We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Dr, Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9706
+1 866-977-4589
Today
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:30 am - 10:30 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Sun - Sat 6:30 am - 10:30 am
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
253 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had breakfast a few times during our stay at the hotel. Lots of options are available from a la cart menu, large buffet or smaller sampling buffet. It's a bit pricey but food and service was very nice. We also had drinks int the evening. The bar tenders were great. The restaurant sits above the beach and offers a spectacular... More 

Helpful?
Thank pmny
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your meals here during your stay at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, aloha! More 

Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
215 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been eating in this restaurant for many years, but this year it has undergone many changes, not all for the better, The location is terrific, one of the best overlooking the bay. Service is OK, but variable over the several nights, clearly more training is needed for the staff, from simple things like offering wine for tasting.the proper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you had such a wonderful time here. We have shared your concerns with key staff leaders. We can't wait to welcome you back. More 

Alameda, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There is no better way to say that you're basically eating tasty and filling food for brunch while mesmerized by the view. What an elegant and classy place and the history here at this hotel makes it all the more special. 🌺🌺🌴🌟👍💫🦋

Helpful?
Thank mackanna
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your brunch with us and especially the view. We hope that you will come back and join us again soon! Aloha. More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, Mauna Kea is beautiful, and the good certainly outweighs the bad, but Manta restaurant needs some major changes to make it worth spending the amount they charge.. The setting is by far the best ..but the staff is really poorly trained, and most of the food is not very good. We had dinner with friends, and I ordered. Pinot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your candor review of your dining experience. I sincerely apologize that your were served the wrong order twice and that the food and service were not up to your standards. We appreciate your feedback as it is integral to our ability in continuing to improve our service. Aloha! More 

denver co
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as restaurants in mauna lani were booked. The view from the terrace is wonderful. However the service was poor for the price and exclusivity of a resort. Wrong order taken and when delivered the other plate not taken back ... very plain tastes... wine by glass was corked and / or warm.

Helpful?
Thank regbell
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience at Manta. We apologize that you had an experience that was not up to your - nor our own expectations. We have forwarded your comments to key team leaders so we can address these issues. Aloha! More 

Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Mauna land up the road. We wanted to explore future options. Poor service. Delivered wrong dinner. Too expensive- even for resort food. Wine was corked. Ambiance was wonderful.... food and service did were disappointing. Would not go back

Helpful?
2 Thank Katesofisite
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that the experience at Manta wasn't up to your standards and that we weren't able to provide you quality service that Manta it is often praised for. We will share your concerns with key team leaders to remedy the issues you've faced. Aloha! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
360 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I ate here the last night of our stay at the hotel and we were impressed. We had a great meal with great service. The wine list is extensive. We both had the macadamia nut fish with a Caesar's Salad. We enjoyed a lava cake for dessert with coffee and the meal could not have been better.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NebraskaFan71
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us along with the dinner you had at Manta. We can't wait to welcome you back to Manta. Aloha! More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

The setting of the restaurant was very nice. Unfortunately the rest of the visit was average at best. Service was poor. Food very average yet prices were very high. We visited several other very good to excellent restaurants in this area.

Helpful?
Thank stetler4
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Manta. We appreciate your candor feedback and while ae are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, we'd like to apologize for the rest of your dining experience. We have shared your concerns with key team members to address the issues that you faced. Aloha! More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Mauna Kea for 6 nights and purchased the package that included breakfast. The buffet was very diverse and had high end options. Lots of breakfast meats, eggs Benedict and always good warm, sweet options and plenty of bakery options too. Wish they had some more veggies, but they had lots of fruit (I don't usually eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank cs3r
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Manta Breakfast Buffet! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts and found there to be enough diversity through out. We apologize that there were not enough vegetables for you and we will be sure to pass that comment on to key team members for review. We hope to... More 

Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2017

My wife and I went to Manta on our last night in town and what a treat. To see the Mantas up close while the guided tour swam with them down below was magical. The food was good and pricey, although my ono was a thicker cut and the inside was not cooked. But...as I love poke, it was fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnnymmmm
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review of Manta! We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife were able to enjoy dinner while here on the Big Island. We apologize that your fish was not cooked properly but appreciate your attitude about it and are glad that it did not affect your overall meal. We do hope to have... More 

Travelers who viewed Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Wine Bar, Hawaiian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Monday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
Tuesday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 10:30 am
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Dr, Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9706
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Island of Hawaii  >  Kohala Coast
  • Phone Number: +1 866-977-4589
Description
In the mornings, the open-air bay view restaurant is home to a legendary breakfast buffet with made-to-order waffles and omelets, fresh tropical fruits and juices, healthy whole-grain cereals and tasty pastries. With the sunset, the ambiance changes as Mauna Kea Beach Hotel chefs prepare fresh culinary dinner delights in Manta's exhibition kitchen and the Bar & Lounge area come to life. The restaurant's award-winning wine list enhances the dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?