We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveler rating
491
223
82
80
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
491
223
82
80
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips rag pudding beef ice cream salad pianist rivington pensioners barm gravy
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 29, 2020 via mobile

After a lovely snowy walk up Matchmoor Lane and over Smithills Moor the four of us called at Curleys for a Breakfast barm and a coffee each. Bit of a wait but everything was cooked fresh, proper crispy bacon and sausage browned nicely. Ate it...in the cars. A good end to a good walk in these times when our pubs & restaurants closed. Look forward to the day we can sit back in front of that fire. Keep going it will be beaten!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Curleys D, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2021

Dear customer, thank you so much for your lovely feedback, regards, The Curleys Team

Reviewed December 29, 2020 via mobile

This is a nice looking place which gives high expectations. But sadly disappointing. I can’t comment on sitting inside the restaurant or service etc because we had takeaway fish, chips and peas. I really wish we hadn’t bothered though as they were amongst the worst...we’ve ever experienced and we’ve tried quite a few from many places. The chips were completely tasteless, (how is this even possible?) the fish undercooked, bland and watery with terrible/tasteless soggy batter. The most tasty thing was the peas and they were nothing special! We ended up leaving our meals. Conclusion, terrible. Much better and cheaper are available from many others. If looking for takeaway fish & chips do yourself a favour, go somewhere else.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Curleys D, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2021

Dear Customer, we are really sorry you haven't enjoyed your meal with us, we usually have great feedback on our fish and chips so for you not to enjoy so much of the meal is surprising and also disappointing. We would love if you came...More

Reviewed December 19, 2020 via mobile

After a decent walk we were desperate for a drink and something to eat, so walking past the catering van parked just off the main road we opted for Curleys (where I have eaten once before). There were a few notices around saying don’t sit...on the walls to eat. OK these are odd times and the COVID rules seem to change daily but buying food from what is clearly a take away but not being able to sit on a stone wall outside on a fairly chilly day seemed a bit non sensical and draconian...but hey ho. We went inside to order using the laughable one way system that literally nobody else but us, stuck to. The worst culprits were two workmen (HMT. Electricians?) who wandered about, brushing past in close proximity to us and other people waiting - and not wearing masks - and going out through the In door, grabbing the door handle and not using hand sanitiser once whilst we were in there. I really hope those guys behaved differently if they were working in an area where food was being prepped or cooked. Surely that the time we were in there couldn’t have been long I hear you say...well, here comes the next point. We couldn’t believe how long it took for the order to be fulfilled. If they’d have popped out to actually catch the fish I wouldn’t have been surprised. Would you like salt and vinegar? Yes please. If there was any on I’d be surprised. We weren’t going to walk back on to the site to get some (don’t forget we couldn’t sit on a wall!). Cutting to the chase four people weren’t impressed with the fish - and the chips were too hard. Rubbish. Won’t be back.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Curleys D, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2021

Dear customer Unfortunately, we have been advised that take away is governed by strict rules of leaving the whole premises entirely, this was a physical visit by EHO who said people MUST leave the premises completely. As for the workmen not wearing masks, this issue...More

Reviewed October 8, 2020

Had a wonderful spontaneous evening out after a dog walk here today. We've been once last year and remembered the food was good but how could we have forgotten the super staff? Felt well and truly welcome and looked after even though I'm pretty sure...we stayed past their home time (sorry!). First time we've been anywhere since the virus first raised it's ugly head and yes we stayed outside with the dog into the darkness, but it felt safe and comfortable. Our mains were magnificent, our puddings were divine and the service we were given was exceptional. Many thanks to all involved in making our evening!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
WoodyC23, Owner at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2020

Dear customer, thank you very for your lovely feedback. Myself and my colleague had the privilege of serving you that evening. You were completely lovely and we really enjoyed serving you albeit in the dark. We will be looking forward to seeing you soon when...More

Reviewed September 7, 2020 via mobile

We visited on Monday morning so obviously a quiet period. First observations they do follow Covid procedures, plenty of sanitisers and signs for distancing. We all ordered breakfasts which were really tasty (only small thing I would suggest is cutting the fat off the bacon...& it being more well done). The toast was very tasty. Staff pleasant & surroundings really nice. All in all would recommend.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
curleysd, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear customer, thank you for your lovely feedback, although we do not cut the fat off bacon we certainly can do your bacon well done if you ask when ordering. We really hope to see you again soon now the restrictions have been listed, regards...More

Reviewed August 19, 2020

Superb place to stop off and refresh yourself if you are cycling in and around the west Pennine moors. This is a great restaurant, superb service and loads of space outside with lovely views. So good we stayed for a second drink!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
curleysd, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear customer, thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again now the restrictions are lifted, regards, The Curleys Team

Reviewed August 18, 2020 via mobile

Very slow to take order. Waiting a long time for plates to be cleared. Ordered scone with jam and cream, they brought it out without cream and told us they didn't have clotted cream, this should have been mentioned before ordering. Asked for ice cream...for the kids, were told to go to ice cream parlour and order ourselves to bring in, which is fine, went in, no staff came for 5 minutes so gave up and came back to restaurant. Still waiting for plates to be cleared whilst asking for bill. Left to pay at till, table still full. Not the service expected for a first visit.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
curleysd, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear customer, judging by the date of the review you visited during the eat out to help out. At that stage of returning from lockdown, we had kept our staffing to a minimum as we were unsure how trade would be and then when the...More

Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Nice breakfast" good ambience' lovely fresh coffee..will visit again soon..also friendly helpfull staff.👍

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
curleysd, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear customer thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We hope to see you again soon now the restrictions have been lifted. Regards, The Curleys Team

Reviewed August 14, 2020

Was very disappointed that when ordering a 1 scoop waffle cone on my visit Thursday 13th August the scoop was so small it didn’t come over the cone so I had to bite into the cone before I could have any ice cream. Appreciate I...only paid for one scoop and that’s the deal but the scoop should be big enough for the cone!!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
curleysd, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear customer, we are sorry you were disappointed with the scoop size, they should be more or less the same size in theory but it's possible that scoops can be a little bigger depending on the server but not to the point where you should...More

Reviewed August 13, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic place to eat, drink and chill out. One way system. Social distancing. Hygienic. Sanitizers everywhere. Service friendly and attentive. Food delicious. Must visit if you canMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
curleysd, Marketing at Curley's Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear customer thank you for your lovely review, all the things you mention are exactly what we are trying to achieve and provide so this gives a confidence booster that it is being noticed and that we are doing the right things so thank you,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
380 reviews
.98 miles away
Bolton Whites Hotel
1,688 reviews
1.47 miles away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
1,127 reviews
1.61 miles away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
856 reviews
2.28 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Il Toro
544 reviews
.88 miles away
Blundell Arms
1,465 reviews
.57 miles away
Empire Bar & Restaurant
146 reviews
.89 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Middlebrook Retail & Leisure Park
34 reviews
1.34 miles away
Rivington Pike
263 reviews
1.70 miles away
Horwich Heritage Centre
14 reviews
1.07 miles away
University of Bolton Stadium
185 reviews
1.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JEAN H
July 13, 2019|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Curleys D | Property representative |
We serve breakfast every day until 2pm! Hope this helps! :-)
0
Votes
lancashirelass03
December 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Curleys D | Property representative |
Hi, we do have a wine list that is available if you ask as you come into the restaurant.
1
Vote
Philip G
December 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Curleys D | Property representative |
Hi, he plays everyday apart from Monday & Wednesday's. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Curley's Dining Rooms

  • Curley's Dining Rooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4