We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jolly Crofters

$$ - $$$, British,
Chorley Old Road, Horwich, Bolton BL6 6RE, England
+44 1204 696885
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible18%
Travelers talk about
“cod and chips” (4 reviews)
“pub food” (3 reviews)
“at lunchtime” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chorley Old Road, Horwich, Bolton BL6 6RE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What on earth has happened to what used to be a nice local pub / place to eat. The staff are all dejected and the place needs a good clean. The new manager is rude and to be frank scruffy. If he can't take care...More

Thank david h
David T, General Manager at Jolly Crofters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi David Thanks for taking the time to give your feed back. To the best of my knowledge I have never been rude to anyone in the short time I have been hear. The team are fine as far as I know and I do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We used to love the food at this pub as it's our local or should I say was. we will not be going again, Food prices gone up quite a bit and menu scaled down and food was shocking although our daughter did enjoy her...More

Thank Sonya D
David T, General Manager at Jolly Crofters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

First of all Sonya May I thank you for giving your feed back.. We are very disappointed to hear you never had the experience we always try to deliver. We have had a menu change as it has been almost a year since the last...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

They made a bad decision to change the menus not as much choice as what their used to be. Staff still same and very friendlyMore

Thank poolll
David T, General Manager at Jolly Crofters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi PoolII Thanks for your feed back. We will add more choice on our specials boards as time moves on. We had a ranch of specials this week that will change and hopefully give you the choice that you enjoyed before Once again thanks on...More

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Took a chance and visited the jolly crofters for breakfast, I am so glad I did, was met with a very warm welcome, the manager who is new could not have been more helpful, the waitress was also very helpful. The breakfast arrived in no...More

Thank chris h
David T, General Manager at Jolly Crofters, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi Chris Thanks ever so much for taking a chance on The Jolly Crofters and the team. We will always do our very best to deliver a great experience for you and all our guests every time you visit. . Thanks again The new General...More

Reviewed April 13, 2018

Food excellent bar staff brilliant made to feel welcome amazing place to go menu was very varied and prices were excellent

Thank dotbates7
David T, General Manager at Jolly Crofters, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Hi guys. Can I start by thanking you for your feed back. Myself and the team hope we can carry on giving youy and all our guests the same experience. Many thanks the Jolly Crofters team.

A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

I came in today after a walk with my pooches and had a really lovely time. Staff were lovely, food was really tasty and amazing value! Two pints, two soft drinks and two burgers for £26! We will definitely be coming again and will probably...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

I ordered the peri chicken sizzler plate with boiled rice mm yummy my friend had mushroom stroganoff which was also very nice, not been disappointed with a meal yet from here.

1  Thank 124maureen
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

Great service and always with a smile, ideal for a pub lunch. Food is always made to a high standard and tastes great like to call in every few weeks for dinner 😊🍕🍔

2  Thank poolll
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

Have never had a bad meal but on this occasion what can I say. Asked for a well done steak came pink. My son who is a chef quietly informed the young lady behind the bar. Another member of staff came over and i explained...More

2  Thank diesel37
Reviewed January 18, 2018

Was in the area so this was suggested as the best place to go. meal was fine however the poppadom was not provided and as no came to ask if the meal was ok i could not make my point about what was the mango...More

Thank QuattroDave
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Horwich Hotels
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
298 reviews
.92 miles away
Bolton Whites Hotel
1,373 reviews
1.44 miles away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
883 reviews
1.57 miles away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
674 reviews
2.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bee Hive, Greene King Pub & Carvery
51 reviews
.93 miles away
Il Toro
429 reviews
.95 miles away
Curley's Dining Rooms
716 reviews
.10 miles away
Blundell Arms
1,122 reviews
.48 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Brewery Bar
36 reviews
1.46 miles away
Rivington Pike
183 reviews
1.79 miles away
Macron Stadium
62 reviews
1.38 miles away
Air Vault Trampoline Park
85 reviews
2.69 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John F
December 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
We do try and keep Dogs in the bar area, and it does state on the entrance that we are a dog friendly pub, unfortunately this will not be changing anytime soon, Kind Regards David Thomas GM
1
Vote
John F
March 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rooster_1966 | Reviewed this property |
I too think John F is confused. I will go again soon and see if what you say is true, but I am doubtful. I wonder if John F has an ulterior motive, maybe supports a local pub/restaurant that is losing business to the Jolly... More
3
Votes
John F
March 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from John F | Reviewed this property |
20 plus years ago it was a great pub. I don't think the place has been cleaned since then. We should complain away, hopefully the place will be closed down!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chorley Old Road, Horwich, Bolton BL6 6RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton  >  Horwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 696885
  • E-mail
Description
Excellent value pub in Bolton We offer everything you'd expect from a traditional British pub, from homemade dishes to quality Cask Ale and wines from around the world. We're the ideal pub to while away the hours in front of a fire with your friends and family, and enjoy classic pub events; from quizzes to live sport.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;