We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Running Horse

Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road, Bracknell RG12 2UJ, England
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 155: English reviews
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have a gym near to the running horse an so I am a frequent visitor to the restaurant. I find the food of an excellent quality and nutritious, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the price is unbelievably low I don't know how they provide the Quality at these low prices . This is excellent value for money.

Thank zafrnch
Bracknell, Berkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been going to the running horse for food for many years now for many reasons, good fast food, good portion sizes and quick service however recent months have really noticed a big change, portions smaller, staff rude, meals are sometimes cold, miss things on the orders and then get accused that we had the item so they need to check... More 

Thank traceandshan
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visit the running horse most months for a quick and easy family meal. Never had anything to complain about. Food is always good, staff are always friendly, kids are made to feel welcome and prices are low. Pub as been refurbished over the last year and it's made the place even better by separating the bar lounge from the... More 

Thank graham1uk
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2016

We visited on 17th September 2016 after a day at Legoland, Windsor. I had booked a table for our party (4 adults and 3 children) beforehand. We turned up slightly earlier than our “booked” time but we were still shown to our table as it was all ready for us. We then started browsing the menu. We noticed there was... More 

Thank gsc140107
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2016

Make the long story short: 1. Ordered 2 meals, charged 3, paid by debit card 2. Being discovered, I asked and was told the excess charged will be refunded to my card 3. I asked for the receipt, it showed 'cash refunded' not to card (Tricky?) 4. Spoke to the female manager, she kept on saying 'I don't know why'... More 

Thank Anitaofascot
Mark R, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Hi Anita, we are really sorry to hear you were disappointed and we're confused by any prices. All food prices are present on each menu and coffee options are displayed on a large board at the food order point. We apologise for taking your order incorrectly, the duty manager gave you a full refund as a gesture of goodwill for... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Advertising as kitchen open until 10pm was told "kitchen closed" at 9:03 guess they couldn't be bothered I have eaten here for quite a few years and I'm very disappointed with the service I have checked regularly for food times as I sometimes visit for breakfast this will however be my last visit as the last two meals have not... More 

Thank Anthony M
Mark R, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Hi Anthony. Our Food is served until 10pm, we are sorry on this occasion we experienced issues and you were unsatisfied. I would like to make this up to. Please contact me if you would like to speak in more detail. Regards Mark 5290@greeneking.co.uk.co.uk More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Really nice place to take family and children for meal and staff were very obliging.

Thank debrabibey
Mark R, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We ate here twice. The young lad that was Serving our table was very good, polite, smiley and chirpy. Drinks are good, prices sensible, portions are spot on. Ideal place to call in unannounced and refuel.

Thank James H
Mark R, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Glad you like The Running Horse and team, Thank you for the review! More 

San Francisco
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2016

Come down for a quiet family meal. Took a long time to get served as ther was only one person between the 2 bars and got disturbed by loud annoying live singer

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Thank Robert W
Mark R, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will monitor the level of music when we have live entertainment as our aim is people enjoy it and their time with us. More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2016

We run a social group for adults with a learning disability and had booked at the local Harvester but when we arrived they said they had lost our booking and let us down. We phoned the Running Horse and they were brilliant and said bring the group over to us. They couldn't have been more helpful. The service was quick,... More 

1 Thank 285heather
Mark R, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, hope to see you again! More 

Travelers who viewed The Running Horse also viewed

Slough, Berkshire

Been to The Running Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$10 - $26
Bar, British, Pub
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Bracknell RG12 2UJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Bracknell
  • Phone Number: 441344425215
Large Family Restaurant serving great British pub food and Famous Hungry Horse Big Plate specials, Large outside patio dining area and children's Play area. Separate bar area serving food with 80" TV and 5 other TV's you can watch all of your favourite sport. With many offers on food and drink each day it's excellent value for money.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Running Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?