We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moody Cow

$$ - $$$, British,
Upton Bishop, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7TT, England
+44 1989 780470
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good14%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“venison” (38 reviews)
“cheese tart” (20 reviews)
“sundae” (22 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Upton Bishop, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7TT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Just planned to have a drink here on a hot day but menu looked really nice so stayed for a lunch bite. A wee bit pricy but worth it. Very dog friendly too.

Thank EllieDodds
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

A very pleasant evening celebrating a couple family birthdays. We were first taken to the comfortable sofas at the top of the restaurant area for drinks and to look at menus, with our order taken by a very warm and jovial man (Chris?) who I...More

Thank dinocol
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came to the Moody Cow for dinner and it didn’t disappoint, the menu was really good and the food that came out even better. Also the service was great and the owners really accommodating/helpful. Will defiantly re-visit in the future and highly recommended anyone else...More

Thank jacksaints
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called ahead whilst en-route from Pembrokeshire to Warwickshire to book a table here this evening. We were warmly greeted on arrival and our table was ready, and we were promptly served with our drinks. The friendly staff helped advise on the extensive menu and...More

Thank Lynne G
Reviewed 1 week ago

The beer is an astonishing near £5 per pint which is just a rip off for an ordinary pint of beer and it wasn’t that good either.More

1  Thank jezzaontour
chrisA4888WS, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do stock three cask conditioned ales, and the prices range from £4.30 to £4.70 depending on how strong they are, I assume you are referring to our most expensive guest ale, which is brewed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was good as previous visits. However,not visited for several months and sat in an area not been seated before and unfortunately the seating was extremely uncomfortable. I were seated on what look like old wooden computer swizzle chairs with my husband sitting on a...More

1  Thank Mrss_holiday
chrisA4888WS, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry that you found the seating uncomfortable, I just wish you had mentioned it at the time, it would have been no problem to have seated you in another area. At the Moody...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on Saturday evening and hadn't been for a while, very welcoming and great new layout. Good all round service and excellent high standard of food My partner had duck and myself the ribs for main course absolutely delicious and wonderful sweets to finish. Definitely...More

Thank alanpottertoc
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopping locally for a few days we booked a table here at short notice...best we could of done! They were very accommodating for both our young son (8 months old) and our dog. The food was excellent, can definitely recommend the pork belly, and the...More

Thank ChrisD2405
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a drink on way back from a Sunday walk as it looked as if it was a pub / restaurant and their website says pop in for a meal, drink or cup of coffee. We were greeted quickly and told that all...More

1  Thank Cookliz
chrisA4888WS, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are quite right, most of our guests visit us to eat, on Sunday we are usually full to the brim with guests enjoying lunch, but we do have a comfortable lounge with a roaring...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited today for lunch. Third visit and not disappointed. Good food, well prepared and presented and welcoming hosts. Thank you

1  Thank R G
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Upton Bishop Hotels
Penyard House
230 reviews
2.16 miles away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
670 reviews
2.43 miles away
The Chase Hotel
527 reviews
2.97 miles away
The King's Head Hotel
443 reviews
3.08 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Alma Inn
53 reviews
1.52 miles away
The Roadmaker Inn
300 reviews
2.13 miles away
Weston Cross Inn
159 reviews
2.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
In The Footsteps Battlefield Tours
141 reviews
2.25 miles away
Greenacres Stables
6 reviews
3.33 miles away
Briery Hill Llamas
35 reviews
3.78 miles away
St Bartholemew's Church
14 reviews
3.79 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James S
April 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from niki m | Reviewed this property |
We were one of the last tables and it was about 8.30 pm. if that's any help.
0
Votes
sheilahhb23
August 23, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Chris B | Property representative |
We welcome dogs in the bar, and of course outside if the weather is fine, we have fresh water and treats too, but do let us know if you are coming so that we can reserve a suitable table for you
2
Votes
Lindsay M
July 1, 2016|
Answer
Response from beejash | Reviewed this property |
A great tradition, and done well, one of my favourite meals... a late and long Sunday lunch! I've not had the pleasure of sampling Subday lunch at the Moody Cow, but given the quality of their food (and service), I'm sure... More
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $39
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Upton Bishop, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7TT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye  >  Upton Bishop
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 780470
  • E-mail
Description
Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing