We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Halal
Meals
Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
27
9
4
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
27
9
4
7
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I won't beat around the bush. Worst curry, no, strike that - food, I have ever put in my mouth. Every dish tasted the same, like oil - except (credit where it's due) the tandoori chicken which tasted like it had been retrieved from the...bin!! Absolutely foul. Complained after throwing all the food in the bin and to their credit, they did offer me 20% off my next order which was ace. Can't wait to throw just 80% of my money directly in the bin on my next order. Avoid, then avoid again, just incase you don't avoid enough the first time and accidentally get some in your mouth. To clarify then, I would not recommend.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
j80nyr, Owner at Upton Curry Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jim, are you not the same person that goes around restaurants after eating the food wanting a Full Refund ?, then threatening a bad review ? you have done the same to 5 restaurants around this area. Customer didn't leave an address, Just Eat...More

Reviewed April 7, 2020

Absolutely awful service. Ordered on just eat and they said expected time 20:00. 20:40 come by and they didn’t answer their phone once. We had to drive down there for them to then say it will be five minutes.

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?1  
j80nyr, Owner at Upton Curry Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Apologies. This restaurant is now under new ownership. I can promise, something like this wont happen. we hope to see you soon. Thanks again Management

Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

Had a lovely meal - good quick service, food hot and tasty and tea time deal for £9.99 is excellent value. Highly recommended and would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 2, 2019

We visited this restaurant on NYE as we have done for years in the past but NYE 2018 was terrible! We arrived at around 8.50pm for our 9.00pm reservation, the waiter looked at me blank when I said we had a reservation at 9.00pm, I...told him to look in the diary, as I had written it in myself a few months earlier when we had visited - the reservation was there! He waved his arms in the air, shook his head and told us to wait! Eventually we got to sit down and ignored, nobody to take orders, we had to keep asking for a waiter. The order was eventually taken at around 9.45pm and by 10.30pm we still had no starters, we queried this was was told to just wait, it won't be long. We felt 1.5hrs and still no food was crazy and none of us wanted to be sat there to see in the New Year so we had to cancel and leave. The problem with this place now is that they are not considering the restaurant guests, their priority seems to be with deliveries and everyone else can wait. There is always someone to answer the phone but nobody to serve the guests at the table. They also need to get some more staff. It is a real shame as we always enjoyed going here for meals but unfortunately, it isn't the place it used to be. My Sister visited a couple of months back and they were left waiting too and when they did get served, the food was practically thrown at them.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?1  
j80nyr, Owner at Upton Curry Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

This is now under a new management. We would like to apologize for the situation and promise something like this will not happen. We hope we can have your service again and make amends. Thank you. Regards Management.

Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with friends to celebrate a birthday. The food was nice but I have had better. The main problem was the place lacks atmosphere and the staff are unfriendly, rude and made us feel like we were not wanted there. I had a...plate snatched out of my hand and when we finished the meal we were chatting amongst ourselves when the waiter put the bill on our table. We had not asked for it yet as we were finishing our drinks. We all felt as if they were pointing out it was time for us to leave. We were the only people in the restaurant. I live in upton and will not be going here again. I cannot see this restaurant lasting long unless there is a change in the staffs attitude. It was once a lovely restaurant till it changed hands.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?1  
j80nyr, Owner at Upton Curry Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lisa. I know, it has been a while. This restaurant is now under new management. Something like this would never happen. Please let me know when we can serve you again. Apologies once again. Hope to see you soon. Regards Management.

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

I would have like to been able to write review about the food, but we never got a chance to eat in the restaurant. We arrived at the Upton Mahal at approximately 9pm last night and was greeted by a waiter who’s attitude was unfitting...and blatantly rude. Showing us to a table was an effort and we were made to feel as if our custom was not wanted with our presence being an inconvenience; so much so that we turned round and walk out. With this sort of attitude I’d seriously think twice about returning.More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

We decided to give this restaurant another go as we can all have BAD days. We noticed the advertisement in our local paper The Wirral Globe that the old Upton Halal Balti had changed it's name and we were hoping for improvement. We were very...much disappointed. The name has changed but nothing else! We visited on a Wednesday evening when there is an offer on for one main course and one free. When we asked the waiter about it we were told that the dish we requested would be an extra £1.50 - no problem to us . We waited over 20 minutes for our starters to arrive - no problem. Then the restaurant started to fill up and that is when the problems began! There was only one waiter on in the whole restaurant and his face was like thunder. He was very surly and did not make us feel welcome at all. It was like going back to the old days when customer service was non-existent . We felt very unwelcome. When the mains were served the plates were just put down on the table without anything being said. I felt so uncomfortable that I could not eat my meal! My husband asked if we could take it home with us and the waiter just picked up our plates and put the used plates on top of the food I had asked to take home! We were so glad to get out of there , you do not pay money to feel like that. Tonight I decided to have the chicken tandoori for my evening meal. After putting it into the microwave for five minutes I could not eat it as it was still raw!!! Don't waste your money here they are a health hazard.More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?4  
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Weekend (Saturday) Take away for 4 people and really not what we expected. We have eaten here before in the past a few times (in and take away). Food was hot but below average. We could not believe how salty it was (particularly the chicken)...and the rice was really starchy. So unfortunately we will not be going back.More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 11, 2017

Me and a friend visited here last night and the food was excellent. We ordered mixed kebab and lamb tikka to start. For the main course my friend enquired about a meal which was a favourite of his but was not on the new menu,...the waiter asked what is was and when he told him he said that was not a problem, I ordered the garlic chilli chicken all the food was absolutely delicious and my mouth is watering as I am writing this, The service was also really good and the waiters were very attentive and obliging, nothing was too much trouble. I have been to many balti restaurants over the years and this is right up there with the best, if not the best. Been to a posh one in the Albert Dock in Liverpool and it doesn't come close, too much emphasis on chrome and glass décor and over priced. Looking forward to my next visit to The Upton Balti !!More

Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Visited with a friend last night who dines in the Halal regularly. I ordered the Chicken Shashlik which was absolutely delicious. The waiter was attentive and helpful with suggestions. Nothing was too much trouble and the restaurant is spotlessly clean. I will definitely make this...restaurant one of my regulars.More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) hotel
550 reviews
.44 miles away
Hillbark Hotel & Spa
413 reviews
2.20 miles away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
826 reviews
3.37 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
633 reviews
3.49 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Jade
159 reviews
.65 miles away
Zinga
112 reviews
.67 miles away
Noya Restaurant
657 reviews
.02 miles away
Kerala Kitchen
168 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chokie Massage and Beauty Therapy
49 reviews
.01 miles away
Royden Park
67 reviews
1.85 miles away
Carr Farm Garden Centre
27 reviews
1.93 miles away
Leasowe Lighthouse
29 reviews
2.26 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Upton Curry Mahal staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing