We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Beach House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Swilly Road, Buncrana, Ireland
00353 (0) 7493 61050
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We didn't have a table booked but that wasn't a problem. Food was delicious as was the mojito :-) Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank RyanRachel
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Beach House was a huge disappointment to us. We had booked for a 6th August Saturday lunchtime 18 people. First time for some of us, others had been before. I had read the reviews which on the whole were good. We were seated upstairs, lovely view. We ordered drinks no problems. We ordered food, 2 people had soup starter... More 

Helpful?
Thank mag1313
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear mag1313 Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience at The Beach House. Here at The Beach House we are constantly trying to deliver a high standard of food and great service and I apologise that these efforts were not reflected in the experience you had during your time here. Due to unforeseen circumstances in the kitchen,... More 

Rivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
206 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely dinner at a table next to the window over looking the breathtaking scenery. We had not made a reservation so we had to wait for a while but it was okay because the place has the fresh, lovely charm of a summer house. Menu not too complicated: my husband had Katifi tiger prawns and Tempura monkfish, Donegal Hake for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patpet58
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Patpet58 Thank you very much for your review of your recent dining experience at The Beach House. I am delighted that yourself and your husband enjoyed yourselves and I have passed on your kind comments to both the kitchen team and the waiting staff. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future. Kind regards Claire Mc... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for a meal on Sunday evening. The menu did not have a great choice, not as before. We had to wait for our table even though it was booked for a certain time. Our meals were very good, but we had to wait a long long time from our starter to our dinner, we had to ask the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Noel M
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Noel M Thank you for your review regarding your recent dining experience at The Beach House. I am disappointed that it did not live up to recent experiences. Please believe me when i say that we here at The Beach House are constantly striving to improve the service provided and the food, and I hope that this particular experience... More 

Socal, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely experience right on the water near the ferry. Great service, excellent food with an interesting menu. We were lucky to get a window table, the restaurant quickly filled up with other diners at large tables. Food and wine were excellent, good value when you are in a mood for a splurge. On a even a reasonable weather day the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlDowning
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear AlDowning, Thank you very much for your review of your dining experience at The Beach House. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and the service. I have passed on your comments to the team, who are equally as pleased that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Claire Mc... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a table next to the windows over looking the stunning scenery across the lough. It was a beautiful evening but even if it had been the worst weather possible the food was so good it would still have felt like the sun was shining. The food and service are so good we're planning to get back across the water... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear John T Thank you so much for your review of your recent dining experience at The Beach House. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself. We pride ourselves on our food and service and are so glad that you enjoyed your meal. We too are eagerly anticipating your next visit to The Beach House, which we hope will be... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We all enjoyed a wonderful evening on my mother-in-law's 82d birthday at the Beach House. Food was fresh and well prepared, service was gentle and attentive. The team placed us at the table with the spectacular panorama view.The sunset was perfect and the jubilarian happy and touched.

Helpful?
Thank Regina S
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Regina S Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Beach House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service and have passed on your comments to both the kitchen team and the waiting staff. Our staff are constantly striving to please every customer that comes through the... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We celebrated my daughters first communion here and it was fantastic. The food and service was great. I would however think again before bringing kids there again as it seems a much more adult type setting. Will eat here again

Helpful?
Thank inishsewn
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear inishsewn Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience here at The Beach House. We pride ourselves on our food and service and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed these aspects of your meal as well. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Claire Mc Gowan More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrated a birthday here and it felt very special, with a wonderful sea view, intimate atmosphere and superb food, especially the divine chocolate mousse.

Helpful?
Thank Barlickwal
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Barlickwal Thank you very much for your review of your recent dining experience at The Beach House. We here at The Beach House always try and make sure that every customer that comes through the door has a special dining experience and we are so glad that you felt yours was equally as special. We hope to see you... More 

County Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the beach house restaurant this afternoon. We were greeted by some lovely staff who seated us. We were getting the 2 o clock ferry. We both had the fish dishes I had the pan fried hake and my friend had the monkfish it was well presented and was very tasty. We were under pressure for the ferry as... More 

Helpful?
Thank stoneagecrecora
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear stoneagecrecora, Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to The Beach House. I am delighted that you had such a good dining experience, particularly with regard to the fish, and have passed on your comments to both the waiting staff and the kitchen team. We hope that if you ever find yourself up in Buncrana... More 

Travelers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Irish, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Seafood, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Swilly Road, Buncrana, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Donegal  >  Buncrana
  • Phone Number: 00353 (0) 7493 61050

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beach House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?