We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monks Ballyvaughan

The Pier, Ballyvaughan H91 W9TN, Ireland
+353 65 707 7059
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“mussels” (75 reviews)
“chowder” (138 reviews)
“seafood” (77 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
The Pier, Ballyvaughan H91 W9TN, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

251 - 260 of 631 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2015

On a tour of Ireland, I had pretty high hopes with this place, looking to enjoy what I expected would be a winning Chowder, topping most places i'd eaten at in Ireland during a week long tour. I was seriously disappointed. Service was average, Decor...More

2  Thank mdleast
Reviewed November 21, 2015

This ESTABLISHMENT does not serve peas, because "NOBODY ASK FOR THEM ANY MORE " A request for OYSTERS brought an expression of shock and disappointment to the waitresses face ! So, we had soup of the day.

1  Thank Wearytraveller1940
Reviewed November 14, 2015

We always go to Monk's when we are in this part of Ireland but this time I had read rather poor reports about it. We still tried it and found the seafood chowder was just as good as ever. I had a prawn and smoked...More

1  Thank Tymoshan
Reviewed November 14, 2015

If you are touring around western Ireland, near the Burren, you MUST stop in to have a bowl of Monk's delicious seafood chowder. I will never forget how good it tasted and the wonderful, quaint atmosphere at this Irish pub. It's not to be missed....More

2  Thank Eileen S
Reviewed November 10, 2015

This was our last pub lunch on our visit to Ireland and it was disappointing. The menu was extremely limited for our two gluten free family members.

1  Thank teatimegrandma3
Reviewed October 25, 2015

My folks reckon this place has a good reputation - I disagree. Please tell me how two front of house staff serve and deal with nearly 100 customers.. Just greed.....but busloads arrive here daily......Avoid...

4  Thank RetiredPornStar
Reviewed October 22, 2015

6 of us went for dinner, the services was great as was the food esp seen as we completely confused our waitress :)...well worth a visit

1  Thank Mairead L
Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

We stopped here as part of a CIE Tour. Our group of 28 was served fast and the food was fine. Several beers available on draft. Can't address all foods but the seafood chowder was good and the fish and chips were fine. Right on...More

2  Thank Frank S
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Stopped for a quick lunch. Seafood chowder and fish & chips very good. Restaraunt was very busy at lunch time. Service good.

Thank whack4
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Our tour guide suggested that we stop at Monk's for a light lunch. It was just right. I had a bowl of their seafood chowder with chips and my wife had fish & chips that were done perfectly. We recommend it for lunch on your...More

Thank Steve K
Nearby Restaurants
O'Loclainn's Pub
205 reviews
.29 miles away
Tea and Garden Rooms
404 reviews
.06 miles away
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
246 reviews
.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Burren Birds of Prey Centre
542 reviews
2.02 miles away
The Russell Gallery
30 reviews
3.84 miles away
Hazel Mountain Chocolates
246 reviews
4.42 miles away
Aillwee Cave
1,003 reviews
2.04 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen R
April 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from TerraExplorator | Reviewed this property |
Hello, they actually have live music almost every night. we went there in the weekend and there was music. amazing food, huge portions, live music is too authentic :)
February 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MonksOffice | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry! Unfortunately health and safety regulations prevent us from allowing dogs, with the exception of seeing eye dogs, in the restaurant itself. We do however have outside seating and you are most... More
Mags A
July 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from MunsterDuncan | Reviewed this property |
I believe it closed at end of 2015. Local rumour suggests that a new owner is opening for a short time from August, then closing again for renovations. Linnane's in New Quay is a great place. Walk the Flaggy shore then a... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$6 - $36
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Pier, Ballyvaughan H91 W9TN, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Clare  >  The Burren  >  Ballyvaughan
  • Phone Number: +353 65 707 7059
  • E-mail
At Monks we have a special love for the sea and you can taste it in every delicious mouthful of our authentic, traditional food – lovingly prepared with only the freshest and finest, locally-produced ingredients. And it’s all paired with the picture-postcard prettiness, harbour charm and welcoming country comfort that is the beautiful old fishing port of Ballyvaughan – pearl of the Burren.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing