We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chilworth Arms

Chilworth Road, Chilworth SO16 7JZ, England
+44 23 8076 6247
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good32%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“linguine” (8 reviews)
“crab” (12 reviews)
“chorizo” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chilworth Road, Chilworth SO16 7JZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had some absolutely outstanding meals here. Really interesting menu which lives up to expectation, cosy atmosphere, outstanding service and delicious wine.

Thank Bethany B
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great feedback and review we look forward to seeing you very soon James and the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were impressed by the venue and the greeting from staff. We ordered 2 x G&T which were fine, then one spit roasted chicken and one buttermilk southern fried chicken. We asked if both came with slaad and were told that they did. This was...More

Thank John G
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback we are very sorry you felt the meals and service were below par. We hope you will come back and try us again in the future. James and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the misfortune of ordering from the festive menu tonight. The service was below par, as was the food. After a long wait our drinks finally arrived, followed shortly by our desserts!!?? So the desserts went back and we waited in anticipation for our starters...More

Thank Peter S
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback we are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience with us but do hope you will try us again in the future James and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3 course set meal for works Christmas lunch for 14 (well late lunch as 2nd sitting at 3pm). Food was lovely and staff were friendly and happy to bring us a few extras (bread & gravy). Only very minor issue was they were a little...More

Thank Alison B
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the nice review we look forward to seeing you very soon James and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dropped in here for a light lunch when visiting the area. It was really busy and there was a real buzz around the place. It all looked very nice and the staff very efficient and helpful. The food though was awful. We had a...More

Thank DoozeUK
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback regarding your meal with us we are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit but do hope to see you again at some point. James and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friend booked in our Christmas meal for the Festive menu. On arrival they gave us the regular menu we said we had booked for festive and eventually did get this. However, I think maybe we should have stuck with the Sunday Menu. Starters and desserts...More

1  Thank Sophie H
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review we are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience with us but do hope you will try us again in the future James and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have today had the misfortune to have the very worst food and service of my entire life at the Chilworth Arms, Southampton. This used to be such a fabulous place ro eat, the place to be seen in and a lovely local pub and...More

1  Thank Sandra J
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review We are so sorry you had a bad experience and we hope you will be back in the future so we can amend your poor experience James and the team

Reviewed December 13, 2017 via mobile

What can I say food was outstanding. The service on the other hand was awful. No interaction at all no please thank you no check backs from our server. The front of house looked scruffy wearing trainers dirty shirts and pens in there hair. Such...More

Thank bazza4281
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Thank you for the feedback, we shall talk to the team about your comments and get them smartened up. We are pleased you liked the food and wish you a Merry Christmas Kind Regards James and the team

Reviewed December 12, 2017

I was treated to lunch here today, first time I've been in over a decade and oh wow - I can see why its so highly rated. Staff were very attentive and seated us quickly (the table had been prebooked- good job too as it...More

Thank hilaryhampshire
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great review we look forward to seeing you very soon Kind Regards James and the team

Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

My team and I visited for our Christmas meal today. We had pre booked but this information clearly hadn't reached the kitchen! We waited for over 30 minutes for our food to be served. When the food arrived (ordered from the main menu), the portions...More

Thank AndyHar20
James C, General Manager at The Chilworth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review we are really sort you were disappointed with your visit. Kind Regards James and the team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Chilworth Hotels
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
1,462 reviews
.20 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
386 reviews
1.02 miles away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
301 reviews
1.61 miles away
Premier Inn Southampton (Eastleigh) Hotel
622 reviews
1.98 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Pipasa
8 reviews
1.21 miles away
Special Thai Restaurant
133 reviews
1.96 miles away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Restaurant
145 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
For Life Experiences (FLE)
10 reviews
2.54 miles away
Chandler's Ford Library
10 reviews
2.48 miles away
Alver Valley Country Park
6 reviews
1.64 miles away
Nuffield Southampton Theatres
177 reviews
2.26 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pinklady28031953
November 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from robert c | Reviewed this property |
I am pretty sure they will be able to accommodate your needs.
0
Votes
Alexandra03_12
July 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from James C | Property representative |
Hello, yes they are welcome in the bar and garden.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $35
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chilworth Road, Chilworth SO16 7JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Chilworth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8076 6247
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing