We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Letheringsett
Post
Inbox
Search

Back to the Garden

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Improve this listing
About
The restaurant you can eat under the ceiling of the massive eighteenth-century oak barn or, if it's warm, amongst the flowers in our garden, a place of serenity and calm that's good for the soul. The Butchery All of the Angus-sired beef, lamb, chicken, geese and turkeys on the butcher's counter have been raised organically at our farm. The rare breed, outdoor reared pork is sourced locally. The Deli You will find many of the best British artisan cheeses, organic salami and a choice of food from our kitchen. The Shop We have a zest for sourcing producers who reflect our own ideals, for whom quality and provenance count. The wine is selected in conjunction with Fields, Morris and Verdin, the wholesale
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Deli, Healthy
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveler rating
396
185
57
38
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
396
185
57
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cakes ciabatta eggs benedict black pudding bread crisps soup lamb burger sunday roast farm shop converted barn deli counter north norfolk lovely barn norfolk restaurant
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very special place if you can park. Food is excellent if expensive, Booking advisable. Trendy. Wonderful Deli too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Polyphiloprogen
GeneralManagerBTTG, Owner at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 5 Bubble review. Any feedback on which prices most welcome.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late for breakfast but found a great brunch menu to bridge the gap until lunch. The eggs benedict was delicious with perfect pouched eggs and really good bacon. The service was friendly and prompt. The bonus with eating here is the fab farm...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank _deborahjoyharrison
GeneralManagerBTTG, Owner at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Deborah, thank you for your lovely positive review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for breakfast and left so disappointed. Waited a long time for our order to arrive which left cold coffee to go with the food. Scrambled egg had turned grey and was so rubbery through over-cooking. The place was very busy, so I can...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LPH2020
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm so sorry that you have had a disappointing visit to BttG, absolutely no excuse for a poorly cooked scrambled egg and no excuse for the team not checking back that everything was ok, which clearly it wasn't. Please could you contact me on manager@back-to-the-garden.co.uk.

Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

Stopped off for Sunday lunch having passed many times but never stopped - will definitely return. Delicious food - and a lovely half portion served for children. Staff very friendly too. Would recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank emmamC7914YZ
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review.

Reviewed December 11, 2019

We go to back to the garden a lot, the last time we went we sat next to the really John Major who popped in for a cheese scone!! That was rather thrilling I must say!! Apart from that the staff are always lovely and...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank DelphiLestrange13
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2019

Thank you for such a lovely recommendation. We do host some lovely parties at very reasonable rates!

Reviewed December 1, 2019

Excellent light lunch here and a delicious fresh cake and coffee. Interesting wall art and farm photographs. Very spacious eating area, great atmosphere and good parking, well sign posted off the main road. Amazing deli and farm shop adjoining restaurant, plenty of fresh and unusual...More

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank jmm617
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2019

Thank you for posting such a positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed November 24, 2019

Selected from the list of restaurants taking part in Norfolk Restaurant Week, which in a rther typical Norfolk way is actually two weeks. The setting is a barn style with simple furnishings, all very appropriate and comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient in spite...More

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank greypet
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Thank you for your positive review it is very much appreciated, we looking forward to your return.

Reviewed November 14, 2019

Booked a table during Norfolk Restaurant Week. Two courses for £12, 3 for £17. The food was absolutely delicious and the service first class. Came here 4 or 5 years ago and what an improvement. Well done! We shall certainly return. The building is absolutely...More

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank NorfolkRoamer
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Thank you for returning we are delighted you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you in the future hopefully.

Reviewed November 10, 2019

This was my first visit to Back to the Garden, although my family had previously visited for coffee and cakes and the deli. My expectations based on those visits were quite high. So we used Norfolk Restaurant Week as an opportunity for a family birthday...More

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank sharon k
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2019

Sharon, thank you for your feedback, we are really disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. Restaurant week is a brilliant opportunity for everyone involved. Most have felt our portions have been more than fair for the £12 for 2 courses and...More

Reviewed November 9, 2019

Have eaten here previously a couple of times, food good, so travelled 45 minute journey with mother and was rewarded by delicious food ‘Moules et frites & plum bakewell tart’, wonderful service from friendly staff coping with a busy service effortlessly.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank kayzee2017
GeneralManagerBTTG, General Manager at Back to the Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2019

Thank you for your lovely positive feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Lawns Hotel
300 reviews
2.06 miles away
Wiveton Bell Pub & Rooms
180 reviews
2.81 miles away
The White Horse
669 reviews
3.74 miles away
The Blakeney Hotel
1,091 reviews
3.77 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
The Black Apollo Coffee House
363 reviews
1.87 miles away
The Kings Head Restaurant
687 reviews
.88 miles away
The Folly Tearoom
857 reviews
1.93 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Natural Surroundings
85 reviews
.88 miles away
Langham Dome
108 reviews
2.09 miles away
Holt Garden Centre
11 reviews
2.65 miles away
Grey Seal Roastery
8 reviews
2.78 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kim S
August 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GeneralManagerBTTG | Property representative |
Our Restuarant is not a takeaway establishment, we are happy to make the sandwiches available to takeaway with you. Our deli has lots of delicious food to takeaway, much of it made onsite by our chefs
1
Vote
243tinam
March 24, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GeneralManagerBTTG | Property representative |
Hi, the Risotto is not suitable for Vegans having checked with the chefs. The Charred Green salad can be adapted to by taking out the organic egg
0
Votes
christinamay2013
January 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from patrickcC4860PZ | Reviewed this property |
They are welcome in the garden where there is plenty of seating. Not in the shop or restaurant due to food availability in the shop.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing