We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
104 Peach Street, Wokingham RG40 1XH, England
+44 118 978 0389
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“pie” (5 reviews)
“burger” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
104 Peach Street, Wokingham RG40 1XH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

i went to my staff party at the Ship on Friday evening 7/12/18 and although it was a pleasurable evening, i sent 3 previous emails and telephoned to ask for a price list of lagers both draught and bottled and was not contacted by staff...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Paul C
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Still one of the best pubs in Wokingham. Pleasant staff and well looked after decor and garden. The beer range could change more often and keg guests could be more adventurous, I have seen this in other Fullers pubs. The Ship isn't the cheapest pub...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Montyf1
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Been here a few times now (not through choice) and feel compelled to add review. Drinks well over priced for the area (£5.40 for pint of Peroni) and even the bar staff were apologetic. If unfortunate to go in when there is a football match...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jamie S
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

We’re so sorry to hear that your time with us was unsatisfactory. If you would like to be contacted by us to discuss your experience, please privately message us with your contact details and someone will get back to you as soon as possible.

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

I cant say enough good things about this place. We had a party of 8 and everyone ordered the fish and chips with the exception of one of us. They ordered the chicken snitzel. Everyone was very pleased with the food. The service was even...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dougsW1616VB
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for your amazing review. I remember your group and you were just as much fun to be around. I will let the team know what you said as we all work hard here to get the kind of feedback that you gave us....More

Reviewed August 28, 2018

I gooccasionally with local friends on a Friday night. There is pub food and beer with good bar service. A little crowded but that is because it is a good pub!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Rick M
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit here. In regards to how busy it can be, you are always welcome to reserve yourself a seat here.

Reviewed August 27, 2018

have been here several times over the years and never disappointed with the food, service and drinks.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Ron_Charity
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you soon

Reviewed August 25, 2018

The parking behind the pub can be tricky if it's full during the rush hour. However, there are plenty of rooms to sit and walk around. I went there when I had my interview for the care homes around the corner from the pub and...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MartyMcFly2011
Dave J, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Parking can be a bit tricky here on occasion as we don't have a particularly big car park. But we are very happy you had a nice time here. Come back and see us again soon.

Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Last time I was here was about 34yrs ago 😁 oh how it's changed ( a lot ) for the best . 👍🍻 I'll certainly not leave it as long for a returne visit

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank martin_wood16
Dave J, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It’s always great to hear that we are keeping our customers happy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

Great Night here watching the football. They have it sorted with plenty of really good bar staff and loads of TV’s. Burgers are good too.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 156mickb
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We always love to hear feedback on how we're doing. Please come back and visit us again soon

Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

My wife and our two young sons went to the Ship for a Father’s Day lunch. We were very well looked after during our meal. We order Pizzas which were very good quality not at all oily or fatty. Perfect pub lunch.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Chappy2212
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. It makes all the hard work we put in worthwhile. We hope to see you soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Wokingham
Stakis St. Anne's Manor Hotel
2 reviews
.60 miles away
Cantley House Hotel
702 reviews
.69 miles away
The Emmbrook Inn
58 reviews
1.29 miles away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
2,047 reviews
1.34 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Piccolo Arco
318 reviews
.21 miles away
Ruchetta
483 reviews
.17 miles away
Rossini
421 reviews
.30 miles away
The Tamarind Tree
297 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wokingham Theatre
9 reviews
.75 miles away
The Victoria Arms
14 reviews
.08 miles away
The Redan
24 reviews
.14 miles away
Escape360
10 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 104 Peach Street, Wokingham RG40 1XH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham
  • Phone Number: +44 118 978 0389
  • E-mail
Description
Lying at the edge of historic Wokingham, you’ll want to make sure you drop into The Ship Inn whenever you’re near. Our fantastic Sunday roasts, well-stocked bar and welcoming pub garden ensure that we’re the perfect port in any storm - and any sunny day for that matter.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing