We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gululu Restaurant

133, Triq Spinola, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2133 3431
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good41%
  • Average18%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“rabbit” (216 reviews)
“pizza” (99 reviews)
“maltese bread” (17 reviews)
Opens in 23 min
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
133, Triq Spinola, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

located at the most touristic place in Saint Julians, this restaurant I can not recomment to anybody to enjoy mediteranian nor local food. The service staff are part timers without any experience nor knowlegde of what they offer. The kitchen works with 2 italien cooks...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ernest024
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Ernest, Thank you for your review and feedback and our sincere apologies for the far from satisfactory experience that you had. Should you wish to get in touch with us directly and give us further feedback you may reach us at info@gululu.com.mt We would...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We tried it as the typical maltese food. We had degustation set menu. It was good but not special. We found out that there is not only one restaurant with this name. In Valletta Food Market they offer better choises

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank VANACA
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back again. Martin

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We've seen an updated menu with higher prices, and more so the portions have been reduced. Was much better last summer. I really cannot figure why this change when this was a much better priced restaurant with local cuisine. Thumbs down for the management.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Pikku007
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We’ve been in this restaurant with a huge group of friends and had a set of different dishes from the menu and absolutely everything was so delicious! Service was also great and very attentive. Perfect value at a price. I would love to come back!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Belozerr
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the compliments. We hope to welcome you back again some time soon. Always at your service. Martin

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I find this place ideal for a Sunday on a sunny day. It is great to eat outside. Very nicely presented Maltese dishes. I will highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 485maryg
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the compliments and for the recommendation. Always at your service. Martin

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here with local colleagues who were keen to show us traditional Maltese food. The service was superb and the food was absolutely beautiful. from the mezes starters through octopus and pasta, stuffed rabbit and imqaret.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Aonghas65
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the compliments. Always at your service. Martin

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Delightful little find . I was walking down from Ballotta Bay and saw this restaurant coming down from the hill . Read something like kitchen tal Maltin. Voted best 2018. So it grabbed my interest immediately . I was lunching with my 4 year old...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bindyrose
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the compliments and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your lunch. Please accept our apologies for not having offered you a second glass of wine. We will certainly take up your recommendation re staff to continue to improve our service....More

Reviewed December 7, 2018

Last night in Hilton St Julien, looking for good local food. tripadvisor reviews looked good so we gave it a go. I booked early 6pm as we are 4 and a baby, just as well we did, the place soon filled up with many being...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 894grahaml
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Thank you for the compliments and the recommendation. We hope to welcome you back again when you are next in Malta. Always at your service. Martin

Reviewed December 7, 2018

The four of us ordered different dishes and shared. The bread, food and drinks were all good. The waiter got my husband's order wrong but was rectified immediately. And they gave us free desserts and drinks at the end.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Ruth W
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Thank you for your review Ruth and our apologies for the initial mistake with your husband's order. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Martin

Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

Super authentic quality Maltese food. Try the braised rabbit with Green peas. Maltese people eat rabbit with the fingers. There is a great phonetic expression that describes getting the last bit of meat off the rabbit. ‘Mesh mesh il fenek’ Give it a go!!!!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank dominicc173
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2018

Thank you Dominic. We hope to welcome you back again some time soon. Always at your service. Martin

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 145 hotels in Island of Malta
Hotel Juliani
1,577 reviews
.07 miles away
Spinola Hotel
297 reviews
.09 miles away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
226 reviews
.10 miles away
Argento Hotel
1,101 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lulu Restaurant
1,390 reviews
.05 miles away
1927
722 reviews
.05 miles away
Crow's Nest Pub
121 reviews
.05 miles away
Ristorante Il Ponte
297 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Spinola Bay
2,063 reviews
.05 miles away
Flyboard Malta
665 reviews
.10 miles away
Portomaso Marina
733 reviews
.17 miles away
The Casino at Portomaso
176 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gululu Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 133, Triq Spinola, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Saint Julian's
  • Phone Number: +356 2133 3431
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing