgotten and the four staff members were just standing around. After 35...More

Thank junie816
Reviewed November 13, 2016

My wife and I ordered two black coffees, but the cup was so small that we could not feel the taste, and it was very expensive. We were really disapointed.

Thank Cid C
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

We are usually huge supporters of the shingle inn previously from Brisbane we have had nothing but good experiences- today however will be the last time we go to any shingle inn. Ten usually display cabinet was empty and the options were reduced to individual...More

Thank MaiKat
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Punjabi Junction Belconnen
28 reviews
.03 miles away
Raw Sugar 2 Cafe
5 reviews
.27 miles away
Malaysian Chapter
245 reviews
.28 miles away
Chatterbox Espresso Bar
127 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Attractions
John Knight Memorial Park
21 reviews
.66 miles away
Westfield Belconnen
23 reviews
.00 miles away
Sky Zone Belconnen
33 reviews
.31 miles away
Big Splash Waterpark
51 reviews
.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shingle inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Benjamin Way, Canberra 2617, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Australian Capital Territory  >  Canberra
  • Phone Number: +61 2 6251 3949
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing