We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.


Certificate of Excellence
German, Austrian, European, Central European
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Unterer Stadtplatz 18, Kufstein 6330, Austria
+43 5372 63633
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to visit this restaurant because it seemed a nice place to dine. However I was a little skeptic due to the amount of reviews commenting on the staff. I have to say the reviews here are truthful. Let me start from the beginning. First of all, the ambience was really nice and we liked the interesting wall decor.... More 

Thank Bernice G
StefanPurli, Inhaber at Purlepaus, responded to this review

Hello, sorry for that what happened. I will talk seriously to our waiters. The only thing about Kaiserschmarrn is that is it not so easy to explain. It's a thick pancake warm served and diced up. But it's one of the most famous dessert's in Austria. Because it's always fresh made. Sorry that you didn't try one. So i will... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recommend by Gisela hotel. Went there once during the Kaiserfest with a lot of activities going on outside. Food was good and much better than the service. Good choice on offer as with all similar restaurants around.

Thank Darren A
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Avoid if you can ... There are far nicer places in Kufstein where you will be treated like a guest! The interior of the restaurant smells of old cooking fat. The smell combined with the rude treatment of two waiters led us to flee so we never actually tasted the food.

Thank Eireski
StefanPurli, Inhaber at Purlepaus, responded to this review

Hello Mister Eireski, sorry that you have not be treated well in our restaurant. I'm really surprised about this. Sorry for that. The smell is unusual because we made a total new kitchen air-condition this year. If you want to tell me what the waiters said to you, please send me a e-mail to purlepaus1410@gmail.com. If you would come back... More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

We were lucky to get the table at the sunny area outside. The service, the food and the ambience are worth to go there. The music from the castle just nearby was a nice add-on. Lovely!

Thank Andrey B
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

I was visiting the Riedel glass factory, and we were looking for a nice lunch place after our visit. It was not an easy task to find a place that serves lunch after 2pm, but this charming historic restaurant was open. The food is really good and they have also a nice vegetarian selection. The dessert list look also inviting.... More 

Thank Pinkholidaytraveller
StefanPurli, Inhaber at Purlepaus, responded to this review

Thank's very much for your recommendation. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

The hotel recommended this place as it was one of the few opened on a Sunday night (I made sure they will never do that again to a guest). Food was average (so I doubt about who ranked the restaurant, probably "Friends & Family"). Interesting events were as follows: When I was going to pay the bill (late night -... More 

1 Thank msanchez1981
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

We went to this restaurant during the Christmas season with our friends. The location is nice and underneath the castle of Kufstein. The meals were fantastic and we don't have to wait to long for it even as restaurant was totally booked up. The waiters were kind but a bit gruff but kind, I guess they were a bit busy... More 

Thank Johannes S
StefanPurli, Inhaber at Purlepaus, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung. Schöne Grüße aus Kufstein Stefan More 

Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

Dinner was optional part of our stay at Hotel Gisela. Good basic food at resonable price. Attentive and helpful server who also gave us some information about the restaurant's name. It is named after a canon that in 1504 destroyed the castle that overlooks the town of Kufstein..

Thank ukusa2155
StefanPurli, Inhaber at Purlepaus, responded to this review

Thank you very much. Stefan More 

Oberau, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Located in the old part of Kufstein, this restaurant has an excellent spot,which makes it nostalgic and comfortable, not to forget the inviting garden situated at the entrance. The interior of this restaurant has to be described as a mixture of ancient and medieval statues, reliefs and historical objects, which provide an interesting atmosphere. The food is slightly overpriced for... More 

Thank Hamilkar19
StefanPurli, Inhaber at Purlepaus, responded to this review

Thank's for your rating. I'm very sorry that we not do like you aspected. Could i asked would you have eaten, so i could sort out the problems with the kitchen. Thank's again for your visited and for the time you take for me. And sorry for my poor english. By the way nice greetings to Oberau my home village... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Conveniently located in Kufstein's picturesque old town, we were fortunate to have been turned away by a neighboring establishment and ended up @ Purlepaus. What a stroke of luck! The Efficient, friendly staff ensured that we were seated and served promptly. The dishes we ordered were delicious and generously portioned, and represented excellent value for money! We'll be back for... More 

1 Thank ironmountainrobi

Travelers who viewed Purlepaus also viewed

Kufstein, Tirol

Been to Purlepaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
German, Austrian, European, Central European
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unterer Stadtplatz 18, Kufstein 6330, Austria
  • Location: Europe  >  Austria  >  Austrian Alps  >  Tirol  >  Kufstein
  • Phone Number: +43 5372 63633

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Purlepaus staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?