We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Arms

Church Road | Oxford, Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford OX4 4YB, England
+44 1865 777095
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“rump steak” (6 reviews)
“fish pie” (8 reviews)
“cheesecake” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Road | Oxford, Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford OX4 4YB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Went back to this restaurant last week for lunch after visiting last year and being a coeliac the menu for me had plenty to choose from.I went for the boxed baked camembert to share for a starter which was filling and very nice.I then had...More

Thank Carol R
Reviewed 5 days ago

It was a cold Monday night in winter which is a far cry from experiencing the pub on a hot day in summer. We reserved but it was not full (never go to eat without reserving in warmer weather). The setting is along the weir...More

Thank Chrisbeeoxford
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at The Kings Arms. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Table booked for 12.30 and was seated straight away. Went down hill from there! Waited ages for starters and main course. Food was only lukewarm. Staff very pleasant though. Won't be returning.

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank Paula M
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback, so sorry to hear you didn't have an enjoyable visit, if you would like to contact me to disccuss the matter in further detail please feel free on 01865 77095

Reviewed 1 week ago

After travelling from Maidstone to Oxford to take our grandson out to lunch we were disappointed with the food that after waiting an hour for the main course was served luke warm. We had to ask for steak knives to cut the meat especially the...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank jnloakley
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great visit, I will certainly feedback to the kitchen team your comments. If you would like to disccuss your visit in further deatail please feel free to contact me on 01865 777095

Reviewed 1 week ago

From start to finish nothing was too much trouble. We were a table of 12 and everything was spot on. Atmosphere great, everywhere clean and food was perfectly cooked but what made it was the staff, even when booking the staff were so friendly and...More

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
1  Thank Helen C
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the great feedback, I'm please to hear you had a great experience at The Kings Arms and that your father enjoyed his 70th birthday meal. I will pass on your commnets to the team and look forward to seeing you in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, positives - nice location, clean tables, decent vegetables, helpful waitress. Negatives - roast wasn't hot - more luke warm so had to be eaten quickly. yorkshire pudding hadn't been defrosted so was still almost frozen in the middle. Meat (beef) wasn't good, not much...More

Thank On_Travels
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the location with a table booked for 7pm. The car park was clean and tidy with plenty of spaces available. The car park is a pay and display car park with a coupon that returns your £1 parking when paying the bill....More

Thank MartinW431
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called into the pub for a meal and were shown to a table very quickly. It went rapidly down hill after that. We were sat close to the bar and the phone didn't stop ringing all the time we were there. Staff showed no...More

Thank Blackwell06
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, having now discussed this in detail with yourself I apologies that our guest service team didn't take it a seriously as I would have. As discussed the team member was off duty and had come in early to have something...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So the Kings Arms has a nice atmosphere but when the car park says £1 for 3hrs, I didn’t expect to actually get my moneys worth. As a party of 9, we had prebooked a table for 2pm. They weren’t ready for us and we...More

Thank Robert B
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, having spoken to you on the day and explained our chef shortage in the kitchen on Sunday which left us very streched. I fully understand and apologies that you didn't have a great experience with us. I firmly believe this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is very good and the service excellent,the staff are very friendly and polite. I would recommend this pub,it most Be lovely in the spring and summer being right on the river.

Thank Maureen B
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great feedback, I'm pleased to hear you had a great experience at The Kings Arms. I will pass on your comments to the team.

PreviousNext
12345657
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Sandford-on-Thames Hotels
De Vere Oxford Thames
1,268 reviews
.31 miles away
Egrove Park
28 reviews
.47 miles away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
636 reviews
1.05 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
795 reviews
1.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Tandem
142 reviews
.84 miles away
The Prince Albert
8 reviews
.64 miles away
Sainsbury's Cafe
39 reviews
.93 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pedal England
54 reviews
1.43 miles away
Grill Academy
5 reviews
2.18 miles away
Iffley Lock
116 reviews
1.48 miles away
Partyman World Of Play
173 reviews
.98 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
P0rtlanders
February 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from bluefoyle | Reviewed this property |
As far as I can remember there are no tv screens in the pub. It can be busy at times due to it's location and the service can be a bit challenging when it's busy.
1
Vote
Janet K
January 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Glynn C | Reviewed this property |
I dont know!
0
Votes
dbmarchbank
December 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from John M | Reviewed this property |
I was there last night 03/02/17 and access was refused to a family who wanted to bring in a child at 8 and they were refused.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Road | Oxford, Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford OX4 4YB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford  >  Sandford-on-Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 777095
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing