We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Race

Walford road, Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
+44 1989 562891
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“samphire” (6 reviews)
“steak” (32 reviews)
“pudding” (28 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Walford road, Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Enjoyed an excellent lunch at the Mill Race. Service was very good with the chef personally bringing the food to our table. It was an interesting menu with plenty of choice and very reasonably priced. In the end we could not manage it all because...More

Thank graham861
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Great to hear, thank you for your positive feedback. Regards, Mark.

Reviewed 3 days ago

WE have just had a Fantastic meal. The service was great very good choice on the menu. We are planning our next trip and will be going back again for some more. The scotch egg was great best ever. Highly Recommend visiting

Thank peterjones7793
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you, great to be appreciated and know that all the efforts we go to are worthwhile. Kind Regards, Mark.

Reviewed 3 days ago

We decided to experience this pub for the first time, we were visiting for a family occasion. All I can say is, if staff don't have the right customer facing skills to work in an environment with the general public, they should work somewhere else....More

Thank cbukmedia
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Obviously I am very disappointed to receive this review and it is an anomaly amongst our mostly five star ratings recently which are there for all to see, and which also, on the whole, praise us for our friendliness and high service standards. From the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely pub , clearly had lots spent on it shame the food does not live up to expectations. Decent atmosphere and nice decked al fresco area menu looks good on paper. Real shameMore

Thank Alastair S
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you liked the pub, sorry the food was disappointing, perhaps you could call again and we could attempt to rectify it for you, we take your complaint very seriously and as you can see by our recent reviews, our food is on the whole...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Away for the weekend,found this pub as we were staying close by,the food is outstanding,the staff are very friendly,and the pub is dog frendily. Top marks for this one.

Thank Andyc6789
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for these comments, great to know our hard work and efforts are being appreciated.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a meal as thought it was by the river. As it was cold we didn't go outside so don't know if it was or not. However, there was a nice log fire, the staff were friendly and the food very good. Lovely...More

Thank Daphne R
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great to hear that, a few key items enjoyed here that we work very hard on so thank you for letting us know it was appreciated.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for an afternoon drink to check the place out to book the restaurant. It was very quiet not even a welcome hello ordered drinks and sat at bar no atmosphere at all. Perhaps wrong timing.More

1  Thank steph m
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Very sorry to hear that, we pride ourselves on our welcoming nature and good atmosphere. It sounds like it was some degree of bad timing although that is still not good enough on our part. I have a fair idea as to why this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a pleasant experience, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the menu was very good and had a good selection of food .i decided to have the chicken curry, which was the chefs special, well worth it , it was excellent 😀,probably the best...More

Thank howieireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying nearby and were recommended this pub by hosts. We had beautiful steaks and very good service. Good value and definitely worth a visit.

Thank Andrew K
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Nice to hear that we were recommended by a local Hostelry. Being in Herefordshire we do pride ourselves on serving well cooked steaks and a reasonable price. We hope to see you again when you are next in the area. Kind Regards David

Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

I had the crab bonbons as a starter , the fish risotto for my main and a cherry bakewell tart as dessert and I must say I was very impressed. The crab was delicious with incredible handmade sweet chilli sauce, the risotto was fantastic with...More

Thank Magdalena D
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Magdalena Thank you for your kind review, Chef will be pleased to here that his hard work and dedication has been noted. Nice to hear that the Front of House team look after you so well also. We look forward to welcoming you again...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Walford Hotels
Pencraig Court Hotel
16 reviews
1.62 miles away
Glewstone Court
643 reviews
2.10 miles away
Chasedale Hotel
16 reviews
2.22 miles away
The Chase Hotel
534 reviews
2.61 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Inn on the Wye
151 reviews
.69 miles away
The Cross Keys Inn
422 reviews
1.42 miles away
The Forge Hammer and River Spice
119 reviews
2.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Goodrich Castle
860 reviews
.88 miles away
The Malt Shovel Inn
6 reviews
2.45 miles away
Wye Valley Cruises
13 reviews
2.73 miles away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
232 reviews
2.70 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Louise A
January 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 747jap | Reviewed this property |
I booked for lunch ona Monday last October- the Mill Race had decided to close on Mondays for the Winter. Therefore I doubt at present that they will be open on Mondays - but would suggest that a call to the Restaurant would... More
1
Vote
Barbara T
August 7, 2015|
Answer
Response from rich k |
Hello, yes we do have vegetarian dishes in the menu. Also most of our dishes can be adapted to suit vegetarian as we are cooking everything from fresh. Hope this helps. Regards, Ana Dumitrache General Manager
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $34
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Walford road, Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye  >  Walford
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 562891
  • E-mail
Description
A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about the freshest of produce and food, wine and fine ales - nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;