We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bridge End | Bridge End, MK43 8LS, Bromham, Bedfordshire, England, Bromham MK43 8LS, England
01234 823284
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 242: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited the Swan on the spur of the moment and were able to book a table for an hour later. The Swan was fairly busy when we arrived with man people sitting outside in the sunshine having there food and drinks. We got a good feeling about our meal. We were shown to our table in a polite and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SmartBuk
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Unexpected lunch out with friends and we were seated with no problems. Great food and portions were very generous. Excellent service by all staff especially Amanda. We will be back.x

Helpful?
Thank CJW2901
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was really good ,staff really friendly our waitress Laura was very good , as was Heidi . Super evening , celebrating our sons 30th Birthday with our family .

Helpful?
Thank janicechapman60
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here loads of times of before. Service and food gone seriously downhill. Doesn't seem busy these days at all. Changes managers quite a few times in the past few months. Hopefully will get better or another manager change is needed.

Helpful?
Thank Darryl B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having previously frequented The Swan many years ago & had mediocre food served it is extremely nice to visit The Swan today and give such a positive review. Having embarked on a bike ride this morning we decided to pop in (having not been there for at least 18 months) for a quick pit stop. Feeling a bit peckish we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
Newbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

V poor meal. Surely a pub should get a basic thing like shiny glasses right and not disgusting smeared ones. We had to wait a long time for the main course. Caesar salad sauce was like cheap bottled sauce. Mash and gravy were lumpy. Not a good experience and won't be back. One positive - the waitresses were lovely

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

First of all I like to apologise for you dirty glasses and can assure you we will be sorting this issue out. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your meals and I do hope that you will at some point give us another try so that we can prove to yourselves that what we offer is a better experience... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a family event here on a weekday afternoon for about 30 people. The pub laid on a simple home cooked sandwich buffet, with a selection of delicious home made cakes. All well made and good value.

Helpful?
Thank Onyerbike1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

I am very glad that your family event went well and that the buffet was just what you wanted, We hope to see you all again soon. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my birthday yesterday so my Mum decided she would treat myself and my daughter to dinner out. Mum and I wanted roast beef, but we were not told when ordering drinks they had ran out of beef. We then ordered the pork/chicken roast instead. The meals arrived over an hour late. The plates were covered in thick lumpy... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracy722016
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our lunchtime meal washed down with a couple of lagers. Sat outside in the warm sunshine the meal was chosen from the bargain menu and was good value. I chose the fish and chips the batter was lovely light and crispy and the fish cooked to perfection. My partner chose the steak which was flavoursome as were the chips.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank keronandjen
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review we do try to as a team to give the best possible service and Mike and myself love the fact our pub has a great village feel to it, while at the same time able to offer a great menu to suit all, regards Mike & Bex. More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and myself had 2 rib-eye steak meals. The food was cooked reasonably well and the dressing was excellent ---- although the chips were typical from a package type, and the 'Rocket Salad' dressing could have been a little more adventurous. The restaurant area was well staffed with young people who were anxious to help and please -- which... More 

Helpful?
Thank valannrob
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

I like to apologise for your wait but am pleased your steaks were cooked to you liking, I have to agree with you about our team they are all great and do deliver great service. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Bromham, Bedfordshire
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
 
Little Gaddesden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge End | Bridge End, MK43 8LS, Bromham, Bedfordshire, England, Bromham MK43 8LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bromham
  • Phone Number: 01234 823284

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?