We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Ballard's

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
42 Water Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
14014662231
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went with two other couples for a total of six people. The food was alright, but very, very expensive for what you got. We had a burger, wedge salad, peel and eat shrimp and a few other things. None of it was outstanding but, the view, mudslides, and our server from Romania were very good.

Helpful?
Thank Debbi C
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nothing better than eating right on the beach. Had some steamers and a lobster roll with a few friends and a few more beers. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Clint M
north stonington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Steps from the beach , amazing fresh seafood, burgers and salads, great drinks. Best of all amazing staff, Our server was Terry Ann from Jamaica, she was outstanding, made our experience ever better!

Helpful?
Thank wendyNorthStonington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our group was utterly disappointed with Ballards. You can't beat the view but we were unimpressed with the food. The stuffies were overcooked and they seemed to be missing clams. The sliders were like hockey pucks. The drinks were OK but they don't list prices and also don't tell you that you'll have to pay and extra $9 to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful location, at the end of the New Shoreham harbor and bordering a small beach. You have to like the super loud cacophonous noise from various bands mingled with a DJ blasting his own tunes. Boisterous crowds. The food is poor, lobster tastes of chlorine and burgers are dry and with a flavorless bun. Serving tilapia tacos with fish obviously... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is enormous but the parking is not. Food was good but pricey. Waitress (from South Africa was a doll.) they had a guy singing inside this empty, huge restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Flyer75
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time at Ballards this past weekend. Service was great and it was a really fun time. I was disappointed to learn that they do not recycle the containers they use for food served in on the beach and outdoor bar area. All food served outside is brought to you in a huge plastic container and it goes... More 

Helpful?
Thank kk1593
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
153 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I stopped by just for drinks before having to get back on the ferry. I have to say, they make great drinks here. Definitely strong enough and well made cocktails. Bartender was attentive. Can't beat sitting right on the beach during the summer listening to music and enjoying a cocktail.

Helpful?
Thank Lori-Ellen S
Ballards-Manisses, Manager at Ballard's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Ballard's, we always appreciate hearing from our Guests. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed relaxing and having a cocktail before catching the ferry back home. We hope to see you again soon! Sharon C. Manager More 

South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rent chairs spend the day at the beach. Great spot to drink, eat, listen to great band music and dance. Staff very attentive. Service sitting on the sand!!

Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
Ballards-Manisses, Manager at Ballard's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Ballard's, we always appreciate hearing from our Guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! Sharon C. Manager More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fish tacos where vomit. So much for fresh fish by the shore! Also it's smelled like rotten trash from the dumpster. Too many people , making too much waste. Unfortunate situation for all of us.

Helpful?
Thank Mandyshore
Ballards-Manisses, Manager at Ballard's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Ballard's, we always appreciate hearing from our Guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your food. We hope that you brought it to the attention of the manager on duty so the situation could be addressed right away. We are sorry that you felt you could smell... More 

Travelers who viewed Ballard's also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to Ballard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $20
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42 Water Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
  • Location: United States  >  Rhode Island (RI)  >  Block Island  >  New Shoreham
  • Phone Number: 14014662231
Description
Ballard’s is a famous resort on its own beach. Ballard’s was recently renovated and provides a distinct modern sophisticated design. Our rooms provide all modern amenities including air conditioning. Our dining area offers breathtaking ocean views. Our beach offers daily chair and umbrella rentals where you can lounge while servers bring drinks and food to you. Please visit our website for pictures, menus and rate information. ONLY BALLARD’S HAS IT ALL.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ballard's and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ballard's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?