We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Situated right on the water's edge and next to the statue of St. Andrew in the fishermen's area of the bay, The Boat House Restaurant is ably run by Joseph Attard and his wife Rose. It has established itself as a must visit restaurant when visiting Gozo by Maltese and foreigners alike. The location enjoys the warm sunshine on winter afternoons and romantic sunsets. The choice of starters and main courses is endless. On top of that, there are the 'Specialities of the Day'. The fish display is a clear statement about the freshness of the daily catch. All items on the menu are prepared with ingredients of the highest quality. The selection of in-house desserts is tempting. The Wine List includes
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Healthy
FEATURES
Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
Reviews (2,558)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveler rating
1,474
432
127
41
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,474
432
127
41
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews calamari seafood fresh fish bread steak rabbit salad fries main course xlendi bay the water's edge recommend this restaurant kevin gozo trio island euros
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, the menus were dirty with other people's food and beverages. It is crazy that two of the menus are larger than the table itself, and you get a third one for the wine. I don't understand why they are so large because there...isn't enough room for anything to be placed on the table. As well the tables next to us were only a few inches apart from our table. I didn't feel at all at ease because it seemed like their working method was to make as many people as they could without focusing on the quality and care of their customers. Prices are way over priced especially the wine and drinks menu. Cant figure out why the expensive prices on wine, saying anywhere from 8 to 15 euros per bottle more from other restaurants nearby. Food as well is between 5 to 8 euros per plate more expensive that other restaurants, and i don't get why cause food is not even as special, maybe the management has very high ego. We had calamari fritti as starter, 15euros for a handful of calamari. Then, my friend had seafood spaghetti, which was not at all tasty (worst from all the other she had) I tried the local fish, "Lampuka," which cost 23 euros. This is a lot of money for a fish that normally costs around 4 euros for a portion, according to market reports. ridiculous!! To top it all off, my friend saw an amuse bouche for 4 euros on the bill even though neither of us knew what it was.  It appears that a member of the staff made a mistake and informed us that the bread and beans we receive before our meal were supposed to be complimentary. AMUSE BOUCHE for canned beans and cold bread, guess nobody working there actually knows what amuse bouche is.. LOL WHAT A JOKE !!!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 9, 2022 via mobile

Terrible food but great service. I ate pasta with octopus. Generous portion (too big for me) but the pasta was cold-ish on the outside. Like it was sitting on the counter for 15 minutes. It was also tasteless and wattery. The octopus was cooked nicely...but it had no taste at all. Pasta tasted just like tomatoes and too much capres. I left half of the pasta on the plate. Also pasta itself didn't taste fresh or homemade. My boyfriend ate risotto which was "all dente" but in my opinion not cooked at all and did not have any taste whatsoever. For this kind of money I would expect supeeb pasta. Also, carrot cake is terrible (very dry and not sweet at all).More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 9, 2022

We went because someone had reviewed 'calamari to die for' and we were not disappointed. Service is attentive and food came quickly - and tasted great. It was one of our favourites during our time on Gozo. We had really good tuna also - recommend...that.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2022

Last Monday, after hearing so much about the boathouse, I made the decision to go. Unfortunately, what a terrible letdown! I went to a different restaurant on the island and ran into a former employee there.  I asked a few questions and the person  did...advise me to visit and taste the food there, but also warned me against leaving any tips because the owners keep them to themselves. I had to do some more asking here and there before I visited and it turned out that this was true. The fact that the waiters don't receive their tips is a clear sign of how selfish and self-centered the owners are. I strongly advise everyone who visits to avoid leaving any tips because you are already paying ridiculous prices for average quality meals.  There, I received the best service I've ever experienced. Anyway, there was one waiter with a strong voice who was a little rude to the other employees and customers. Although he was shouting in his native language I couldn't understand what he was saying, but he was undoubtedly being very aggressive. Anyways A big shoutout to the waiting staff working there. So we shared some mussels and beef tartare. Given that the beef color was already excessively dark, the tartare did not appear to be fresh at all. Although the mussels were passable, they were not worth 15 euros. As a main course, we got ribeye and lamb shank. Although the ribeye was well grilled, the meat's quality fell short of what one could expect from a restaurant to this standard. It is unacceptable to pay 29 euros for meat of that quality.  Although the lamb shank was very excellent, paying 26 euros for just one seems excessive. Because of how overrated the restaurant's name is, I won't suggest it to anyone. Giving tips is a "BIG NO NO"!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
josephroseattard, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2022

Dear Scott W, thank you for visiting The Boathouse Restaurant. I was very impressed by how much interest you have taken in the operations of my restaurant. I thank you for giving "a big shoutout to the waiting staff working there" because that shows that...More

Reviewed August 3, 2022 via mobile

Fresh fish filleted at your table , lobsters , great wine list and excellent service. Situated on the waters edge. Perfect lunch

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 30, 2022 via mobile

The restaurant has good service and excellwnt food. The prices are quite up/expensive, but it is what it is. It was one of the nicest restaurants in the area.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 29, 2022 via mobile

The Boathouse in my opinion is the best Restaurant on the island. The food is amazing & the staff are outstanding!!! The best part is the location & setting!!! Just beautiful!!! After a hot day the cool breeze & subtle lighting makes for the best...atmosphere!!!! It’s a absolute MUST. Don’t forget to go snorkelling in Xlendi Bay in the day!!!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2022 via mobile

Good food but too much expensive… the restaurant is close to the sea … its hard to pay a dish of fried squids 24€…. C’è di meglio

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 24, 2022 via mobile

Excellent food and superior service by Joffrey the Italian waiter who proved that class and professionalism is of the essence. Attentive to all our needs he went well beyond the call of service. The fish we ordered was filleted by our table with artistic competence....The time spam between courses was exemplary. My wife ordered a lemon sorbet for dessert and when the desserts arrived hers was not delivered because, “madam was in the restroom and the sober would melt by her return.” The moment she returned the sorbet arrived.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 9, 2022

Lovely food and setting. Service is good. It's not cheap but fish is good. Big let down is they serve red wine chilled and not as recommended by winery's at room temperature.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 8, 2022 via mobile

Quite disappointed. Food was average, portions have decreased in size and prices increased. We used to frequent this restaurant quite often, but it is not the same as it used to be.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 15, 2022 via mobile

Best view, food and service. Perfect to eat shellfish and fish. The fish soup is amazing. 5 star service. Romantic ambience. Ducks company nearby is a big plus.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 4, 2022 via mobile

In the evening the restaurant becomes romantic (and crowded): there are some tables ‘on the water’ so special..Great food and wonderful service,a worldwide selection of wine,but I prefer local wine (simply delicious)

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 26, 2022

We were recommended here by staff at a restaurant in Malta, a boat and bus trip later and WOW. Amazing find, right on the waterside and loved watching the fish swimming about beside us. Friendly staff, great food and drink and heavenly location. If you...love fish, this is perfect with oh so fresh offerings, as a vegetarian I also had plenty of choice.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 22, 2022 via mobile

Great food. Steak tartare and fried squid were really nuce. Very friendly staff! We received a complimentary drink after the dinner.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
St Patrick's Hotel
988 reviews
.03 miles away
San Andrea Hotel
827 reviews
.06 miles away
Ulysses Aparthotel
104 reviews
.08 miles away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1,713 reviews
1.63 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Diamond
360 reviews
.04 miles away
Paulos Bar
9 reviews
.76 miles away
Greens Sports Bar and Grill
76 reviews
.96 miles away
Da Manuel Restaurant
314 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Andrew's Divers Cove
297 reviews
.06 miles away
Sanap Cliffs
76 reviews
.69 miles away
Ritual Dive
85 reviews
.08 miles away
Xlendi Beach, Cliff and Caves
1,148 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anthony C
August 12, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from AttardJ | Property representative |
Yes, we do accept government vouchers.
1
Vote
Storyteller77530
November 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from keit r | Reviewed this property |
As above. You would need to be staying in Zlendi or close by. far too far to make a return trip to Malta. There are hotels in Xlendi which is tiny. The Boathouse is really nice - but I would still make a special booking... More
1
Vote
dannyr631
October 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from RaymondD025 | Reviewed this property |
Hi This is what is avilable on their website: Opening Hours: 1st Oct to 30th June Daily : 12.00 - 22.00 (Last orders) 1st July to 30th Sept Daily : 12.00 - 22.30 (Last orders) Fridays & Saturdays (all year) : 12.00... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BOATHOUSE, Xlendi - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Boathouse

Yes, The Boathouse is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Boathouse is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5